We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #7 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My partner and I had planned a few days in South Beach following a business trip I made to Miami. We found the Betsy Hotel via Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and in the concierge got us great restaurant recommendations and also sorted us out for a 'swimming with dolphins. the food at the Betsy was very good - so were the cocktails. too good - so I am having extra sessions at the gym now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasTheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    448
    135
    51
    23
See reviews for
450
1,102
89
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute reservation to stay at the Betsy for one night to explore South Beach. We arrived four hours before check-in but the front desk staff was very pleasant and said they would do their best to prepare a room for us as soon as possible. More hotel staff unloaded our luggage and tagged it for storage until our room was ready and valet parked the car. We were welcomed to use the pool or any of the facilities while we waited. We chose to go to the beach, which is just across the street, and had a wonderful time in the gorgeous, azure blue, warm water. The weather was perfect so even though we got a call within a half hour that our room was ready we stayed at the beach for two hours more! The hotel provides very comfortable, cushioned lounge chairs, towels and an umbrella at no charge for guests. The service was friendly and prompt and there is a cute little snack bar steps away. The beach is great for people watching and unwinding.
Eventually we forced ourselves to leave the beach and went to check out our room. It was beautiful! Although it was on the smaller side, they did such a thoughtful job designing the space that it was perfect. Large windows with plantation shutters overlooked the cozy and elegant pool area. The king sized bed had fabulous linens and down pillows and was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. There was a flat screen tv and an iPhone dock as well as all the products and amenities we have come to expect in nice hotels. The mini fridge was well stocked and frankly had everything I would ever want. I felt right at home.
Service was great in all categories . The real treat was the roof terrace. What a view and so luxurious . We found this hotel on TripAdvisor and we think we got it at a great rate. It is high school vacation week and we still got it for about $245/night, according to our info almost half off.
Thank you Betsy Hotel and all it's employes ! We will return.

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms with no ocean view and were still very happy...almost like staying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreFahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

A wonderful place to stay to avoid the raucous happy hour crowds of South Beach. Everyone is pleasant and helpful, and the hotel itself is lovely. BLT Steak provides the food, excellent, and the bartender is THE BEST!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, poolside, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Betsy Hotel looks amazing, it is a great picturesque building with loads of character, nice lobby, nice 'streetside' seating, nice rooftop terrace area and has a great location on South Beach.

The hotel is pretty expensive. Compared to the other hotels in which we had stayed during our trip this was the least value for money. I assume this just to be typical of South Beach rates.

The staff were friendly enough, however we did get the impression that tipping was a bit more of a given in Miami rather than service based, again...big fan of tipping, but not necessarily for things I am willing and able to do for myself i.e. finding a space on the beach, carrying a bag the two steps down from the lobby to the taxi etc etc. Possibly more of a reflection of Miami than the hotel directly.

The room was small, but light and airy with a partial pool view.

The Maid/Turndown service timing was pretty inconsistent, i.e they would appear at 8am one day, 12 the next, and as late as 4/5pm the next.

The pool was small and largely in the shade, which is great if you want the shade, but not so good if you want to relax by the pool in the Sun - which I imagine some South Beach visitors do crave after a day in the salty sea or sandy beach!

Whilst I don't have any massive negatives on the hotel, all in all it was just an ok experience for us when weighing up cost vs everything else.

Room Tip: It was pretty difficult to drop a bag due to the lack of places to stop or park on South Beach. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I just completed another visit to The Betsy Hotel, and this property continues to deliver outstanding experiences for its guests. The past few months, I've stayed at other properties in Miami Beach for business and leisure, and they just don't live up to the first-class, boutique experience from The Betsy.
If you want a top-notch, classy, experience, with the convenience of South Beach right outside the door, than this is your hotel.
The Sales Department, particularly Albert Valera and Ivan Tamayo, are fantastic in ensuring the Hotel meets the expectations of discerning business and small group travelers. They introduced me to the property at an event over a year ago, and I'm now sold as a loyal supporter of the Hotel.
The BLT Steak restaurant is one of the best along South Beach. The quality of the food, the hand crafted cocktails from Kedar working at the Bar and the casual atmosphere keep me as a repeat customer.
Go try The Betsy ... you'll be glad you stayed and will return for more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Betsy for 3 nights in an Ocean view room above the main entrance, so overlooking the beach/ocean.

The room is compact (well, it is Ocean Drive) but was very nicely furnished: shutters, ceiling fan, tv and ipod dock, and an enormous bed. Very comfortable, and clean.
The bathroom was similarly compact but had all we needed and the walk in shower was nice. I can take or leave having a tv screen in the bathroom mirror! The in-room toiletries were nice.

The rooftop garden is well worth a visit to read, relax and just chill out watching the ships go by in the distance. Lots of loungers and seats to use. Watch out for the bar prices - ouch!

Location is great. At the top end of Ocean Drive so you have direct access to the beach / boardwalk and the rest of Ocean Drive itself. Within minutes you can walk to Collins/Washington and to the Lincoln Mall, so there's plenty of options for sightseeing, restaurants, bars etc.

We used the restaurant once for dinner. The service was typically American (servers who like to chat their way through their shift - this is not a criticism, rather an observation. We saw the same in supermarkets, department stores and elsewhere), and was a little on the casual / slow side. However, they were polite, knew the menu inside out and were able to answer our questions. The food was also very good.

Other staff at the hotel were also very helpful - we made a small amendment to our booking at check-in without any issues whatsoever.
I would also recommend joining the SLH Club before booking as you can qualify for an upgrade or special offers.

We didn't use the pool (preferred the beach) and the courtyard looked very quiet anytime we were passing by but the pool area looked very clean and tidy.

Would definitely recommend hotel.

Room Tip: We were staying in a room opposite a lift. It's generally a quiet hotel but the soundproofing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickah_Wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be an excellent spot on Ocean Drive. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and email several times before you arrive to see if they can assist you in booking tours or restaurants.
The rooms are light and airy, but not overly large. We would stay here again, because it is a small hotel offering personal service, which we prefer to the larger more impersonal ones around the area.
We could see Miami Beach from our room which was great, and although it was noisy on the Saturday night until the early hours, Sunday and Monday were much quieter... But it IS Ocean Drive after all ...!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing