We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overvalued”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #10 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overvalued”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's amazing today what $980 per night doesn't get you. We recently stayed three nights at The Besty and encounted a very attractive hotel with many faults. Our "Royal Ocean View" Suite was most definitely NOT as advertised. It is a very clean, rather regular room with an alcove to the side. And NO storage. Perfect for children but not ideal for adults. I would say that "Royal" is a marketing overstatment and should be changed on the website. If guests reserve this room expecting a large suite overlooking the ocean they will only be disappointed. Next, the hotel outsources their beach lounge chair operation to an unrelated entity. The chairs and umbrellas are not befitting a hotel that charges such high nighly rates. The quality of the chairs and umbrellas is very average relative to the others we saw on the beach. Towels were old and not from the hotel. The hotel is not set up for children. It was mentioned to us that we could have beach toys (buckets and shovels) for the children free of charge but the ones provided to us were completey cracked (all) and not useful. The children made due however as they do. A hotel that charges such high rates should have (if they know children are coming) a basket of new beach toys ready to be enjoyed as a welcome item in the room or at check-in.

The food at the hotel is good and the service in the restaurant is fine. If you plan to eat on the roof deck, please be ready to wait a long time as the roof top attendant has to go down three stories to get food and drinks. Our server was also the bartender. Our lunch experience lasted over two hours. There are no children's food items on the menu. When I ordered a grilled cheese for our children, we were told NO. A grilled cheese is not a complicated production so our party was astonished that this could not be accomodated. After a testy exchange with the manager of the hotel, our children finally...after an hour and a half, received their grilled cheese. Again, a hotel that charges such rates should be more inclined to say yes rather than no. And we had several rooms as we were on a family vacation.

Paul the concierge was an exception. He was helpful with restauant reservations and a very good ambassador for the hotel. We very much appreciated his help.

So, our stay at The Betsy was fine. Not great by any stretch but just fine. Our expectations and experience were completely out of alignment. Relative to the other hotels on Ocean Drive, The Betsy is a standout but please reserve your stay with the understanding that you may not receive value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have limited view of the beach....mostly of Palms that obscure your view. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SheaJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    477
    148
    59
    29
See reviews for
494
1,193
96
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - the room we stayed in had everything we needed . The room was clean . The lobby was nice, breakfast was good and the waitstaff was polite and very service oriented. We were interested in spa services but chose to go elsewhere because the weather was cool and the idea of a massage on the roof was not appealing.
We were on the 3rd floor in the back which was nice except that on several days garbage trucks made a lot of noise early in the morning - but it did not last too long.
We had dinner at BLT one night we were there - it was amazing...expensive but really, really good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing. Loved the decor. Loved the look/feel of the hotel. Staff was great. Hotel was clean. Great location. Rooms were BIG - well worth the cost. We used the hotel tonight app, and booked this hotel same day we checked in. Amazing.
2 reasons why this didnt get a 5 star rating from me:

1. We booked spa treatments for Saturday at 5PM.. yes a cold front was coming thru and yes we knew it was a bit windy and that it was getting cool out. The Betsy I'm guessing doesnt have a back up spa option for inclement weather. With that said, we laid half naked on the roof, with 25 mile an hour winds, and dropping temps while 2 massage therapists gave us what was supposed to be a deep tissue massage, with their cold hands and sniffling noses for one hour. Enjoyable and relaxing - no. Sadly, this was not a relaxing, or romantic spa treatment, that my husband and I were so hoping for for our anniversary.

2 - We were in room 105. What was great about this room was that it was furthest from the lobby - which housed BLT and at night it was pretty noisy so it was nice to be so far from there. Downfall of this - was a staff door right outside our room - starting at the crack of dawn (it was still dark out) - they were going in and out of this door, and you could hear it slam in our room, which kept us up all night/morning.

Again would these things deter us from staying here again - no way. We loved it - just really disappointed in the spa, so be mindful of that when booking! (check your weather :) Figures when we are there, we get the bad weather! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lets start by the Positives...

We arrived and the check in was easy and the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. They told us because we were a member of small luxury hotel we could have a late check out (our plane wasn't till 6pm).

The room was cute and had everything we needed, the baggage guy went through everything with us, how the hotel room worked and opening and closing time of the restaurant etc.

The food in the BLT restaurant is very good, of course the meat is fantastic, but they also do a sushi menu, the sushi is also really good.

The cleanliness of the hotel and the bedroom was amazing, super clean and always neat. They come in the evening to do a turn down service (which for me put them on the 5 star rating).

The waiter at the bar one night was very nice, talkative and always happy and smiling.

Now for the not so good areas.

The only staff that were nice were the front desk, the baggage guys and one guy behind the bar one night. Everyone else didn't want to help, didn't smile and even didn't say hello to us when we sat down or wanted to order.

The restaurant in the hotel has great food, but it is let down by the service. They are slow and we were waiting 40 minutes for our food to come out (the starter). The staff are rude and don't care.
The lady who site the people in the restaurant never smiled and looked miserable. It was like she didn't want to be there. One night we wanted to stay in the hotel and asked if there were tables available inside or outside, she was rude and just said NO. We went outside and there were 4 table free of 2 persons. We didn't argue and went for dinner somewhere else. We got back 1 hour later and these tables still had no one sat at them.

Lastly the concierge. There are 3 different people on the concierge changing at different times of the day. The first Lady was very nice and tried to help, but she came across as she didn't really know what she was doing. The second guy was lovely, smiling, happy and wanted to do as much as possible to help. The last guy was just terrible, rude, arrogant and when we went to the front desk to ask something he came up and got straight in our personal space saying he would help... Not nice.

All in all, if the service was sorted out I would defiantly come back to this hotel, but as the service how it is i would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go on the side of the pool - very quiet and can get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed two exquisite nights at The Betsy. The reservation staff, all the way up to the General Manager, Mr. Lehman, confirmed and ensured our requested weekend arrival dates to celebrate my wife's birthday. There was a hand written card expressing the hotel's warm wishes, accompanied by a complimentary bottle of champagne. The hotel is beautiful. We enjoyed a suite, which was elegantly decorated. Accommodations, service, friendliness; all were first class!
The location was perfect. Everything within walking distance. Chairs and service was provided across the street on the beach. I would not stay anywhere else in the South Beach area. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested the 3rd floor location, which was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved the Besty! Great location, great rooms, great buzz. Breakfast on the terrace at the front of the hotel was cool. Great things to eat and to see as the world walks, jogs and runs past in various outfits and with various animals.

A colonial feel, muted shades and dark wood - for when you tire of the art deco colours and lights that South Beach is famous for.

Not all rooms can face the ocean - and we had a cute junior suite (upgrade free as SLH members) which had a decent - not large - bedroom and a great little dressing room / sitting room. All the amenities you would expect.

Very helpful staff - got my iPhone and iPad working with their wifi - no problems! Oh, yes FREE wifi!

BLT STEAK is the hotel restaurant - good food, simply presented and great service - just what you would expect. (BLT does not stand for bacon lettuce and tomato but in fact Bistro Laurent Tourondel!). http://www.zagat.com/r/blt-steak-miami-beach

Cab from airport a fixed city rate - well priced and quick.

We booked the hotel through the SLH web site with the lowest price guarantee. As it happens we saw a lower price a little later and SHL kept the guarantee and the hotel even discounted the room further as an apology. As we say above we even got the SLH upgrade too.

Recommend - book via SLH the guarantee is real.
http://www.slh.com/destinations/americas/usa/miami-beach/the-betsy-hotel/

Room Tip: Try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We picked The Betsy for a stop-over night enroute to the Caribbean. The staff were amazing and very welcoming. The hotel is just a 20 - 25 minute taxi ride from the airport and is ideally situated so that even if you only have one evening to spare, you can enjoy the beach, stroll along Ocean Drive, enjoy the Art Deco of the neighbourhood, do some shopping and have some fabulous restaurants to choose from. We were made to feel so important that we contacted the front desk manager on our return through Miami and he was able to accomodate our one night request at a reasonable rate. We were made to feel like valued returning guests rather than another traveller looking for a good deal. On both occasions our rooms were great - one looking over a side street and one looking over the pool. We enjoyed a drink at the roof top bar and had one breakfast which was included in our room rate. The breakfast was not huge - pastries and fruit - but enough to get the day underway. Would definitely recommend the Betsy to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whistlertraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing