We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Betsy - South Beach
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$128
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$322
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$328
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$249
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$272
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$205
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
$191
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveler rating
2,027
582
187
72
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,027
582
187
72
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltpopoversrolling stonesocean drivetv in the mirrorcolonial stylesouth beachrooftop deckboutique hotelboucher brothersart decobeautiful hotelturn down servicelobby barsmall hotelbeach servicepeople watching
Filter
Updating list...
1,892 - 1,897 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are sponsors of a design award event and are using the Betsy for our second time. We really enjoyed it last time and are having another excellent stay this year. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and in good shape. Decor is adorable and keeping in the spirit of a boutique hotel. Hotel is on Ocean drive right across from the beach so the location is excellent but also quiet. Really a nice treat to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Sharon SFC,

Thank you for your return visit! Since re-opening in 2009, our unique, welcoming design has certainly been one of the things many of our Guests appreciate. We are also pleased to have so many Guests return again and again, to see our progress the evolution of our artwork, our music, and our general dedication to culture and the community. I hope you had a chance to visit our new Writer's Room, if it wasn't occupied by one of our now-frequent artists in residence. If not, we will have to show you on your next trip!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Betsy is very cool and understated in its decor and we loved this. The staff are super attentive without being intrusive. We were so impressed they remembered our names and room number. This really makes it stand out compared to hundreds of other hotels I have stayed at. The beds are super comfortable, the linens top quality and the bathroom modern with great products. The pool is not full size but on a positive note it is not hired out for pool parties and often is quiet, so excellent if you are looking for peace and quiet. Breakfast was very good if on the expensive side (though the hotel does special offers which include continental breakfast and if you prefer, Starbucks is just over the road). Special mention to Arnold and Jordan at the restaurant for stellar service. Dinner was excellent. One thing to mention is that the ocean view rooms are more ocean facing rooms with a view of lots of palm trees (as other reviewers have noted). The fitness centre is small but has adequate machines - if you are really keen, the hotel can arrange a pass with nearby gyms for one day and those gyms can then sell you a pass. We already returned to the Betsy twice in a month so much did we like it!

Room Tip: corner suites are large and comfortable - like a one bedroom apartment! top floor (3rd floor) is quieter than 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear London Traveller,

Thank you for your review - this really seems to the time for UK to be at the Betsy in full force! I appreciate your comments - also noting that a few years with no hurricanes has allowed the lovely park across the street to grow in a bit. Ocean View is how those rooms and suites are presented, not Oceanfront, being across the street from the Beach. But they are quite popular. Our pool is a little bit more "sanctuary" than "scene" - but we figure you have the entire Atlantic Ocean - the best and most exciting part - across the street, so a sanctuary with personal service can be a nice contrast. We hope to see you again soon!

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Interesting Story:

So we are a group of 12 guys out in Miami on a bachelor party. We wanted to stay somewhere on South Beach which was well located for the beach and the restaurants, bars and clubs on Ocean and Collins and Lincoln. The balance was between choosing somewhere with high quality facilities but which was reasonably priced, and not one of the monster hotels where we would feel overwhelmed and might seperate the group. Although we planned to party hard, we wanted somewhere reasonably quiet so that we could get away from the party when we needed to. The Betsy ticked all of these boxes. The service started before we left home because they helped us massively to organize our itinerary (even for our 3 day trip to the Florida Keys) and recommend and arrange reservations and restaurants and nightclubs, both before and during our stay. Good Job guys!

Pro's
The place is very Miami, has a local vibe and a cosy and intimate atmosphere - you're always happy to get back at the end of the day;
Location is A1. Right in the middle of the action and of course sea facing;
The hotel has an amazing spot on the beach and a desk on the beach for towels, beach beds, umbrellas, drinks etc;
Newly refurbished and well decorated and clean rooms.
Exceptional concierge service to help you make the most of your trip and even organize nights out for you etc, including a special SUnday night at Nikki Beach with a favorable deal on a bottle service table; and
Generous late checkout where available – always get a big tick.


Cons
Small pool, you would expect a place like this to have a nice big luxy pool for the price but not so much, see pictures;
Some disorganised service in the restaurant for breakfast and occasionally at the front desk, they are all well-meaning but were slightly confused at times probably owing to the size of our group;
Weak Wifi in the rooms which is a shame when you just need to get some work done. But it is free; and
A big turn off was the lack of shower pressure in the rooms, a good powerful shower is important in a hotel especially when the bathrooms are so nicely fitted out with a TV in the mirror etc.


Conclusion
There are so many hotels in Miami some very much more p1mped out but they look much like all fancy hotels all over the world. The Betsy feels very authentic and unique to Miami. Overall, a good stay at a good hotel. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Sidji,

Thank you for your review - we were very happy to have your group stay with us. I'm especially pleased to read the word "authentic" in your review - we try to live by the authenticity in our design, our passion for service and hospitality, and our dedication to culture and being more than just another pretty face. I'm happy you recognized that!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our fourth trip to Betsy. This was a disappointing experience because our room was littered with ants. They were in the bathroom and curtains. We also found mosquitoes on the bed. Otherwise, staff were pleasant and room service was good. We also like that the beach chairs, umbrellas and towels continue to be included in the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBeachVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear LoveBeachVacations,

Thank you for your review - and your repeat visits, of course! I am sorry to read about your experience - it is quite rare, I am wondering if possibly a window was left open? Sometimes, with the severe weather (such as the recent tropical storm, Isaac) there are additionaI challenges locally, but again, they rarely impact our rooms the way you described. I'm happy that you still found the staff so accomodating, too. I would be very interested to discuss this with you further- please contact me directly at the hotel and I will do my utmost to make sure your next visit - #5! is absolutely flawless!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Betsy Ross Hotel on Historic Ocean Drive is head and shoulders above the rest of its hotels in terms of culture, substance, culinary, and premium feel. BLT Steak is incredible, as are the rooms, lobby bar, and patio. Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_STK_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews