We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stylish South Beach boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hambon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stylish South Beach boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Florida. Overall, this is a chic boutique hotel and the reality matches up to the descriptions and photos on the website. The lobby and bar areas are very calm and stylish and the staff are incredibly hospitable and helpful. Rooms are small, but not excessively so and certainly more than adequate by European standards and are clean and very stylishly appointed.

The location is at the 'right' end of Ocean Drive away from the nosier bars and clubs and tucked away from the tourist traps. Turn left out of the hotel and you are at the beach bars and famous hotels of South Beach and immediately behind the hotel, you are on the shopping streets of Washington and Lincoln. All in all it's a great location which offers the best of all worlds, however, it does lack the South Beach vibe and pool scene of some of the better known hotels such as the Delano or the W. The pool here, though nice, is essentially a small courtyard with no views and no music/scene to speak of so those looking for that vibe would be better off elsewhere.

Other criticisms are that, during a four night stay, the rooftop bar was closed for private functions for two - a shame that residents are denied access to such a key feature. Also, we dined one evening at the much vaunted BLT restaurant and found it to be somewhat over-hyped and very over-priced. They food and service were very good, but steak and chips is steak and chips and at $250 for two with no starters (or puddings) and half a bottle of wine, it's hard not to feel a little mugged. The same meal in any major city like London, New York or Paris would have cost half as much, but then again you don't come to Miami for a bargain.

All in all, this a proper boutique hotel with an intimate feel and excellent customer service and stylish surroundings. It's easily the best on Ocean Drive, but perhaps lacks some of the pool/beach side amenities that other South Beach hotels offer.

Room Tip: The lift is very small and very, very slow, so lower level rooms to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Hambon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You certainly do know South Beach - the Betsy prides itself on being more about comfort and kindness than a sexy scene, as you point out. There is something for everyone here - but at the Betsy, peace and solitude, and a place to have a good conversation about things that matter, come first. As you point out, though, step outside the front door and everything that is South Beach awaits....

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    433
    132
    50
    22
See reviews for
435
1,073
88
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for one night before heading back to London. We arrived before the official check-in time but were kept informed and the room made ready as quick as possible. We were offered an alternative room with a sea view but it was a lot smaller than the room we had booked, so stuck it out for the larger suite. Room very clean, nicely presented, can't fault the room at all or staff.

Decided to dine at the hotel BLT restaurant that evening. The service was excellent, staff very pleasant, but a bit dissapointed with the meal that we ordered for the price we paid. In the morning we returned to the restaurant for our inclusive 'continental' breakfast. We were handed a very limited menu and only allowed to select three items which were very basic and not substantial and service very slow. Looking at other tables if you paid for a breakfast you appeared to get much better service and portions.

The one, compact and very slow elevator serving this hotel, guests and staff, is an issue as mentioned by others, but a good excuse to use the stairs if you can.

Overall, pleasant stay but would not eat at the restaurant again!

Room Tip: We had room 318, no sea view but really nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Bobby416,

Thank you for your visit with us, and for taking the time to write your review of your brief stay. I am happy that the hotel measured up to your expectations, and we hope to see you back one day for a longer visit. As BLT was not a positive experience for you, there are many options locally for some great dining, we would be happy to share those with you on your next trip. We look forward to ahving that opportunity one day!

SIncerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

betsy is comfortable nice and classy hotel excellent food, top service and a top location. nice big terrace on top floor, small pool but nice beach service included. on ocean drive a lot is going on, mostly quite loud, the Betsy is for people who like comfort, attention and not 80 beats per second, but lazy jazz. we had a great time, its not cheap, so its selective. european/colonial. just what I like.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a50dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear a50dutchman,

Thank you for your recent visit with us and your review. We have an amazing amount of Guests fron the Netherlands stay in our boutique hotel, it seems to be a perfect fit. I am happy that you saw so much of us and felt so good about your experience. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Never have I been in a hotel that made me feel so special. I had documents that needed to be scanned and emailed to me. I was expecting them to charge me. There was no charge and the staff really made me feel like they were genuinely happy to be of service. Reminds me of the old days you see in the movies, where the butlers are actually proud of their service! Wow, I'm impressed! Every little thing I needed, they sent someone to me right away or were ready to. Wish every hotel had staff like theirs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

convenient location and nice staff. A little pricey but what isn't in South Beach.
elevators are slow (very slow and small) might as well take the stairs , much faster. BLT Steak restaurant in the hotel is great!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitelion5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When you go to Miami beach with your children, you tend to be hesitant on hotel choices. The Betsy Hotel is perfect for families who want to see SoBe and be in the action but also feel comfortable. We spent 3 nights at The Betsy and it met and exceeded every expectation after reading the other reviews before we booked. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The concierge really know what they are talking about. Special thanks to Adam! They were spot on with restaurant suggestions. BLT was is a great restaurant, too. Their fries are awesome! The whole family can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double suite. It is an older hotel so the rooms are on the small side. We also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Betsy hotel for 4 nights it was 3 of us and the room only have 2 bed plus a sofa bed hopefully, one of the housekeeping lady go to the room to make the extra bed and she was very kind her name is Francin the room service is very good you feel that you sleeping at home in this hotel and you don't even want to go sleep because u don't wanna mess nothing I recommend this hotel to every one because having a good sleep don't have a price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novoa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing