We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pre Wedding Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Maryland
1 review
“Pre Wedding Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My future daughter in law, her mom and I spent a wonderful weekend at The Betsy in January. My son proposed at The Betsy last spring and after his glowing review of all aspects of the hotel we decided to have the wedding there. It was my first time at the Betsy and from the moment we walked I knew we made the right decision. We had a fabulous weekend planning the wedding, tasting the amazing BLT food and enjoying the beautiful roof deck. The hotel staff was amazing and we left knowing in our heart that that The Betsy was the perfect location for the wedding. We are looking forward the big day on June, 6 2013!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    433
    132
    50
    22
See reviews for
433
1,073
88
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location was great and the courtyard rooms don't get any noise from the street. Beach is literally across the street and the hotel resort fee covers chairs + umbrellas. There are lots of restaurants and margarita places around and the art deco district is beautiful.

Overall, The Betsy seems to cater for probably a more 40-50+ crowd so wasn't quite our style, but overall everything was well maintained and tasteful. The room wasn't huge, but perfectly adequate size, bed was comfortable etc.

We were not best impressed with the reception staff in terms of professionalism. For example, could not get restaurant recommendations or help with bookings - just got a generic list with no info, just rough categories and names.

Rooms aren't very well insulated - you can hear everything from the corridor and rooms next to the stairs are especially unpleasant in this aspect... The way the beds are positioned, your head would be next to the wall to the stairwell.

Roofdeck was nice. Pool is in the courtyard, kind of dark and not a very inviting area unfortunately. Was clean though and chairs around it to hang out at.

I might stay here again because of the location and having things within walking distance. Although, might look for somewhere a bit more my style / better value. Service was the main aspect why I gave this hotel *** rather than ****.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the stairs, courtyard rooms are quieter and much better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Emilia S,

Thank you for your visit, and your review. This was certainly the busiest week in Miami Beach in a very long time - 2 different music festivals, Spring Break, and a beach filled with many people escaping the brutal winter to the north to enjoy very warm, balmy days and nights. I do apologize that your stay was not the usual tranquil respite that the Betsy offers, and would be happy to make that up to you on a return visit, as our Repeat Guests always get extra special focus from both me personally and my staff! Please let me know directly when you are returning and I will do my utmost to make your stay perfect in every way!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This boutique hotel was in the perfect location for my best friend and I to celebrate her 50th birthday get-away for a spa weekend sans kids. We wanted to get sun and cocktails and spa treatments and have access to restaurants and clubs w/out being smack in the middle of the ruckus of Collins Ave or in one of the massive places like the Fountainblue. The Betsy completley fit the bill. The ambience was perfect and the service was spectacular. We had a room facing the pool which was not large, but large enough and equipped with everything,including a properly sized lighted make-up mirror (one of my BIG must-haves) stashed in the closet.
The roof-top spa was different, not sure how I'd like it mid-day w/ more traffic noise, but we had early appointments. The therapists were really good. The roof top bar is defimitley the place to be for relaxation and full service. We never left! OK, not completley true, we dined at BLT one night and it was delicious. When I go back to South Beach, I will definitely be staying at The Betsy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etakwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Etakwill,

Thank you for your visit, and I am so happy that you had such a great stay! We look forward to your return as much as you do!

Warm Regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montfort-l'Amaury, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great interior design with lost Beatles and Rolling Stones pics. Comfortable, well equipped and designed room. Roof deck with small spa. Veryy Tasty food at hotel restaurant ( very European, almost French:)) Malin+ Goetz cosmetics

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasienka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Betsy for MLK weekend. We loved it.

-were upgraded to a one bed suite... very nicely furnished, comfortable bed... facing the water. was a little loud, but manageable (we live in NYC).
-BLT Steak and bar were great. We ate at the bar, had fantastic service... sushi was fresh and yummy and drinks were well prepared. We had brunch outside on Monday and it was a great spot to watch the world go by.
-Roof deck -- was very quiet the weekend we were there, but a perfect place to read a book and relax.
-Spa: got a pedicure... was cold and outside. The service was nice (they wrapped me in blankets!) but was odd that there wasn't an indoor option. If you are looking for a spa day, I'd suggest you go to a bigger hotel with a full spa experience.
-Pool: small and in courtyard. If you are looking for a big pool with sun and people watching, this isn't the place.
-Beach: a short walk across the street... had chairs and towels available, but no drink/food service. Was fine for us, but something good to know ahead of time.
-Location: was fantastic. Walking distance to lots of great places, but quiet enough to be out of the fray if you chose.

Would highly recommend the Betsy.... it is pricey, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WindySometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week as part of Florida holiday in Sept 2012 and loved every minute. The Betsy Service is fantastic and really made our first trip to Miami memorable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome note and complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was a really pleasant surprise and much appreciated. The hotel is situated at a quieter end on Ocean Drive but only minutes walk from all the main action so you have the benefit of being able to walk everywhere to enjoy the nightlife but then are far enough away to get a good night sleep when you return. The hotel breakfast was average and could be improved with a better offering of more fresh fruit and cereal rather than warmed pastries however don't let this put you off as the hotel itself and Miami more than make up for this. Be sure to book a trip on The Thriller high speed boat ride when you are in Miami, it's amazing and the views spectacular.

Room Tip: Check Hotel's own website for rooms, we had a pool view room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoyalBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely boutique hotel!! We stayed at the Betsy for three nights this past week and loved it.

It's a beautiful beach front hotel located in the famous architectural district of Miami. At first sight the rooms appear small and cramped but once you settle in you realize that there is plenty of space in the room. The rooms are beautifully designed with lots of closet space. The decor is all white with a touch of color like green or orange. Everything is color coordinated and very comfortable.

I loved the attention to detail in the room. It was very well planned and comfortable. The best part was the small personal In-Room Library with autographed books by major writers. In fact the hotel is so committed to Arts and philanthropy that they have a separate writer's room.

The marble bathrooms are well stocked with (MALIN+GOETZ) luxury apothecary bath amenities.

The hotel itself if small but very cozy and well maintained. The staff is excellent! I'd like to give a shout-out to Paul from the concierge who was excellent and helped us with various dining reservations. Thank you Paul! The housekeeping was very helpful and prompt too. They did provide us with extra slippers, toothpaste and bandage when needed.

The hotel itself has a lovely roof deck facing the Atlantic ocean. One can enjoy the beautiful sunset stretched on a chaise lounge. They do have a private pool and a spa for pure relaxation. The hotel is located beachfront on Ocean Drive at 14th Street and offers beach attendant service to provide chairs and umbrellas. If you are a guest at the hotel you get 2 chairs and an umbrella on the beach for free.

Thursday evenings they have live music in the lounge. We sipped some wine and enjoyed a game of chess while listening to the band.

The BLT steak is an excellent restaurant at the hotel. We dined three times on separate occasions. The Brunch was delicious. They have the biggest French toast I have ever eaten. It's HUGE and delicious! All the meals were scrumptious and left us very happy and content.

My favorite part about this hotel are the wonderful black and white photographs of the Beatles band. Adorning the walls of the hotel are these lovely photographs of the band taken in their early years. They are simply beautiful and add a special touch!

I am very satisfied with my stay at the hotel and will highly recommend it. Needless to say I will come back for more!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shrutikapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Shrutikapoor,

I am so happy that you were able to indulge in so much of what we have created here at the Betsy - it always warms my heart to read how our efforts are noticed, and we will be honored to have you return! We have special offers available exclusively for our repeat guests; our reservations department can always fill you in on those when you ready!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing