We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Art Deco boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose TheBetsy for our stay at South Beach based on the fact it is a member of the SLH (small luxury hotels) group. We have stayed at a few of these around the world and have always been impressed with the decor, ambiance and service. They must have very strict criteria for hotels to become a member, because they are all great!
We were not disappointed, our 5 night stay was divine. We were upgraded to a suite, so had plenty of room to spread out. The restaurant, BLT was excellent, great service, delicious food. Expensive unless you select their 4 course special, and then it becomes quite cheap relative to other restaurants in South Beach.
Location is right at the end of all the Art Dec buildings, but its classier than the rest. Definitely a cut above the rest. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porters051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Porters051,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. We have so many Guests from Australia these days - I was happy to read that you had such a great time! As you mention, the criteria for SLH [Small Luxury Hotels] is challenging, and we relish the challenge of being the best of almost 200 hotels in this area. We look forward to seeing you again at the Betsy!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent three nights at The Betsy in April 2013 and in general we liked it, but: (1) you don't really get much with the Ocean view and it maybe a little bit noisy; (2) why the air-conditioning almost always (in many hotels) is directed at the bed?? Besides, it was not always working as it was supposed to (it should have turn off and on depending on the temperature, but it was not doing it right always). The room was even smaller than I expected. But let's speak about positive: (1) the location is great (across the street from the beach and the ocean); (2) service is very good, helpful and effective; (3) BLT Steak is great (apparently, especially steaks, but I liked lobster salad as well). So all in all it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear maxim_bobin,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to post your review. As a senior reviewer, your input is valuable and welcomed! I appreciate your putting the comments in the context of the good aspects of the hotel - and welcome you to try one of our larger suites on your next visit (almost half of our rooms are suites). Our repeat Guest list is growing and growing, and I hope to count you on that list with your next visit to Miami Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. While the rooms are typically small for a hotel of this vintage, it has been updated and brought current in a very fun and hip way. It is in a great location in the heart of South Beach with wonderful restaurant and bar. I especially enjoyed eating al fresco on the front patio while people watching.

Room Tip: Visit the roof top if you have time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Jerry C.,

Thank you for your return visit, and for your review. You and I share the enjoyment of people watching from the terrace on Ocean Drive - it is the best in the City! We look forward to your returns - and be sure to mention when you book that you are a repeat Guest, to ensure that you always have access to the best the Betsy has to offer!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent months talking to the reservation people planning my birthday celebration for myself and several family members & friends. I found communication, while seemingly pleasant, they were not able to meet or follow through with even the smallest of requests. Communication between the staff and computers was dismal. Room pricing was inconsistant. Upon returning home I supplied them with a list of issues we encountered and no effort was made to resolve any of them. Good location and pretty building. Hotel service was non-exsistent to spotty. Service in the restaurant was good. I would not reccommend it, way overpriced. I expected and thought it was going to be totally different. A dissapointing 70th Birthday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mrs. T.,

I was sorry to read your review about your 70th birthday group back in March. It is sad to hear that we did not meet our goal of 100% satisfaction, try as we did. We had so many people at the hotel working on this stay for you - it just seemed that with all of the requests for changes that happened before your family arrived, and during the stay, that we were not able to make you happy, and for that I am sad. As I offered in my follow up letter to you, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you experience the Betsy as most do - seemless service, no request to big. I hope one day soon you give us the opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

SESAC is proud to have The Betsy Hotel as our preferred home away from home in Miami for our SESAC Family (staff and affiliates). The location and the hotel staff is the best in South Beach. Delicious eats at BLT, meeting over a drink in the lobby bar while listening to fantastic music and surrounded by fabulous artwork, or the luxury of having your private cabana type service on the beach is all what The Betsy is known for! The rooms are beautifully decorated and nice size for SOBE. When in Miami stay at our casa your casa...The Betsy Hotel simply the best and better than all the rest!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear ARed3,

Thank you for taking the time tp write your review of the Betsy. We value our corporate accounts, especially SESAC, very much, and with a small hotel like the Betsy, we strive to give the personal, detailed and often last minute attention that the business traveler needs. We remain at your service, and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Betsy in March, 2013. It was absolutely an amazing experience. We had stayed at hotels such as The W, South Beach before and we found that this was our most preferred hotel.
The hotel is very cool, yet very warm. That is a difficult balance to achieve. The staff is absolutely great. They cater to your needs right away and are very attentive.
The location is best there is. The hotel is at the edge of Ocean Drive, right at the heart of S. Beach. 3 blocks from Lincoln Avenue; on Ocean Drive, however not busy and loud. There is a big park right outside that makes it quieter.
The restaurant is very good. The seafood we had there was better than the one we had at Nobu.
Rooms are not big, but have everything you need.
Strongly recommend everyone to stay here.
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerCHIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear TravelerCHIST,

Thank you for your visit, and your excellent review! I am so happy to hear that we made your stay in Miami Beach so enjoyable. As you mentioned, no visit to the Betsy is really complete without a meal at BLT Steak - I was happy to see that you had a good time there, too! I'm not sure how often you journey from Istanbul to Miami - but we are honored to be your home whenever you do!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stay here for a few days every year. "We" being myself, my wife, and twin 8 year old boys. The Betsy offers cleanliness, courteous service, and immediate access to the beach. Its close enough to the rambunctious part of Ocean Drive for the adults to have fun, but far enough away for the kids to be shielded. BLT is a great restaurant (for meat lovers) and the cocktails in the lobby are tasty and unique. The Betsy stands out for ts charm, sophistication, and quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,043 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,472 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,454 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $286 - $1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing