We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last night of honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #16 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great last night of honeymoon”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon as we needed a layover in Miami. The Betsy was a perfect place to end our trip and readjust back into reality. It is a beautiful hotel, lovely staff, and great vibe. A bit funky without being edgy and too modern. They have several great cultural touches: a library in each room, a photography exhibit in the lobby and hallways, live music in the bar, etc. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,791
    513
    159
    64
    34
See reviews for
533
1,255
101
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights the week of November 12th after reading about the hotel on TA. The hotel looked to be one of the nicer ones on the strip. We had a Classic King Suite on the second floor overlooking an alley. The rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet when you use the sound machine supplied in the room. We had dinner in the BLT Steakhouse two nights and it was good. We had breakfast twice on the patio. The service was very good. The only complaint about the food was that both times the toast was cold. We enjoyed the deck but this is one area that they need to work on the service levels. The service staff rarely come by and on some occasions were gone for extended periods. We went to the beach and the folks that handle the chairs etc. Did a nice job. They have food and beverages available for sale on the beach. The staff in general were very pleasant and accompanying. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjocCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are small, but nice and cozy and bed was very compfortable! The only problem we had was the smell in the room. We thought it was from smoke first, but the reception said that actually that was a shampoo they use to clean up the room (after two days the smell was gone). Otherwise i don't have any complaints. ok, maybe there was no soap in the bathroom and maybe no sufficient space to place our things in there, but this is all very minor compared to location, comfortable sleep and atmosphere. Yes, it's a bit on the expensive side cost-wise but what do you expect from Miami Beach?... Definitely would recomend this hotel to other people

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A wonderful oasis of impeccable service in the midst of the SoBe vibe. What's especially nice is the way The Betsy encourages conversation and culture through its salons, literary events, and artistic presentations. Staff are always friendly and attentive. Special kudos to Tim, the bartender on the rooftop deck who cheerfully and efficiently accommodated our group of 15 people who suddenly converged on him last night when he was trying to set up for another event. Despite being under a lot of pressure, he never lost his cool or his smile. I can't believe that he mixed and delivered 15 drinks in the short time he did while tending to his other priorities.. He made us feel we were the only people at the hotel, despite having to prepare for another large group on its way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was my first trip to Miami, and Betsy showed what Miami is.
I stayed in a Classic King room on the first floor facing a small alley (the 14th pl), might be the cheapest room. The view from the window was no fun, but it was much more quiet than I had been worried. A good and reasonable sleeping quality.
As other reviewers point out, there were some “unpolished” restaurant staff. Yet it doesn’t undercut my evaluation because of good service by most of hotel staff. I appreciate housekeepers’ courteous work and technical staff’s rapid response to a glitch of a safe.
Yes, Betsy is a wonderful place where to go back again. An umbrella and summer beds on the beach without any additional charge was very nice, but what gave me a perfect vacation was its fabulous rooftop deck. It was a hog heaven when I laid on a large couch with a glass of fresh mojito, viewing the blue ocean. Various drink and food from BLT Steak and a bar can be ordered through the staff at the bar corner. I really loved that deck.

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, have a room away from a restaurant and a lobby bar. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misajipang x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from a great vacation to Florida. Stayed at The Betsy South Beach for 3 nights.
The service was excellent all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The conciege was able to get us tickets for the opening Miami Heat game very exciting! The beach was beautiful and the staff at the beach were very friendly. We had a massage at the spa very good massage and very relaxing. The rooftop deck has a wonderful view and a great place to hangout for a drink. The resturant at the hotel was amazing delicious steaks. I can't asy enough good things about this hotel and will definetly go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything I expected from previous reviews, bar one big thing. Perfect service, continental breakfasts just right, ultra clean rooms and nice bathrooms, if a tad small. We arrived on the Saturday, and were early to bed (level 3). There was a wedding function on the top floor (4) with probably in excess of 100 guests. Our room was in the worst possible place, opposite the stairwell so there was lots of loud drunken shouting as the wedding guests tramped all the way down the stairs, plus the creeking of the floor from the party above. Next day we complained to the delightful manager (Anton?) and were moved without hesitation. My view is a boutique hotel with 60(?) rooms should not overwhelm full fee paying guests with functions and parties, when the layout of the hotel cannot cope with it. Having said that, the pool view room we were moved to (level 2) was devine, quiet, and I wished that we had paid the extra money in the first place. The function wasnt a one off as on the Sunday we saw another group piling up the lifts/stairs to level 4 [also that must mean that level 4 is not available to guests?]

Despite all of the above The Betsy is all you have read about on TA, if I was to return, it would only be if there was a guarantee that I wasnt to be affeted in any way by a function.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,666 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,904 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,121 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing