We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our stay in Miami!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay in Miami!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Loved this hotel!! It's location is perfect on Ocean Drive so just across the road from the beach but also in a quite location so no noise from the street to keep you awake if you do want to sleep. This a quite small hotel so if you are looking for a big scene this is not for you, more a unpretentious, comfortable wellcoming place to say. The staff were helpful on all levels but have to give a nod to Paul and Margo the concierges they were amazing and went out of their way to recommend restaurants and clubs to make our stay as good as possible. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Brillant. Our room was a lovely suite with bright and clean decor. Everything was spotlessly clean. The roof terrace was georgous and we had amazing lunch up there, also eat at BLT both from brunch and dinner both geourgous. All in all highlight of my trip and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MemberIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear MemberIRL,

Thank you for your review - I am happy to read that we were able to make your time in South Beach special. It really is an amazing destination. The key is to have great advice on whatever you choose to do, whether it is culinary, cultural, or very low key. We look forward to being your home in Miami Beach again in the future!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    504
    157
    64
    34
See reviews for
517
1,245
101
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have visited the Betsy Hotel on several occasion in the past few years and enjoyed BLT Steakhouse very much. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and her birthday while we were at the Betsy. Tina in reservations is competent and very polite. Adnan (he speaks Russian which was a big plus) and Nicky at the front desk helped iron out a couple minor glitches. Paul the Head Concierge and the Assistant Concierge offered their services and they did a great job. We will definitely try the yoga on the beach next time. Even though we had to wait about 1 hour for our room at check in around 2 in the afternoon my wife soon forgot about this inconvience. I would suggest that you offer a cell phone rental service or paging service as some higher end hotels do. Reason being, I needed to contact my wife and she was at the pool and no one could locate her.
Thank you, again for the anniversary bottle too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a prime Southbeach location with amazing, genuine and friendly staff - from the minute we arrived we felt really cared for and valued. We stayed for two nights to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th birthday, I emailed the concierge a few days beforehand and was ecstatic when we arrived to find we'd been upgraded from a classic room to a classic suite and had a bottle of bubbly waiting in the room for us!

The decor and feel of the hotel is lovely,having never been to Miami before the hotel looked exactly how I imagined it should! The suite we stayed in was fantastic - huge, comfortable, bright and airy, very comfy bed and good quality bedding. I loved the little extras provided - the TV in the bathroom mirror, coffee machine, white noise sleep machine and daily turndown service. The only reason I haven't given the hotel 5/5 is we didn't sleep very well at all. Even with the great bed and sleep machine our room was on the 1st floor facing an alley so we were disturbed by noise from passers by, garbage trucks and a lot of noise from the guests staying above us. I know this isn't the hotel's fault so it wouldn't put me off in the future but I'd request a room on a higher floor or go for a room overlooking the pool.

We ate brunch in the BLT restaurant and it was good, no complaints at all and the food quite reasonably priced for such a great hotel in a prime location.

The main thing that makes the hotel so great is the staff, I've never experienced such a fantastic level of service. Every single person we came across was lovely - so friendly and helpful, I felt like they really cared about us and that we were enjoying our stay. I wish I could remember everyone's name, you were all great. A big thank you to Nicky at the front desk, Margot the concierge, the valets, everyone who helped us with our bags and getting cabs! If you want to stay in a gorgeous hotel where you are made to feel really special then this is it!

Room Tip: Book superior or deluxe rooms for better views and a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear JD2585,

Thank you for your visit last month - you definitely identified the real secret to our success, our energetic, passionate and professional staff. We all have the same goal - making friends and clients for life - and I try to make sure everyone has the tools to do just that. I'm so happy we were able to make a positive impression on you. We look forward to your future visits, anytime!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It looks great from the outside and it certainly is great on the inside. The reception from all staff was excellent. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed. Bed was very comfortable and the shower (no bath) was refreshing. The bars (roof and lobby) are nice places to have a drink - and our meal at BLT (whilst quite pricey) was excellent. I really couldn't fault our stay - it was one of the best 2 or 3 hotels I have ever stayed at.

An unexpected bonus was that even though we had an ocean view room - we weren't disturbed by late night drinkers as it is at the quiet end of Ocean Drive - but only a 5 minute walk away from the action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackpool_boy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at The Betsy at 6am on a red eye and they went above & beyond to make our accommodations available. Our room was clean, cozy and beautifully furnished with modern beach decor. The lobby remains the perfect mix of elegance and comfort and the entire staff at every corner remain friendly & personable. Our concierge, Paul Drecq, helped make arrangements for dinners to deep sea fishing creating memorable experienced for our entire family. The bartenders for BLT helped make it less memorable in the most delightful way as well, thank you Kedar, David & Jason!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kendra,

Thank you for your recent stay, and your review! Red-eys are painful. I'm glad that we could take the edge off of that for you..and that the bartenders in our Lobby Lounge were able to continue that effort for you! We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

LOVED The Betsy Hotel!!! The staff could not have been friendlier nor more helpful. Totally unpretentious and hip and cozy. A really happy and fun place to stay. The decor is impeccable, the roof deck is happening, the rooms are perfectly appointed, the beach is lovely, BLT Steak is delicious. It is an oasis on the edge of South Beach's jungle. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ocean front is great but not mandatory. The roof deck and front porch is where you'll want to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallway190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Hallway190,

Thank you for your sensible suggestion to millions of readers. Apparently many are already taking your advice! I was happy to read that you found your oasis of tranquility in South Beach - at the Betsy!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel few weeks ago. It was our first visit to Miami Beach and did not know what to expect. We were greeted at the door and promptly checked in by friendly staff. The room was very cozy with beautiful decor . We also tried BLT ( the hotel's steak house ) and it was amazing. Still craving their popovers. Service was little slow but food was incredible. Their concierge on duty (Margot) made our stay extra special with great dinner and shopping suggestions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing stay but close to a lot of Miami Beach "action".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankfurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Frankfurt M,

I was happy to read your review, and glad that we could make your first visit to Miami Beach so memorable. About those BLT Popovers - you know that we deliver the recipe when we deliver the Popovers - have you tried your hand at Backen jene Gebäck yet?

We look forward to your future visits!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,518 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,896 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy – South Beach is Travel and Leisure’s Top Rated Resort Hotel on Miami Beach (2017), the only Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel on Miami and Miami Beach, and one of only three Florida hotels to be awarded the 2017 Condé Nast Traveler Gold List Award. Having recently completed an expansion, The Betsy now offers 130 guest accommodations across the existing Colonial and new Art Deco wings, with a variety of room types and suites, including a Skyline Penthouse. An elegant, beach-side haven located on historic Ocean Drive, The Betsy’s relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key and cocoon guests in timeless luxury. Incredible service, exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine, and a unique presence for arts and culture, invite travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy’s Ocean Decks are expansive with sweeping views of Miami and the Atlantic, offering a Rooftop Pool, Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, 24-hour Fitness Center, Lobby and Pool Bars, Property and Room Libraries, and a Conservatory with an Espresso Bar. Thoughtfully designed public spaces welcome guests to lounge and enjoy cultural programming year-round which includes Live Jazz and curated property-wide playlists. Known as a hotel with a heart, The Betsy’s unique hospitality model champions the power of community through its dedicated PACE (Philanthropy, Arts, Culture, Education) program by weaving those brand pillars into the guest experience through the sights and sounds of art, music and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing