We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Impressive and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressive and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have stayed in many of the haunts in SB over the years: The Setai, the Delano, The Fountableu, etc. This is by far my favorite . The rooms are modern/classical meaning not the disco-romping, thumpy-bumpy crazy over-the-top you get at many other SB hotels. If you want to stay near the action but not be up all night hearing it, this is the hotel to consider. I saw many folks with children, and many that looked young and newly married. The rooms are beautiful, white decor with lime green accents. We had a suite which was perfect for us and well stocked (mini-bar, amenities). The staff was friendly and professional and BLT was a great place to have lunch. Excellent wines at the bar and very homey kind of atmosphere. I would stay here again for the location, the staff, the room and the food. The pool looked nice also though the weather was not cooperating for us to try it. Overall, great place.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has much of a view so ask for something toward the back and quiet if you do not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manymiles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    427
    129
    49
    21
See reviews for
406
1,050
87
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Betsy to get some sunshine and a break for a quick get-a-way (3 days). Cute lobby, enclosed pool, clean room with great tolietries. Not too modern like other nearby hotels and smaller feel. Beach is right across the street and we spent most of our time there. Roof top terrace great to enjoy the early evening. Small work out room but good running path along the beach. We enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksailfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We (two parents and a teenager) only stayed for a one-night pre-cruise, but were very happy with The Betsy Hotel. While the room was a bit on the small side, we expected as much given the vintage of the hotel, so no grounds for disappointment. Everything was sparkling and clean and the staff was very friendly and competent. BLT steak was good and worked to accomodate our needs (exceptionally windy evening, so they moved our reservation from outside to inside with little trouble even though the restaurant was full).
The Betsy is just far enough north of the BOOMING party scene that you can enjoy a peaceful stay, yet stroll easily to the fun.
If we stay in South Beach again, we'll certainly book The Betsy again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is in a great location at the quiet end of Ocean drive but close to restaurants and shops on Collins and Lincoln.
Nice and chic decorating, very nice roof terrace for sunbathing, drinks, lunch etc and close to the beach with bed and umbrella service. It definitely has the feel of a boutique hotel.
The downsides are that the 2 rooms we had for our family were both a little small (although not a problem), and if the pool is a big deal for you then there are hotels with better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Outstanding and friendly service, impeccably clean rooms and the perfect location right on South Beach are three reasons The Betsy Hotel is my favorite on South Beach. I've stayed at the larger luxury hotels on South Beach and they have nothing on The Betsy Hotel. Everyone at The Betsy is sincerely friendly, they remember your name and are willing to do anything to make your stay exceptional. The rooms can be tiny but are beautiful, very efficient and perfectly clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Betsy exudes class from the minute you see its exterior. It sits between the louder establishments and the high rise hotels and residences. Quiet yet close enough to everything to have the night of your choosing. We had originally booked a Master King Suite which we discovered was a beautiful room with a view of an alley. Wanting a view of the ocean we switched to a much smaller room on the 3rd floor but with beautiful palm tree and beach views. If a view of the ocean is important, ask for 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive, it was worth the reduced space. The beach is a minute walk across Ocean Dr and the boardwalk. The hotel has an agreement with a vendor on the beach for chairs, umbrellas and towels. Very professional and friendly outfit. A quick shout out to Robert at the hotel who consistently pointed out the best places to shop, eat, etc. He made our trip great. The rooftop has comfortable couches, a bar and terrific vuews of the ocean Service is very quick and friendly thoughout the hotel. If you want to experience South Beach but get a good night sleep, value service and a beautiful hotel..look no further.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Ocean Drive if you want a view of the ocean (partially obstructed by palm trees)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Well this had a lot to live up to given our two previous hotels but The Betsy has a charm all of her own, and was a wonderful experience. The room was small compared to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip but in keeping with the Art Deco period. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. I had Lobster which was divine but the baked potato that was served with it was the size of a small country and the best thing I have ever tasted...go figure. I was only sorry I couldn't manage to eat it all or bring it home with me!! Great location, one of the best on Ocean Drive as its away from the noise. Big Red the in house singer was fantastic, give him a topic and he would make up a song there and then, he even made up a song for us about our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing