We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Betsy Hotel is a true Gem. I loved the Old school hip vibe. The service is outstanding.
Margot Harsan is the Best Concierge I have ever had the pleasure to meet. She went over
and beyond to help me with arrangements for friends that were visiting town. Even on her day
off she would check in to help. I have visited some awesome hotels but The Betsy is one of a kind. The rooms are great, Staff is fantastic. I loved the music in the lobby in the evenings.
The Betsy is still channeling some terrific charm and service from a bygone era and
if you have the opportunity you should stay there!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Kkclardy,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for your kind review! We truly believe that service, style and substance (and soul!) have not gone out of vogue - and are so happy to read that you appreciated what we do! We look forward to your returns, time after time!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    433
    132
    50
    22
See reviews for
433
1,073
88
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wish I could give this property an excellent but it is so distressing to learn when staying at a property that is right across from the ocean and they do not recycle. I asked numerous employees and was given the same response "NO"!!
We checked in early around 1pm our room was not ready immediately but after our visit with the concierge the room was ready. The concierge at this hotel fabulous. Margo very sweet. I found it best to ask the right questions and let them know what your looking for in a spa, restaurant or tour.
Front desk said room was an upgrade but seemed like a basic room when I looked at other rooms. This is a small boutique hotel. If your up by 8am they serve coffee in lobby which is much appreciate. Our room smelled a bit stale which is to be expected this close to the beach. I loved the string tote bag they had in the room, proved to be very useful when riding bikes around South Beach. Roof top deck lovely. There is a great bakery a block behind hotel we would get empanadas for lunch while sitting on beach doormen knows the name. This is a great spot if you want low key and causal elegance in South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Arlington30,

Thank you for your visit and your review! Our garbage recycling (yet) is not for lack of trying - sadly, in this country it is made to be very difficult and very expensive to do so, and that can be a burden on a small hotel like the Betsy. We still do what we can to be as green as possible, and recycle most of our hard goods - used soaps, linens that need to be discarded, and that sort of thing, while constantly looking for new and innovative ways to preserve our wonderful environment. Florida in general is becoming more and more aware, as the ecological preservation of our Everglades and Ocean becomes more front and center news - but it takes time. We appreciate your support in this endeavor!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms were a bit small but they made up for everything with the exceptional service. By far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. We experienced a prompt and friendly check-in accompanied by complimentary mimosas. Beach access was fantastic (Jasmine was awesome) as was dinner at the BLT. They even allowed my wife and me to relax poolside with a bottle of wine until 2 a.m. even though the pool deck closed at 10. This beautiful boutique definitely deserves a 5-star rating and I attribute most of it to the staff. Well done guys.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view, we were upgraded but had two full sized beds instead of a king w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Imagine you have a bucket list, well you have to add this on your list... Our visit was AWESOME! We travelled for 8 hours to Miami and arrived at 10:30 am. The normal check-in time was in the afternoon, but the lady at the front desk (long dark hair) told us she would put a rush on our room. In the meantime, we left our bags at the hotel and went to eat at the french "Sandwicherie", which is in 14 between Washington and Collins, and by the way was delicious. Soon after, we received a call to let us know our room was ready AND we had been upgraded!

Room 105 was perfect! Pool view, in front of the fitness center, quiet, comfortable and very well decorated...Did I mention the TV in the mirror of bathroom? Loved it!

We stayed for 5 nights and entire staff was impressive; the front desk staff, the doormen, the security, the waiters, the cleaning lady, the bartender at the rooftop... even the little dog of one of the managers was nice!

My friends were staying at Lowe's and they were so jealous. On top of that, while having brunch we saw Paloma San Basilio (a famous Spanish singer, one of my mom's favorite's) and we took a picture with her :)

Last exquisite detail, I left some things, they were mailed to me the the very next day! Next time, I will of course stay here and my friends too! Only minor detail, we had a massage (150 $ each) and the ladies did not meet ANY of the minimal standards, so maybe first confirm the quality with the concierge or choose one of the dozens of spas close by.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Betsy for a bachelorette weekend and it could not have been more enjoyable! The rooftop was beautiful, the rooms were SO comfortable, the beach was right across the street and the food was amazing! We were in a great location to restaurants and clubs, which meants a lot for a large group of girls. But above all else, the staff was the best part of the hotel. Albert helped me book my rooms for the weekend and checked in on me throughout my stay, he was such a joy to meet and work with! Emmanuel really took care of our group when we check in and made us feel completely stress-free. Even the bartender Kedar was great! He mixed the perfect drinks for the group!

The conceierge sent up complimentary bottles of wine and we had send-off mimosas and little massages before leaving for the airport.

I could not have asked for anything more out of the weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We only stayed there two nights but I won’t forget it. Every time I walked through the doors, I discovered something new. This old hotel has only a small number of rooms and is only 4 stories high. Every aspect is designed, from the baseboards to the ceiling fans, the lobby to the rooftop deck which incidentally was divine. It is ideally located, a few short blocks to the convention centre, the Lincoln Mall, the Wolfsonian and the Bass museums. Walking distance also to two great restaurants – the Yardbird (best fried chicken biscuit ever!) and Ola which is first class in every respect. Paul the Concierge will help you with anything and you can bathe in the quiet courtyard pool or head across Ocean Avenue to the beach where the staff there will set you up with a chair and anything else you might want. While reasonably priced, for a 4-Star, it was elegant, peaceful yet a hub of activity, and an aesthetic delight. So we spent quite a bit of time on memory lane taking in the photo exhibit that lines the lobby and the winding staircases - the Beatles and the Rolling Stones back in the 60’s….and reading the magazines and poetry anthology – all found in our in room library.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out every space - the cool bar downstairs, the stairwells, the art, the books, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I absolutely loved my stay! The staff were so hospitable and kind!!! They went out of their way to make my group trip with my girlfriends SO amazing! Albert and Emmanuel were so accommodating and thoughtful- they truly made our stay a memorable one! We received a complimentary bottle of wine in each of our rooms along with lovely welcoming notes- such a nice touch! Again, I couldn't say it enough- I had an amazing stay at The Betsy!

...And get the breakfast- AMAZING.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing