We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Hotel on Ocean Drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Ocean Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely colonial style hotel situated at the quieter end of Ocean Drive, just across from the beach. Very close to Espanola and Lincoln Mall Areas. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nice lobby bar, the roof top area / bar although very welcoming is very underused, perhaps a Happy Hour is the answer here. Pool is fine and an absolute sun trap in August in the afternoon, but who needs a pool with a beach like they have? The BLT knocks up steaks which must be alongside the best in South Beach. My wife and have to say I loved it, and we travel a lot. Very good value for money and we will be back, maybe even next year. That's how good it is!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
406
1,052
87
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are sponsors of a design award event and are using the Betsy for our second time. We really enjoyed it last time and are having another excellent stay this year. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and in good shape. Decor is adorable and keeping in the spirit of a boutique hotel. Hotel is on Ocean drive right across from the beach so the location is excellent but also quiet. Really a nice treat to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sharon SFC,

Thank you for your return visit! Since re-opening in 2009, our unique, welcoming design has certainly been one of the things many of our Guests appreciate. We are also pleased to have so many Guests return again and again, to see our progress the evolution of our artwork, our music, and our general dedication to culture and the community. I hope you had a chance to visit our new Writer's Room, if it wasn't occupied by one of our now-frequent artists in residence. If not, we will have to show you on your next trip!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Betsy is very cool and understated in its decor and we loved this. The staff are super attentive without being intrusive. We were so impressed they remembered our names and room number. This really makes it stand out compared to hundreds of other hotels I have stayed at. The beds are super comfortable, the linens top quality and the bathroom modern with great products. The pool is not full size but on a positive note it is not hired out for pool parties and often is quiet, so excellent if you are looking for peace and quiet. Breakfast was very good if on the expensive side (though the hotel does special offers which include continental breakfast and if you prefer, Starbucks is just over the road). Special mention to Arnold and Jordan at the restaurant for stellar service. Dinner was excellent. One thing to mention is that the ocean view rooms are more ocean facing rooms with a view of lots of palm trees (as other reviewers have noted). The fitness centre is small but has adequate machines - if you are really keen, the hotel can arrange a pass with nearby gyms for one day and those gyms can then sell you a pass. We already returned to the Betsy twice in a month so much did we like it!

Room Tip: corner suites are large and comfortable - like a one bedroom apartment! top floor (3rd floor) is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear London Traveller,

Thank you for your review - this really seems to the time for UK to be at the Betsy in full force! I appreciate your comments - also noting that a few years with no hurricanes has allowed the lovely park across the street to grow in a bit. Ocean View is how those rooms and suites are presented, not Oceanfront, being across the street from the Beach. But they are quite popular. Our pool is a little bit more "sanctuary" than "scene" - but we figure you have the entire Atlantic Ocean - the best and most exciting part - across the street, so a sanctuary with personal service can be a nice contrast. We hope to see you again soon!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
606 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Interesting Story:

So we are a group of 12 guys out in Miami on a bachelor party. We wanted to stay somewhere on South Beach which was well located for the beach and the restaurants, bars and clubs on Ocean and Collins and Lincoln. The balance was between choosing somewhere with high quality facilities but which was reasonably priced, and not one of the monster hotels where we would feel overwhelmed and might seperate the group. Although we planned to party hard, we wanted somewhere reasonably quiet so that we could get away from the party when we needed to. The Betsy ticked all of these boxes. The service started before we left home because they helped us massively to organize our itinerary (even for our 3 day trip to the Florida Keys) and recommend and arrange reservations and restaurants and nightclubs, both before and during our stay. Good Job guys!

Pro's
The place is very Miami, has a local vibe and a cosy and intimate atmosphere - you're always happy to get back at the end of the day;
Location is A1. Right in the middle of the action and of course sea facing;
The hotel has an amazing spot on the beach and a desk on the beach for towels, beach beds, umbrellas, drinks etc;
Newly refurbished and well decorated and clean rooms.
Exceptional concierge service to help you make the most of your trip and even organize nights out for you etc, including a special SUnday night at Nikki Beach with a favorable deal on a bottle service table; and
Generous late checkout where available – always get a big tick.


Cons
Small pool, you would expect a place like this to have a nice big luxy pool for the price but not so much, see pictures;
Some disorganised service in the restaurant for breakfast and occasionally at the front desk, they are all well-meaning but were slightly confused at times probably owing to the size of our group;
Weak Wifi in the rooms which is a shame when you just need to get some work done. But it is free; and
A big turn off was the lack of shower pressure in the rooms, a good powerful shower is important in a hotel especially when the bathrooms are so nicely fitted out with a TV in the mirror etc.


Conclusion
There are so many hotels in Miami some very much more p1mped out but they look much like all fancy hotels all over the world. The Betsy feels very authentic and unique to Miami. Overall, a good stay at a good hotel. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sidji,

Thank you for your review - we were very happy to have your group stay with us. I'm especially pleased to read the word "authentic" in your review - we try to live by the authenticity in our design, our passion for service and hospitality, and our dedication to culture and being more than just another pretty face. I'm happy you recognized that!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our fourth trip to Betsy. This was a disappointing experience because our room was littered with ants. They were in the bathroom and curtains. We also found mosquitoes on the bed. Otherwise, staff were pleasant and room service was good. We also like that the beach chairs, umbrellas and towels continue to be included in the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBeachVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear LoveBeachVacations,

Thank you for your review - and your repeat visits, of course! I am sorry to read about your experience - it is quite rare, I am wondering if possibly a window was left open? Sometimes, with the severe weather (such as the recent tropical storm, Isaac) there are additionaI challenges locally, but again, they rarely impact our rooms the way you described. I'm happy that you still found the staff so accomodating, too. I would be very interested to discuss this with you further- please contact me directly at the hotel and I will do my utmost to make sure your next visit - #5! is absolutely flawless!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Betsy Ross Hotel on Historic Ocean Drive is head and shoulders above the rest of its hotels in terms of culture, substance, culinary, and premium feel. BLT Steak is incredible, as are the rooms, lobby bar, and patio. Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_STK_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Betsy for a few nights recently and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel was recently refurbished and I was glad to see that it kept its simple elegance the lobby was low key and comfortable as were the rooms.
They had a great roof top terrace with a full bar which made for a nice evenings drink before going out.
This is a small hotel ,not a lot of bells and whistles, I find this charming and for my taste the hotel had all that I needed.
I only ate breakfast at the restaurant and would recommend the croissants and fresh orange juice.
The beach across the street was nice and for a small fee (hotel charges) you get an umbrella, towel and chaise lounge.
I liked that the block around the hotel was quiet, no barkers and noisy restaurants which are prevelant further down the street creating a cheap atmosphere that I find unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and your review. I was pleased to read so many positve aspects about your visit - and honestly, a bit confused about your overall rating being less than stellar. If there is anything else about your visit that you would care to share with me, I would be pleased to discuss that with you. At the Betsy, we take our Guests and our service very seriously and very personally. Our goal is for you to be 101% satisfied!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing