We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My expectations were exceeded the minute we checked in! Every staff member we encountered were so friendly! We were upgraded to the Royal Suite, which was beautiful and spacious, with a separate sitting area/library with a convertible couch and big screen tv. We were greeted with a fruit platter and a bottle of wine, along with a personal welcome note.


We were there with our daughter, but my husband and I are planning to back for a couple's weekend. We didn't get to go up to the roof , which had the bar and spa. That's definitely a stop on our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msm5830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

the besty has a good reputation as a hotel, but as a resident i use it for breakfast and cocktails. both excellent. the staff are better than average sobe folks who try to make you comfortable. the view is acceptable but compromised by il villagio, however it's still pleasant on the rooftop to watch the ocean and stars. breakfast/brunch is always fun and the people watching is a little less intense that far up ocean drive. try it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tjctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our 2 nights at the Betsy despite the July rain!! The hotel was charming and elegant. The lobby felt like someone's own home, inviting and cozy. The desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable and did their best to try to accommodate us with an early check in. The concierge was fantastic....lots of great tips and ideas! Our room had 2 doubles, faced the laneway beside the hotel and was on the smallish side. The beds and linens were comfy and the bathroom with in-mirror TV was a hit with my children. The first night we had the privilege to see Maryel Epps perform in the lobby bar...sensational!!! Our second eve we ate BLT...one of our best meals ever!!!! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough...the location is superb, staff knowledgeable and accommodating and the amenities more than what you may expect from a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janetmg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay (2 adults, 2 Teens) a lot. Betsy is perfecly located to reach the wonderful beach, to watch the colorful Miami life and to go Shopping.
Most enjoyable was riding the bike (deco bike rental in front of the Hotel) to explore the Art Deco District.

We stayed 3 nights at the Betsy and loved its setting and style. We booked a classic room which was perfect for us and quiet but only view to a side street. For a longer stay I would recommend a larger room category.

From check-in to check-out the procedures and staff were perfectly organized and super friendly.

The room has everything you would expect and has a stylish colonial decor. Amenities and beds were perfect as well and all very clean. We loved the wooden floor instead of the carpets that are often used in US hotels. The bathroom and shower are quite small and we had some problems with the armatures and water pressure, but not really disturbing for this short time.

The BLT Restaurant offered a wonderful choice of meat and sea food. Every meal was very tasty and perfect in presentation and quality.
The roof top terrace has a wonderful view to the sea but it was too hot during our stay to be up there or take advantage of the yoga lessons.
We preferred the beach to the small hotel pool.

We can definitely recommend the Betsy and will come back the next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We initiated our stay at The Betsy Southbeach with a very personal request prior to our arrival. Ed Ponder (Director of Guest Services) was more than kind to personally handle the request. Ed went out of his way during our stay to insure everything was absolutely perfect for our family. Matter of fact the entire staff is amazing, a shout out to Concierge Paul Drecq, Adrian and Margie at the front desk and our doorman Carlos. This hotel is beautiful, in a perfect location on Ocean Drive, the rooms are clean and perfectly decorated. Treat yourself to reservations at the BLT Steakhouse, we did and the family loved it. I arranged a spa day on the terrace for my wife and daughter, which they described as the best ever! To be treated like royalty and to experience the real flavor of Southbeach stay at The Betsy Hotel!!! The Tillotson family would like to thank The Betsy for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brad t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It didn't disappoint. I would term the style of the hotel "colonial sophisticated". The location is also great - on Ocean Drive, but slightly detached from the noisiest part, next to the beach and easy for a seaside walk or jog. The restaurant is also quite nice.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool - you will avoid the noise and get a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneNightTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really enjoyed staying 3 nights at the Betsy. It is really the essence of Miami Beach style. The setting is beautiful and the hotel style is great. We got upgraded to a small suite the first night because we could not have three nights in the same room then had a classic room. The decoration and furniture are nice because they are not the classic hotel furniture. Beds are very comfortable and I enjoy very much the small TV screen on your bathroom mirror; just great to catch up on the news while getting ready. The only minus is that none of the two rooms had a view. I think you have to pay more for that. tThe service is really very good and staff at the door are very friendly and helpful. You can get comfortable beds on the beach with towels just across the street. The location is also very convenient as you can walk around the main areas of shopping and bars (Lincoln Road and Espagnola Way). Every night there is an animation at the hotel lobby, we saw music with a great women singer, a wonderful guitar concert and a photo exhibition. All very high standards. The terrace on the top roof is also a nice romantic place to have a late night drink.
The restaurant is really good but very pricey; we ate there once and enjoyed it particularly the sea food though the specials there are meat, but then preferred more affordable places.
Would go back anytime to the Betsy hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#43 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
383 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,113 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $263 - $1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing