We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“High Above the Rest of Ocean Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
“High Above the Rest of Ocean Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Betsy Ross Hotel on Historic Ocean Drive is head and shoulders above the rest of its hotels in terms of culture, substance, culinary, and premium feel. BLT Steak is incredible, as are the rooms, lobby bar, and patio. Truly a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_STK_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
407
1,053
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Betsy for a few nights recently and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel was recently refurbished and I was glad to see that it kept its simple elegance the lobby was low key and comfortable as were the rooms.
They had a great roof top terrace with a full bar which made for a nice evenings drink before going out.
This is a small hotel ,not a lot of bells and whistles, I find this charming and for my taste the hotel had all that I needed.
I only ate breakfast at the restaurant and would recommend the croissants and fresh orange juice.
The beach across the street was nice and for a small fee (hotel charges) you get an umbrella, towel and chaise lounge.
I liked that the block around the hotel was quiet, no barkers and noisy restaurants which are prevelant further down the street creating a cheap atmosphere that I find unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and your review. I was pleased to read so many positve aspects about your visit - and honestly, a bit confused about your overall rating being less than stellar. If there is anything else about your visit that you would care to share with me, I would be pleased to discuss that with you. At the Betsy, we take our Guests and our service very seriously and very personally. Our goal is for you to be 101% satisfied!

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We looked so forward to our stay here and we were not disappointed , the bed was divine the service superb the food delicious. We loved the location close proximity to everything South Beach. The beach was lovely enjoyed the fact that sun beds, towels & umbrellas were provided. 5star luxury definitly planning another stay Charmaine & Graeme Swaziland southern Africa - awesome ... Loved the gowns provided so comfy I bought one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Phahla,

Thank you for your review, and your recent visit with us! It was wonderful having you and your family stay with us. You remind me how our diverse Guests find different aspects of our boutique property so endearing - and those who return encounter new things to delight, and help them relax and rejuvinate! We look forward to your next visit to South Beach!

Best regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a great holiday in south Beach and the Florida Keys. Spent 8 nights in the Betsy in South Beach and it was fantastic from start to finish. Everything was perfect, location, staff - they couldn't do enough for us, food, beach beds and the hotel itself is brilliant.
If I had a tiny tiny issue it was that the bathroom was a little small and the lift a little slow but really that is all I can say and these were so minor!!

The BLT Steak is mouth watering and the service throughout the hotel first Class. I just hope I get a chance to experience the Betsy again in the future

The concierge were also excellent and helped us book tours and gave us advice on travelling to Key West.

Best Hotel I've stayed in so far..........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Orla,

Thank you for your comments - an 8 day stay like yours is really the best way to completely fall in love with the Betsy! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel its beautiful, the staff, front desk and concierge, really gentle and attentive. The best thing of everything is that when i got back with my wife from dinner, theres was live soul music at the lobby.
I had a relax and peaceful time in a crazy miami beach!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel - friendly and helpful staff, great location, good on site restaurant.

It was my husband's birthday and thry sent up a beautiful mink cake and candle as a surprise.

Pool is in courtyard so well sheltered (shady). Rooms are comfortable but a little snug for a family of 4 but overall excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Betsy and we had the best service. First of all, we arrived early and our rooms were ready for check-in. Everyone at the hotel was sooo nice. The rooms were a nice size. We were in walking distance to everything. I wish there was a Betsy in every city I visited.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KinaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing