We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week as part of Florida holiday in Sept 2012 and loved every minute. The Betsy Service is fantastic and really made our first trip to Miami memorable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome note and complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was a really pleasant surprise and much appreciated. The hotel is situated at a quieter end on Ocean Drive but only minutes walk from all the main action so you have the benefit of being able to walk everywhere to enjoy the nightlife but then are far enough away to get a good night sleep when you return. The hotel breakfast was average and could be improved with a better offering of more fresh fruit and cereal rather than warmed pastries however don't let this put you off as the hotel itself and Miami more than make up for this. Be sure to book a trip on The Thriller high speed boat ride when you are in Miami, it's amazing and the views spectacular.

Room Tip: Check Hotel's own website for rooms, we had a pool view room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoyalBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    433
    132
    50
    22
See reviews for
433
1,073
88
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely boutique hotel!! We stayed at the Betsy for three nights this past week and loved it.

It's a beautiful beach front hotel located in the famous architectural district of Miami. At first sight the rooms appear small and cramped but once you settle in you realize that there is plenty of space in the room. The rooms are beautifully designed with lots of closet space. The decor is all white with a touch of color like green or orange. Everything is color coordinated and very comfortable.

I loved the attention to detail in the room. It was very well planned and comfortable. The best part was the small personal In-Room Library with autographed books by major writers. In fact the hotel is so committed to Arts and philanthropy that they have a separate writer's room.

The marble bathrooms are well stocked with (MALIN+GOETZ) luxury apothecary bath amenities.

The hotel itself if small but very cozy and well maintained. The staff is excellent! I'd like to give a shout-out to Paul from the concierge who was excellent and helped us with various dining reservations. Thank you Paul! The housekeeping was very helpful and prompt too. They did provide us with extra slippers, toothpaste and bandage when needed.

The hotel itself has a lovely roof deck facing the Atlantic ocean. One can enjoy the beautiful sunset stretched on a chaise lounge. They do have a private pool and a spa for pure relaxation. The hotel is located beachfront on Ocean Drive at 14th Street and offers beach attendant service to provide chairs and umbrellas. If you are a guest at the hotel you get 2 chairs and an umbrella on the beach for free.

Thursday evenings they have live music in the lounge. We sipped some wine and enjoyed a game of chess while listening to the band.

The BLT steak is an excellent restaurant at the hotel. We dined three times on separate occasions. The Brunch was delicious. They have the biggest French toast I have ever eaten. It's HUGE and delicious! All the meals were scrumptious and left us very happy and content.

My favorite part about this hotel are the wonderful black and white photographs of the Beatles band. Adorning the walls of the hotel are these lovely photographs of the band taken in their early years. They are simply beautiful and add a special touch!

I am very satisfied with my stay at the hotel and will highly recommend it. Needless to say I will come back for more!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shrutikapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Shrutikapoor,

I am so happy that you were able to indulge in so much of what we have created here at the Betsy - it always warms my heart to read how our efforts are noticed, and we will be honored to have you return! We have special offers available exclusively for our repeat guests; our reservations department can always fill you in on those when you ready!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not so much to say about the well-respected Betsy:

Pros:
The atmosphere of the Betsy is priceless and you will really feel at home very quickly but to illustrate the feeling:
-over the top service at the BLT, good food even for the breakfast (best madeleines ever on Sobe!!)
-very very accommodating staff of the Hotel, super concierge (I got an unexpected jet ski tour from them… really unexpected!),
-free fast wi-fi,
-small but intimate swimming pool,
-fantastic roof-top,
-awesome wine and cocktails selection at the bar,
-books at the bar and in rooms give it away… this hotel is for savvy and open minded people
-nice rooms although quite small.

Cons:
-Expensive but when you think though its pricing its quite cheap compared to its competitiors in standing (Ritz, Setai, Delano…) which are consistently more expensive and much less sophisticated

In a nutshell TOP NOTCH hotel on Ocean Drive one block away from its craziness.

Pricey but if you strike a good deal it is a MUST – if you cannot afford it there is numerous fall back options but try to stay at Betsy one night you might fall in love ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WetWillie_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to the Betsy with my mother for two nights in October. It was a wonderful hotel - the service was great, and the hotel was very elegant and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was a classic double - clean, super comfortable beds and just enough space. The location was great and only a short walk from Lincoln Road, Collins Avenue etc. However, I feel that it wasn't worth the money. I'm not a fussy traveller at all, but compared to other hotels in the same area that are cheaper and, in my opinion, just as good or even better, it cost a lot more than it should have. Also, when we booked the hotel the price was about $500 (for two nights), but when we arrived we were told that the full price of our stay was nearly $1000 - twice the price we first were told it would be! We agreed to pay anyway, but it definitely cost more than it was worth - at least to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Betsy and just wish we could have stayed longer. Brilliant location, very helpful friendly staff, roof terrace is lovely.

A very calm hotel in the middle of manic South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

So far our stay at the Betsy has been great. On-line the rooms look a lot bigger but overall the hotel is nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The BLT restaurant was great but again pricey. You cant beat the location, right across from the beach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is the discerning travels best choice in South Beach. In the midst of brash it is an oasis of class and service. The lobby bar and restaurant are out of architectural digest and the food at their BLT restaurant is innovative yet classic. Don't miss their famous popovers with a cut of Kobe beef. Ideally situated right on the ocean for swimming The Betsy has a rooftop zen-like garden with a view of the ocean and comfortable chaise lounges to sun yourself. The service is top notch with competence and warmth. After a night out dancing and drinking with the hordes it is heaven to go home to the safety and luxury of The Betsy.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCanadian144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing