We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel (bones) + quirks = average...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel in a superb location. It has the makings of a world class establishment (curb appeal, neighborhood presence, decor, quaint set up, and small size). There were employees who went overboard with commitment to excellence (Thomas M from Curb Reception, and Luciano from Front Desk), whom you really feel understand how special this hotel is and it shows in their connection with the guests. There was a noisemaker in the room and should have been a tipoff. We were awaken at 7:10 on Sunday with a garbage truck which seemed loud enough to be inside our room, lasted for 15 minutes, and left. Front Staff said, "yes we are aware of the problem and..." . Had we been warned of this, even with same occurrence, might have had a different response. Also, the BLT staff do not have the same level of commitment and that dining experience too had tremendous potential for a memorable event, but it was dulled by poor service and aloof staff. I would love to stay there in two years as I would imagine that with enough feedback, these quirks will correct themselves.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in back- avoid if on Sunday (trash day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Vasdoc,

Thank you for your review, and for pointing out so many of the up-sides of staying at the Betsy! I do apologize for the noise you experienced - we work with the City and our neighbors on mitigating that as much as possible - it is sporadic at most, but once is too often! Regarding your comment about BLT I regret that you did not seem to have a typical experience there - the restaurant itself is rated (independent of the hotel) on Tripadvisor in the top 3% of more than 550 restaurants in Miami Beach - but we seem to have dropped the ball with you. I do apologize for that, and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you. Please reach out to me anytime in the future and I will be happy to personally make your ararngements, and ensure that your stay or your meal is flawless!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,687 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at The Betsy before boarding a 10 day cruise. The cruise was great, but our stay at The Betsy provided our best memories. The hotel enjoys a great location, wonderful architecture, beautifully decorated rooms and public spaces, and a great restaurant. Will never forget the meal and the scene dining outside at BLT Steak! We are returning in February for to celebrate Diane's birthday. Diane and Peter Issel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianeissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Diane & Peter,

It was great having you here, and we too are looking forward to your return in a couple of weeks. Days are in the balmy 80's every day lately - and your room is waiting for you! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had one day in South Beach; we couldn't have picked a better place. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival; seating room and bedroom seperated by a hall. We over looked the small pool in the court yard which was very quite. the service from each of the staff member was exceptional from the doormen, the front desk personal, restaurant and bar staff, and the concierge staff. The service provided was more than you would expect; it seemed that each individual wanted to make your visit the best. We had a personal problem in route to Miami which we needed to fix upon arrival. We called the concierge prior to arrival to seek their assistance and information required to fix the problem. Upon arrival, the front desk had the information as well as driving instructions; with out their help, we would not have been able to correct the problem while in Miami. Just a great place with great people ( the early Beatle and Rolling Stones pictures through out the hotel was a nice additional touch).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Marty,

Thank you for your visit and for writing your review! I am happy to read that you had such an enjoyable time - our goal is to exceed expectations whenever we can - hopefully your next visit will be even better (and longer!)

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon in this hotel and it was indeed memorable for us! We were upgraded to the best room in the hotel and that was a really pleasant surprise. The room was beautifully decorated and sublimely clean! Loved the bathroom too! Dinner and breakfast at the hotel was quite expensive but overall a nice experience.
The pool was too cold so we didn't even attempt to take a dip.
The rooftop was also worth checking out. I had a wonderful time at this hotel. Would definitely be back here!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Abby,

Congratulations again on your recent wedding! Much as our repeat Guests are so valuable to us, senior reviewers on TripAdvisor also hold a special place in our hearts. I'm happy to read that you had such a great time - please be sure to let us know when you are becoming a Repeat Guest - perhaps an anniversary tradition?

Best of luck,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Let me say that I am baffled by the very high ratings for this property. The issues we had with the property weren't one-offs, they were structural. I have traveled to five-star hotels around the world for more than two decades, and I have never paid so much for so little. And on an absolute basis, this hotel would rate three stars.

On a weekend trip to SOBE, my girlfriend and I spent $500+ per night for a standard room at the Betsy Hotel. As the bellboy opened the door, the shock of seeing the bed almost touch the open door and the incredibly small room was immediate. It was so small that I had to go downstairs to the lobby to use the bathroom - barely one person can fit in the bathroom. When asking directions to the lobby bathroom, the front desk person asked how my room was, to which I responded that I was surprised by how small the room was. The response appears to be a theme for the staff - "It's a boutique hotel, so what did you expect. There is umpteen years of history at the Betsy!"

Staying with the room, the walls would do well to be paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the hallway, and every arrival of the lone elevator. What's more, the guests above our room weren't particularly loud, but you could hear every footstep, every drawer opening, and placement of items on their desk. And, if a door closed on our floor, our door shook. The bathroom was tiny and there was no room to place items so we were using the toilet seat to place items. The mirror fogs up with the use of the shower (no bath) such that you had to go out to the tiny room to do your makeup or blow dry your hair. The power outlets aren't close to the mirror, so I tried to work with a mirror from across the room (the only time having a small room helped). The fixtures had poor grouting and the water pressure for the shower was weak. Finally, there wasn't a pay movie capability on the TV (but they did have checkers in the lobby).

The Betsy appears to have also misunderstood the definition of service. Being friendly doesn't equal service. You also need to be knowledgeable, and that simply wasn't the case. There was no newspaper deliver on any of the days we were present, but plenty of excuses ("there's a Marathon today"). The room service delivery was very prompt which was nice, but they did nothing with the food - plopped it on the bed and virtually ran out of the room. How about, "would you like me to unwrap the food?" or "Could I set up your breakfast." Finally, how about the valet who tells our cab that we want to go to Little Haiti?! He never asked where we wanted to go, and we were going to the Delano Hotel on South Beach, not the crime ridden neighborhood of Little Haiti.

The hotel binder talks about the 24/7 state of the art fitness club, but this is a room with weights and a couple of treadmills in it. The pool is like one you'd find at a run down motel with no sun. Finally, they have a nice roof deck bar, but it is completely underutilized. Hardly anyone goes up there.

The pros were location which was fantastic, BLT which is a nice restaurant, and the comfortable bed.

AVOID!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AmanJunkieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Aman Junkie Boston,

I sincerely thank you for your recent stay and for your review, as surprising as it was to read. Of course, you can't make everybody happy all the time, and whereas we do succeed most of the time, we obviously did not met your standards. We always try to be neither defensive nor dismissive; to that end I would definitely appreciate both an opportunity to talk to you directly, and of course, the chance to show you the Betsy experience that most of our Guests are writing about. We take our service and our Guests very seriously and very personally at the Betsy. I do hope you will give me the opportunity to explore your stay further with you.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the walk through the held door (thank you Christopher) to the Front Desk (Nikki and Ashley) to the concierge (Adam), the experience was beyond expectations. Our first vacation as a family was made perfect due to the staff and amenities at the Betsy. Even the maid service was over the top accommodating. My only disappointment was I didn't eat at the hotel until the last day. We realized a little late it was one of the best meals we had in our four days in South Beach. Don’t miss the chicken sausage on the breakfast menu, and the fish tacos and hamburger on the lunch menu. Brilliant. Thank you “Betsy” for a much needed break from the harsh winter at home.

Room Tip: We choose a room overlooking the pool because it was quieter than street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LambieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Lambie Jones ,

Thank you for your visit and your review! I am happy that we could thaw you out from such a harsh winter this year - even if just for a short, sun baked weekend. We are here whenever you need that break!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

splendid building in the heart of the beach. very good and attentive staff. they were kind enough to make a discount when we extended our stay. should try BLT Steak restaurant for the juicy and delicious steaks. rooms with ocean views are a bit overpriced and may not worth paying more as the views are not that good as the hotel is not tall enough to have a clear ocean view.

Room Tip: ocean view, however a bit overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErolBrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear ErolB13,

There's that "Gem" word again! Thank you for your visit and your review - I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay and the hotel! We were happy to make it work for you to extend your stay, and will of course always do our best for you wehn you return - our repeat Guests are such an important part of the Betsy's fan base! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#43 of 214 in Miami Beach
7,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
383 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,113 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $263 - $1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing