We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best hotel on South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hotel on South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We picked The Betsy for a stop-over night enroute to the Caribbean. The staff were amazing and very welcoming. The hotel is just a 20 - 25 minute taxi ride from the airport and is ideally situated so that even if you only have one evening to spare, you can enjoy the beach, stroll along Ocean Drive, enjoy the Art Deco of the neighbourhood, do some shopping and have some fabulous restaurants to choose from. We were made to feel so important that we contacted the front desk manager on our return through Miami and he was able to accomodate our one night request at a reasonable rate. We were made to feel like valued returning guests rather than another traveller looking for a good deal. On both occasions our rooms were great - one looking over a side street and one looking over the pool. We enjoyed a drink at the roof top bar and had one breakfast which was included in our room rate. The breakfast was not huge - pastries and fruit - but enough to get the day underway. Would definitely recommend the Betsy to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whistlertraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    427
    129
    49
    20
See reviews for
405
1,050
87
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We've just returned to the UK after a week long stay at The Betsy. Overall our experience was great, everything we wanted in a relaxing holiday at a top class hotel and we've tried others in Miami in previous years. Highlights are the staff who are warm, welcoming, polite and friendly. We felt that our business was important to the hotel, not just another corporate guest or weekender passing through.
Our room was a second floor poolside suite. Very comfortable, quiet, well equipped and always immaculately serviced. On balanced, I think I would have preferred an ocean view, perhaps not as quiet but more to see.
We dined once in the restaurant in the evening. Food was very competent and reliable, service excellent. But for us it lacked a little imagination and relied heavily on its well sourced large protein dishes of steak and fish. Not much finesse but very well executed. Lunches were much more pleasurable with the sushi being top class, especially the coconut macadamia shrimp roll - delicious.
Staff and management are keen to ensure you are happy and well looked after. We could not fault their attention and the competence of all the staff.
If I could make a couple of constructive suggestions they would be:
- Make the bar much more lively and more of a destination point. With the exception of the chap from India, the bartenders were dull and lacking imagination. On our first night we were categorised as Brits who would want a white wine and a G&T - far from it!
- include a note with turn down showing the following day's weather, restaurant specials, spa offers, recommended trips, cultural opportunities etc.
- get the staff to know longer stay guests' names and use them. A personal touch is always appreciated.
- don't let the Concierge over promise and under deliver.
The above might sound negative, it's not meant to be - far from it. Overall we had a great stay and would not hesitate to return to the Betsy and recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Poolside are quiet but you can't see the sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mags W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Two evenings of jazz, an afternoon recital of African-American traditional and Broadway spirituals written by Jewish composers on MLK day surrounded by newly discovered photos of the Beatles and Rolling Stones' early days in a beautifully designed tropical lobby/salon surpassed all expectations. This weekend will forever raise my standards for first class hotel destinations. Met Ms. Deborah Plutzik Briggs who curates the arts program and events - a brilliant differentiator to attract the discerning guest who seeks expansive cultural experiences during their travels. Doormen and staff were consistently welcoming, helpful and eager.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Fph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear FPH1,

Thank you for your visit last month, and for taking the time to write your review of the Betsy. In particular, it was great to read your response to our cultural programming - these aspects of the hotel are laboriously and lovingly curated - and we get great response to them, although not all the time in TripAdvisor. Stay tuned, more is coming, each and every month at the Betsy! If you are not already receiving our monthly Arts Email, please let me know and I will be happy to add you to the growing list!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I don't know about other hotels but Betsy was just awesome. The rooms were Higenenic, neat, well
prepared with readable books, and the staffs are very supportive. The hotel has a beautiful pool and extra service on the beach right in front of the hotel.Very convinently located in front of the south beach with coconut grooves in front and easy to get to the city airport . The restaurant has some amazing food options. The most interesting and distinctive aspect of Betsy is its consciousnesses towards mature art and culture. Art shows, presentations, performance, conferences makes it really different form the rest. Supporting young artists and giving them a chance to perform is another appreciative effort. Wishing Betsy Hotel and the Betsy Family with best wishes.

Room Tip: I din't try the SPA so I don't know how to rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Unni K,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to see that you had a good time while at the Betsy, taking advantage of how much more we have to offer than many hotels, while retaining our intimate, friendly ambiance! We truly believe that the arts are a transformative force in the community, and support the existing and emerging arts world in Miami Beach quite strongly!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed at various hotels in South Beach including the Ritz and Loews. The Betsy is the absolute best and sets the standards for the others. The entire staff makes you feel like family. Thomas at curb reception stands out but all (Front Desk, House Keeping, Concierge, Deck Service, Wait Staff) are terrific. BLT is superb. The decor is just right. What could be better than The Betsy?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear William C.,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for your review. I alway know when Guests have found the true power of the Betsy when they mention the staff by name, as you have. Our team here is very dedicated to the spirit of hospitality - and it is always good to hear when we have hit our desired mark! We look forward to your return visits in the future - our Repeat Guest list is growing and growing!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Betsy based on other reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Although the room and bathroom were small, they were well decorated and very comfortable. The hotel staff were fabulous and extremely helpful especially Johnson on the roof deck bar and Ed at the concierge desk. The rooftop bar is really a great place to hang out, have a cocktail, relax and enjoy the ocean views. We ate two meals at the BLT and those were really excellent as well, especially dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kit V.,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review. You mention TripAdvisor as the reason you chose us - it is so satisfying to read so many positive reviews, often from very different viewpoints. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable experience the Betsy yourself, and we look forward to welcoming you back, again and again...

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for the third time since we loved everything about the hotel. Perfect beachside location, friendly and efficient staff, well decorated, clean rooms. Food and drinks are pricey but to be expected in this area of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarshaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Marsha (Toronto),

Thank you for your loyalty and for coming back again and again! Whenever Toronto gets too cold, or you just need a dose of Southern hospitality, we are here for you! We look forward to your next visit - please feel freet oreach out to me dirctly to book your next stay!

Warm [Sunny!] regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing