We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Betsy - South Beach
Nearby Hotels
$329
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$236
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$369
$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$429
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,891)
Filter reviews
2,891 results
Traveler rating
2,011
578
186
71
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
578
186
71
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltpopoversrolling stonesocean drivetv in the mirrorcolonial stylesouth beachrooftop deckboutique hotelboucher brothersart decobeautiful hotelpool viewturn down servicelobby barsmall hotelpeople watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,637 - 1,642 of 2,891 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Betsy is not only a beautiful boutique hotel, its staffed with top notch service masters. Hopefully you'll be there on a day when Thomas, one of the hotel's porters, is working - he does his work above and beyond!
Waitstaff on the deck - another great service staff, and the food is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Sara E.,

Thank you for your visit - and the expression "service masters"! I greatly appreciate that, as the soul of hospitality is indeed in the passion to serve, to take care of each Guest as if they were a special family member coming home. Years ago, when I managed a housekeeping department in Los Angeles, I asked our Room Attendants to prepare each room as if their mother was coming for a visit! It's great that you felt our passion, and that of Thomas, too!

Best regards,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about this hotel was wonderful....the location, the staff, room, hotel, bar, and amenities

The location couldn't have been better...right across from the beach, Starbucks and bike rentals, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and before the crazy madness of the southern part of Ocean Drive...perfect!

The staff was magnificent! The staff couldn't have been nicer everywhere in the hotel....the doormen were so kind and loved that they were there too greeting us each time we left and returned! This hotel has a great feeling to it not only friendly but also very modern and classy!

The Beatles/Rolling Stones photographs throughout was a nice touch. I agree with the previous reviewer that it is a shame that they don't utilize the rooftop after dark, although staying there during off season we loved that we could go to the rooftop after dark and pretty much have it to ourselves, with soft music, comfortable seating, a wonderful ocean breeze and a lovely view...it may be very different during busy season.

Both the bar and restaurant were great! We found the bar and the entertainment two of the nights very pleasing...great music but not overwhelmingly loud so you could enjoy drinks and conversation at the same time. The bartender was amazing ! We ate dinner one evening at the BLT...outside seating which was wonderful to people watch...the food and service was wonderful...My only complaint is that the mashed potatoes were too soupy for my taste as I like more consistency to them but everything else was wonderful! Loved the popovers!

We had absolutely no problems in getting our two beach chairs with umbrellas any of the days that we were there and that was such a nice benefit...found all to be friendly and very accommodating.

We had a King Suite that didn't have a great view but we weren't there for the view from the windows and it couldn't have been more comfortable!

We can't wait to return and will only stay at the Betsy in South Beach!

Room Tip: King Corner suite was very roomy and sunny...not a great view but we weren't there for the view from the window!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westiesruleyorkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Westiesruleyorkies2,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and your review! It always seems that the more time our Guests have to explore all that the Betsy ahs to offer, the better it gets - even with our staff, whom you so kindly call magnificent! With only 61 rooms and suites, we take great pride in really getting to know the Guests that are here at any given time. Please be sure to reach out to us directly next time, and we will ensure that your view matches all of your other feelings about the Betsy - it just gets better!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have just left The Betsy after a second visit - nothing has changed - it is still utterly delightful. The overriding reason for returning and recommending to British friends is the immaculate service. Prior to arriving Concierge Paul Dacq had headed up a full schedule of events - I travel worldwide and I have to say he is possibly one of the very best in the hotel industry - all his recommends were inspired. Rooms and facilities glorious - great location - and all in magnificent Miami! Stay nowhere but here.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room as bigger beds - I personally like rooms that overlook the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Deborah B.,

Thank you for your return visit and for your glowing review! Our many repeat Guests hold a special place in our hearts, as there is no more genuine compliment to us than to come back! I was glad to hear that our concierge Paul upheld his usual part of the deal with great service - and we look forward to your next visit almost as much as you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
- Location.
- Lovely rooms.
- Lovely common parts.
- Lovely staff, particularly at check-in.
- Great vibe - stylish whilst in the middle of the madness.

Cons:
- Shame they make no good use of the roof terrace after dark.
- Breakfast hostess had a bit of an attitude.

Overall, great place. This was my fifth stay in Miami Beach over 20 years (5 different hotels). This is the one I would go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Edtealdi,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and your five star review! As a frequent traveler (and reviewer!), your words mean so much to me. I'm happy to read that you have found your home in South Beach - the only hotel you ever need to return to!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Immediately I stepped out of the taxi into the white light of the Betsy I felt we were somewhere special. The lobby was buzzing with life and the diners in BLT were tucking into their food with gusto - after travelling most of the day the restaurant was calling to me! However we checked out our room first which was charming - tastefully furnished in tones of white and vibrant green. The separate sitting area had interesting books which if we could have stayed longer I really could have enjoyed. The overall feel of the hotel is a calming colonial oasis in the middle of Miami madness. We ate in the BLT - I had the rosemary chicken which was wonderful
and then we moved on to the bar area where there was a girl singing accompanied by a pianist - the ambiance was delightful as were the Martinez's! It's a short walk to the beach where we were setup with comfy chairs and umbrella (fee $16 for the two of us for the day) . The roof top sitting area is lovely too - great views of the beach. The location was excellent and the staff were attentive - the manager sent us chocolate and coconut covered strawberries with a lovely note as a token for our wedding anniversary celebration. All in all a fantastic experience !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulsteron2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Ulsteron2ur,

I am so happy you chose to celebrate your 50th anniversary with us! With 42 reviews in the last 2 years, I can tell you have quite a bit of experience in travel - and it makes it that much more rewarding to read a review such as yours. The "white light of the Betsy", as you called it, is indeed something very unique, so many travelers feel the sense of timeless service and our passion for hospitality from the moment they arrive...and it just gets better after that! We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews