We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #13 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in June 2012 and I simply cannot fault the place. Loved the location, the rooms, the bar etc. Lovely colonial feel to the place. You very simply get what you pay for. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    493
    152
    62
    32
See reviews for
508
1,228
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My daughter and I visited the Betsy from London in November for a week. It was our first time in Miami and whilst we didn't like Miami, the Betsy was our little safe heaven! Everything was perfect, and service consistent every single day (we stayed 6 nights). We were greeted with a bottle of champagne, no reason, just a simple welcome, which was lovely. The bar and restaurant equally superb and what they say about the steak is true, amazing. The only thing I was not impressed, was being chased by a waiter to my hotel room for a tip, coming from London where tipping is not a requirement (at least not always) I didn't tip and was extensively queried why I had nt done it. Not nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LourdesD114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were staying six nights at the Betsy, one of the best hotels in south beach. Perfect location on the beach, great staff, nice, but small, rooms. Also, since located on occean drive, not the quietest place to stay, depending on what you are looking for. The B.L.T. restaurant is a must!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlphaRomeo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Perfect location for a south beach visit. Traditional boutique hotel, very nicely updated, helpful staff. Go to the art district to see all the graffiti. Great beach access. I would do more of this, if trip advisor did not make me write so much.

Room Tip: Ask for an grade to,ocean view if they are not full
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uncle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Betsy hotel is characteristic hotel with a great architecture and art deco. It is at the quieter end of the Ocean drive and of course right next to the beach. Many clubs and restaurants are in walking distance. The staff is very friendly, but could be a bit more attentive. The room service could clean the room somewhat more careful, but all in all, the rooms are very charming and quiet.
Don't miss the rooftop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Betsy numerous times and always find it a delight. The rooms are very tasteful - and immaculate- the roof deck is great,and the rib eye at BLT is the best we've found anywhere in the US. The staff is terrific and the other guests are considerate and interesting.

If the Betsy were a frozen desert, it would be a world class hazelnut gelato. I think the (very) few negative reviews happen because those guests really wanted - super high butterfat vanilla. That is perhaps the Ritz...but the

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Betsy is expensive for Miami but a great hotel nonetheless. A crisp colonial feel alongside the art deco of Ocean Drive. This weekend I went back for brunch. Service and food excellent as usual. My only criticism is the bar, which looks great but the staff are kept too busy with table service, which is very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pmgme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,362 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,891 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,010 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach and only one of three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, a Lobby Bar, Library and Conservatory with an Espresso Bar giving guests ample options to lounge and enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world’s great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing