We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Betsy is Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Betsy is Wonderful”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent four nights at the Betsy. Beach is perfect. Staff is very competent and attentive. The BLT restaurant is awesome. Mike at the bar is a font of information about local attractions. Anthony and Jordan in the restaurant were really great. Bartender on the roof bar, Tim, is also great.

The Betsy is a small hotel, where you can get to know the staff quickly. Rooms are nice size and well appointed. Located in the middle of South Beach within walking distance to Lincoln Road and other venues. Highly recommend for couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcwhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear rcwhalen,

Thank you for your review, and for spending some quality time with the staff - they really are the pride and joy of the Betsy. Although many of us come from larger hotels, we all prefer a more intimate environment where we can all get to know each other a bit - if you like - and it really makes the Betsy feel like home. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Mike, Anthony, Jordan and Tim - although truthfully, we all follow our reviews quite closely and I imagine they have already seen your kudos! Thanks again for noticing...

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    507
    157
    64
    34
See reviews for
521
1,246
101
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

the hotel is nicely looking and resembles the pictures. the rooms are small and there is very limited space to keep your clothes, so we had to live mostly out of our bags. No bath tubs, only showers. The building is old, there is no entrance hall to the room and you hear quiet a lot of noise, especially from entrance and outside restaurant.
What disappointed us most is the lack of personal service at this boutique hotel. There is no smile or greeting and it seems the staff do not really care and are distant to the guests.
we stayed 4 nights and at several occasions even then we were not recognised as hotel guests.
The booking for the dinner time went wrong, but was eventually corrected, expectations are high when you mention premium meat on the wall. but the BLT restaurant has very average/fair food, the meat was too dry.
breakfast was good, we had continental included, but that serves you little food, (croissant +fruit, tea/coffee) so in the end you anyway pay for breakfast.
on our departure the valet parking took way too long to get our car, despite the fact they mentioned 5 mins, it took close to 35 mins from 1st order at reception.
Overall: expensive, no personal service, great location, a bit noisy, small rooms wthout proper storage. We would not go back.

Room Tip: sea view rooms also have the street in front, most noise comes from hotel music which can also be he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edwink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Edwink123,

Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed - we make great efforts to always meet and exceed our Guests' expectations, and usually hit our goal! I wish that you had let us know while you were here how you were feeling. There is almost always something that can be done, and that is why we are here! I would value an opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay, to help us better understand and hopefully win you back one day as a valued repeat Guest.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our second stay at the Betsy, and I was a bit nervous as often things don't live up to your memories. This did. In fact, I think it's gotten better. There was a major writing theme that I loved. Turndown service included a bookmark embedded in seeds (that you can plant) with a poem on it. The books in the room are excellent, not just the castaways you often find as decoration in hotel rooms. Of course, this being South Beach, we didn't exactly spend much time in the room reading, but I did start a new book I enjoyed and will pick up at some later point. The rooftop lounge was as relaxing as I remember and a great place to start your evening out. Still love the Malin+Goetz toiletries. Still love the fluffy, comfy beds. Our room was overlooking the street, which was a little noisy and not a nice view, but it's a noisy part of town and all in all, our room was pretty quiet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear brown68,

Thank you for your return visit, and for taking the time to write a review on your stay. Meeting expectations is a challenge in and of itself; recreating memories is even more important, I think. In the few years since we re-opened as what the current Betsy is today, we have Guests who have stayed here dozens of times - I hope to count you in that group soon! We look forward to your next visit - please reach out to me directly the next time you are coming and I'll see if we can't make each visit better than the last one!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had an AWESOME experience at the Betsy Hotel bar! I wish we hadn't eaten because the food at the BLT Steakhouse looked amazing! Next time! The atmosphere was perfect and our bartender, KEDAR, was the best in town. Honestly. He made our experience at the Betsy so enjoyable! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynCynGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear CynCynGr,

Thanks for your review - Yes, Kedar is one of our best. We appreciate your mentioning him. Actually he has been woking with me for more than 10 years, on and off, at various properties. Happy to have him here for you....a good bartender is SO important....next time - BLT-Steak!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights - fairly expensive but then it's Miami. Valet service was very good, and prompt. The room was well appointed, albeit a bit noisy as it was next to the elevator and just below the top deck. On weekends it got especially noisy. However the bed was very comfortable and Internet was charged.
Bar services were slightly sloppy with no service for about 10 minutes - never went there again.
Did not have any meals there, so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear RoadWarrior0,

Thank you for your recent visit with us, and for taking the time to complete a review. We are happy that you had a good time - next time you must try BLT Steak, our award winning restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Betsey has a great atmosphere, beautifully decorated and perfectly positioned. Right on the beach we enjoyed jogging with the locals every morning. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel preferring the better value Front Porch next door.

If I had any disappointments it would be the pool. It is tiny and you are made to pay extra for seats around the pool whether you use them or not (we didn't). Our room faced over the pool which is not unpleasant however it is difficult to see the weather from this position. That said we would definately recommend The Betsey and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DASands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear DASands,

Thank you for your revioew - I was happy to read that you had a good stay. Our Courtyard Pool View Rooms are indeed our quietest (and most of our rooms do face that way). Of course, we also like to give you options, and you have the Roof Deck and Beach, too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,073 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,209 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located at one end of South Beach in the middle of the Art-Deco area stands the Betsy which is more colonial in appearance than art-deco.
We like a little bit of comfort in the hotels we stay in and the Betsy certainly supplied it. When you enter the hotel, the restaurant is to your left and a bar which looks more like a colonial living-room to your right. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and I had one of the best steaks I have had in many years. The downstairs lounge/bar was very laid back but sophisticated at the same time and the barman mixed a mean Bloody Mary & Cosmopolitan. The rooftop bar was nice, but it had just finished a brief downpour so it was a little damp. The views from the bar over South Beach were excellent. On South Beach itself the Betsy has an allocated area with sun loungers and the staff are very helpful.
The only slight disappointment for me was the room. As ours was a late booking the only available room was the cheapest available and we would have preferred a room not located on the ground floor with two double-beds in it. That said we had a great time at the Betsy and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear AvidTraveler12,

Thank you for your recent visit and your review! I was happy to read that you had such a great time - including dinner! True, some of our rooms are small, (even if not so by South Beach standards) but nearly a third of our rooms are are suites - hopefully next time you will give us just a little notice and your stay will be absolutely perfect from all perspectives!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,520 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,898 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,000 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing