We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding location and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
U.S.A. East Coast
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel is located across from the ocean on the North end of South Beach. Service was exceptional and the restaurant was five star. The hotel porvides valet parking but you won't need your vehicle. Everything is within short walking distance.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel provides the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackRabbit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
407
1,053
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently stayed at the Betsy hotel in Miami. The room and the hotel were beautiful. The location and great and the staff were courteous. After checking in I informed the front desk that the room smelled of smoke and asked if there was anything that could be done. They apologized and said it would be taken care of immediately. After returning from the beach and then dinner, still nothing had been done. I checked out the next day remarking that the room smelled like smoke and that I’d asked something to be done. The staff apologized and removed a “resort fee” from my bill. Later that week I got mail from a hotel executive offering a free night next time I was in town and that “if I’d only said something” they could have taking care of the problem. It made me feel dumb since they clearly didn’t understand that I’d asked for something to be done twice.

Knowledge: The Betsy didn’t really ask how things were nor did they listen when I offered
Service: If you say you’re going to resolve something, follow through - it’s integrity.
Delivery: They didn’t fix the room and failed on delivery
Communications: The Betsy still doesn’t know what went wrong – they think it was my problem that I didn’t say anything. I won’t be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Dave,

I was sorry to read your review - the purpose of my letter was not to make you feel bad, but rather to admit that although we tried, we had not resolved your problem and as such was hoping for another opportunity for you to experience the Betsy as most do. Can i tell you how much I hate the smell of cigarettes? We have a special machine (called an O-Zone Machine) that [usually] removes that smell, and we thought we had succeeded, but obviously didn't. I feel bad about that, and do indeed hope that one day you will take us up on our offer of a free night on a return visit. You really deserve a stay that is memorable for the right reasons! I hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. Hotel in general is great, atmosphere is very inviting and has a home style feeling combined with a out of town camp house. Had breakfast there twice, in my opinion breakfast menu is not that wide, but the dishes I tried were quite delicious. Front desk staff quite friendly and Paul, the concierge, was very kind in providing a varierty of options and suggestions for dinner, tours, and helping in making reservations when needed. Although hotel looks small from the outside, inside you feel it is very spacious. Room was just perfect in size, living room and bed were very comfortable. The bathroom even had a TV mirror installed if you are one of those persons that can miss a second of a sports match , movie or broadcast. Perhaps the only bad about the hotel, as we got room in the first floor, just facing an alley next to the hotel. Aroun 7am, some trucks unloading or loading stuff , making it noisy for about 20 minutes, waking us up. That happened once during our stay. Hotel management was kind to apologize for some problem they had with the fire alarm system which had a malfunction, but we got fast explanation on the issue and received complimentary drinks the next day. A 2 minute walk to the beach, hotel provides complimentary chairs/towels/umbrellas to use in the beach front. Location of hotel is good , just at the end of ocean drive, so you don't get all the noise other hotels get due to the traffic / pedestrians. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the first floor next to the street besides the hotel , as it gets loud when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseAlegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Jose,

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review of your visit with us! I was sorry to hear that one morning, your sleep was disturned by delivery trucks - South Beach is a very compact district, as you know now, and sometimes it is difficult to take care of all of the hotels and restaurants to take care of business and still keep a focus on the relaxation of our Guests. We have this conversation with local vendors quite often. Please let me know the next time that you are traveling to Miami Beach and I will ensure that you are upgraded to one of our "guaranteed quieter" pool view rooms, facing the inner courtyard.

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Highly recommended if you're visiting Miami, even if you're stating elsewhere. Fantastic location overlooking Miami Beach with a superb elevated veranda to watch the world go by. The food is excellent, the Tuna Salad followed by Sword Fish, probably the best I’ve tasted anywhere in the World.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

This is such a great hotel- it is right across the street from the beach. The hotel arranges for your chair, towel, and umbrella. The roof bar and meditation garden are so great. Drawback is that bar closes at 6. We were there poetry month and poems are left on your pillow each night. The walls are filled with photos of writers and artists. The staff is great. Highly recommend

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank DIane8015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Betsy for 7 nights and we loved every minute of it. The decor is beautiful, incredibly stylish and tasteful, the location at the calmer end of Ocean Drive just perfect.
The food quality and presentation at BLT (the restaurant) is also second to none. Steaks are cooked to perfection and the warm freshly baked bread is to die for!
The biggest asset is the staff however. The management must be congratulated on their hiring and staffing policy - they have assembled a great team. Everyone was incredibly courteous, helpful and charming - from the doorman to the housekeeping maids, waiters, concierges... The front of house team - Adnan in particular did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
Miami Beach has a lot of stylish hotels but the Betsy delivers on all fronts - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have stayed in many of the haunts in SB over the years: The Setai, the Delano, The Fountableu, etc. This is by far my favorite . The rooms are modern/classical meaning not the disco-romping, thumpy-bumpy crazy over-the-top you get at many other SB hotels. If you want to stay near the action but not be up all night hearing it, this is the hotel to consider. I saw many folks with children, and many that looked young and newly married. The rooms are beautiful, white decor with lime green accents. We had a suite which was perfect for us and well stocked (mini-bar, amenities). The staff was friendly and professional and BLT was a great place to have lunch. Excellent wines at the bar and very homey kind of atmosphere. I would stay here again for the location, the staff, the room and the food. The pool looked nice also though the weather was not cooperating for us to try it. Overall, great place.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has much of a view so ask for something toward the back and quiet if you do not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manymiles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing