We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magical experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our friends got married on the rooftop deck of the Betsy and we stayed there for 3 nights and it was a magical experience. The rooftop deck is gorgeous and the entire experience was really wonderful. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was so friendly and helpful and delighted to make the experience the best possible and they succeeded. We ate the BLT and the food was fabulous. We love to cook and are tough critics but the burger at lunch was excellent and the dinner we had was incredible also - steak, baked potato and asparagus. The Betsy also provided the food was our friend's wedding and that was perfect too. We enjoyed the pool one day and the beach on the second day. The chair and towel service at the beach was first class. I would love to stay at the Betsy again and hope I get there sometime soon. Thank you for making our stay and our friend's wedding magical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a fantastic small hotel. Friendly, casual and luxurious all at the same time. BLT is hip and modern, food is fresh and delicious. Nice wines by the glass, wonderful sushi. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the shower is heavenly. The bath products are fresh and appreciated. The pool is enclosed in a courtyard, but the beach is a two minute walk across the street where attendants will provide you with chairs and towels. The deck is a lovely place to sip a drink and listen to the waves with the light breeze.

Room Tip: The king bed suite is lovely and quiet, but has a view of the pool instead of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel based on all of the positive reviews posted here and on other travel sites and I now regret that decision. I normally like to stay at chain hotels because they usually have decent size rooms and I like to earn points, etc. when I am spending money on travel. The hotel was perfectly nice enough, but the room was impossibly small and there was not even enough room for a dresser (and this was a deluxe room; I'd hate to see the standard!). The only reason the size wasn't a huge problem for me was because I was staying there by myself. If there had been even one more person in that room, we would've been stepping over each other! The biggest problem that I had with the room (especially being alone) was the fact that there was no additional latch or lock on the door that could not be opened from the outside. I was very troubled by this and almost left the hotel, but I was only staying for 2 nights and I'm sure I would've been charged some early check out fee or something. The next time I go to Miami, I will definitely stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocowheats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Cocowheats,

Thank you for your visit, and for your honestly felt comments. Our rooms do vary in size, and most of the hotels on Miami Beach have such a variety because 99% of the properties were orginally built in the 1940's, when cozy was the norm. When we restored the entire hotel a few years ago, we combined rooms and expanded wherever we could - now, a third of of our rooms are suites with separate living/sleeping areas and oversized bathrooms. On your next visit (hopefully) you should try one of these! I would be happy to personally help you book into on that will meet your expectations, and you can savor everything that Betsy has to offer as most of our Guests do! I am happy to read that the rest of your stay was good, and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We only stayed for one night but were extremely impressed with the staff and the room. Everything was super clean, everyone was super friendly and I highly recommend the BLT steakhouse at the hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferteddlieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Jennifer Y,

Thank you for your visit and your review! I was happy to read that you'll be back - hopefully for a longer visit next time! We are ready whenever you are - please contact me if you would like to receive our monthly Arts Calender, to help you plan, and see some of the amazinf events we host throughout the year!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 4 days in Miami in this hotel: friendly staff, clean room, outstanding beach service.
We did not try the steak house, despite its high rating. From check in to check out, everything really worked, highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Room on the pool side are quite
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mobby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Mobby 63,

Thank you for your visit - The Betsy seems to be a prticular favorite for travelers from Italy...perhaps it is our elegant yet understated design or our warm, welcoming personnel style! In any case, I was pleased to read that you had a great stay - and we look forward to welcoming you back, again and again..

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We expected more for $500+/night.

Concierge service was terrible. First concierge I spoke with over the phone four days prior to arrival when I called to see if they could help with activities during our stay. He was super friendly and personable during the conversation and said if I emailed him that would be the best way to arrange anything. Later that day, I emailed a brief description of what we wanted to do (jetski, boat tours, etc.) and also asked for some restaurant and night club ideas. He emailed me back two Excel spreadsheets - a list of restaurants and a generic activities flyer. Never read the email, just attached the standard forms. I replied with one specific activity we wanted to go ahead and book but he never wrote back. I called the next day but he was out. Called the day after that but he was still out. (He said during our first phone convo that he checked his emails everyday, even if he wasn't in.) Then I called and asked for another concierge who might help us. He identified himself as the "head of guest relations", said he would call the first concierge we spoke to and call us back within the hour. Never called back. Finally the day before our trip I called again and this time got a concierge who was actually very helpful, Margot, and she immediately helped me arrange for a boat tour. She was also very helpful during the rest of our stay. Too bad the first two were a complete joke.

The bathroom had the strangest design I have ever seen and it was not possible to take a shower without flooding the entire bathroom with almost an inch of standing water that would remain after and not drain. I do mean the entire bathroom because it was one big open space with no division between the toilet, sink and shower area. To be fair, I believe it was designed that way to be ADA friendly/compliant, which is a great thing -- however -- water should still efficiently drain. Having your feet under half an inch of used bathwater while you sit on the toilet wasn't the greatest feeling.

One of the two A/C's in the room could not be adjusted because the control was broken, you could only turn it on or off. You could not change the fan speed.

The telephone handset was broken so you had to use speakerphone to communicate with the lobby but then they couldn't understand what I was saying because I was on speakerphone so I had to take a trip down to the lobby anytime I wanted to speak with the front desk.

WiFi and beach towels are an extra but required "resort fee". Seriously? If it is a required fee then it should be added to the price of the room and included in the total.

Breakfast way overpriced a la carte with no continental option that we were made aware of.

Bring ear plugs because if you stay in room 208, garbage trucks right outside your window at 5am will wake you up. Woke me up each morning and I am a super heavy sleeper from New York City. Car alarms and jackhammers are just ambient background to me but these trucks, ugh...

We found hairs underneath the pillows. Maybe too much time wasted on turndown service and not enough time spent cleaning the room in the first place? I'm not talking about a random eyelash. Multiple, large, long hairs that you couldn't possibly miss if you actually changed the sheets between guest stays. Gross.

Some of you might be wondering how this review can be so poor while this hotel is rated #1 by TripAdvisor in Miami Beach. It's the price. Maybe we got a really bad deal. At $200-250/night, I would rate this hotel much, much higher, probably 4/5 stars most categories. At $500+/night, you can't have concierges disappear on you, things not working in the room, a bathroom that floods when you shower, etc.

I will say that except for the first two concierges we dealt with, the entire staff was truly 100%.

The location is excellent, the other reviews are accurate -- steps to the beach.

I would say if you can book for $200 or less per night, go for it. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank reyxlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear reyxlp,

Thank you for your review - honestly. It gives enough information for us us thoroughly investigate how it could be that so many things could be so wrong on your stay. Regardless of the price, our goals for service & quality are quite different from what you experienced - and actually that is what most of our Guests at similar or even higher rates feel. Still, I always appreciate the opportunity to dive in and find any weaknesses and ensure that we are consistently able to wow and impress. I would be happy to speak with you further about this stay or, hopefully, your next one!

Sincerely,


Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Betsy with my family for 1 night and what a treat. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The roof top bar is very special (and pricey) and the beach service outstanding. Definitely recommend if you want to feel special.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0ots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,762 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
377 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,109 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $263 - $1,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing