We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic 40th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Betsy reminded me of old Hollywood. I went to South Beach to celebrate my 40th with my girlfriends and the Betsy certainly made it memorable. I was greeted in my hotel room with a bottle of sparkling wine and a dessert with a lovely card from Margot, the conceirge, wishing me a Happy Birthday. Paul, the other conceirge, was very helpful in planning fantastic dinner arrangements where my party was always treated incredibly and my birthday was never fogotten at any of the venues Paul sent us to. The service at the Betsy was relaxed and very friendly. Adam, Ever, Roberto, Christopher were always smiling, warm and helpful. I would definately recommend a stay here. It was close enough to attractions and night life to walk but far enough that you didnt have to worry about be kept up all night with noise. The beach was right across the street and Starbucks was a stone throw away. Incredible experience. I would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1677 M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
406
1,052
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Staff were very professional.The Hotel very clean and updated.Resturant excellent!!!!.Massage was great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgavin1697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I came here for one night to celebrate my bachelorette party and had a double bed room. I asked for an upgrade and they were't sure if it would be available. However when we arrived Nicky at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade us to the best suite in the hotel!!! It was incredible. The service was personalized and prompt. The room was clean, modern and the beds comfortable. The hotel also gave us two bottles of champagne to celebrate! We had the continental breakfast and also lunch which were both great. Can't wait to come back again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexisSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Betsy Hotel was our honeymoon's first and best place, the following big name big hotels in Orlando and New York cannot be even mentioned in one day with the Betsy hotel, it was so much more better then them. We highly recommend it to every visitor, the kindness of the staff, the beautiful rooms, the wiew from the rooftop, the comfortable bed and every other thing... Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_Miskolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Imre,

Thank you for your review of the Betsy! Honeymoons are our specialty - it is just such a romantic setting: The Roof Deck under the stars on a moonlit night with Miami Beach spread in front of you. Next visit (for your anniverary!) be sure to try the Massage Under the Stars at our Rooftop Spa - a couple's massage is such a great way to end (or start) the evening!

Best Wishes,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I won this trip so I took advantage of this site to read other's reviews. The concierge contacted me via email prior to arriving and asked what she could help me with before arriving. I responded via email with my concerns (as written by other reviewers) and asked that they be addressed prior to our arrival. Unfortunately, the concierge did not respond prior to our arrival, so I printed out my email and took it with me.

Upon check-in, I addressed this issue immediately with the front desk clerk. He asked to see the email that I brought along with me and he took the time to read it, address all of my concerns, and offered to change my room to an oceanfront view at no extra charge to me. Now, thats what I call great customer service!

The room was modern, beautiful, clean, comfortable, with a fabulous view of the ocean. It is within walking distance of many restaurants, too. We chose to dine at their restaurant, BLT Steak. I cannot say enough about the excellent service and fabulous meal. Our waiter, Eli, was very polite, attentive, and knowlegeable of the menu. By far, I ate the best filet I have ever eaten.

The valets were equally hospitable and seemed genuinely happy to see you and assist you with your luggage and car. The valet, Christopher, who brought our luggage to our room even went as far as to tell us of the many amenities the hotel offered and suggested that we visit the rooftop lounge area. We did, and it was amazing with its view of the ocean and relaxing sofas.

My lesson learned...and my advice to all travelers - check the reviews posted here on any hotel you choose to stay at, then address those concerns, in writing, to the hotel prior to arriving. I am sure that they will want to give you the best experience they can if they are aware of your concerns prior to arrival.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room. If not, you will get a room that faces the delivery alley's and be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a great hotel right across from the beach, they make you feel very welcome. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crownroyal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very sweet boutique hotel at Ocean Drive with the beach right accross the steet. Pefect setting and location in the center of south beach with everything in walking distance. The walet parking service is great, but not cheap ( but as everywere in Miami Beach).Traveling as a family with 3, we had a 1-bedroom suite which was great for us at a good rate, however the sofa-bed was ok, but not brilliant. Amazing great staff everywere in the hotel, wonderfull, very helpful, very friendly. Great athmosphere in the hotel, that makes you very much feel at home. We would definetely come back to this hotel next time in Miami beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing