We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for one night at The Betsy on our driving trip around Florida. It was our first time to Miami and Miami Beach and we weren't sure what to expect. We decided to splurge on an expensive hotel (by our standards) as it was our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great position just over the road from South Beach. It was not too busy out the front of the hotel, though a few people stop to take photos of the beautiful facade. There is a roof top bar where you get great views of South Beach, as well as another 2 bars inside and a restaurant. Our room was very nice and was stocked with fantastic bathroom products. The staff are exceptional and cannot do enough for you. We were even given a lovely bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolates as an anniversary present. We ate at the BLT Steak restaurant which was expensive but delicious. A great place to stay in Miami Beach if you are prepared to pay a little more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clermont_Cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    431
    130
    50
    22
See reviews for
423
1,064
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family loved The Betsy. Far enough away from the party scene but close enough to beach, shops, and restaurants. Hotel has a unique charm, not sterile in any way. It really gives you a flavor of South Beach. Pay extra for a suite if you have more than 2 people. Staff was nice about early check in and accommodating our request for a 3rd floor room. Hotel roof was incredible-go there for sunrise and bring a camera. Our suite slept 4 comfortably. Beds and bath products are 5 star quality. We made the right decision not to pay for ocean view which is blocked by palm trees. Hotel pool just ok-water was cold but who cares when beach is across the street. Beach set up is the best with chairs and umbrella. The Betsy made our South Beach vacation a memorable three days-would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, ask for a third floor room on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hotel is so gorgeous, definitely one of the best on South Beach!! It is so classy, high-end, and the staff is outstanding. The ambiance is so wonderful, and the food at the restaurant is to die for! Really, our stay was fantastic!

The rooms are a tad small, but it's not an issue if you're only staying for a few days. The pool is located in the center of the hotel (building surrounds it) so it's in the shade for a lot of the day, so it was far too cold to go in in mid-December. However, it's right across the street from the beach, and free beach chairs/service is included with your stay, so that's outstanding. The location of the hotel cannot be beat! Walking distance from the Lincoln shopping area, which was awesome as well! Also, there's a TV in the bathroom mirror! How cool is that?!

The hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay a positive and enjoyable one, and although it's a bit pricey, it was really fantastic!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megalitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very helpfull staff, the best of my 10 days trip in Florida. Poor continental breakfast. The mojito's must be improved. Too high prices in the restaurant (sp wines).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pierre_steels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Just got back from The Betsey and I can’t wait to get back.

Staff and Service – Everyone in this hotel works to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had 100% exceptional service 100% of the time. Front desk staff even helped us check in to our flight on the way back and always remembered our names. Room service and Housekeeping were prompt and polite and fulfilled all our requests right away. e.g. I called Front Desk to ask where the ice machine was and they offered to bring ice up to my room.

Rooms – Beautiful, clean, modern and cozy. Beds were very comfortable. TV in the bathroom mirror….Hello! Lots of clean towels, and luxurious bathrobes. I fell in love with the room as soon as I opened the door.

Roof top patio – Really cute, has a cool laid back bohemian theme and is just beautiful. Very cool background music. Amazing view of the ocean. Great little nooks and set up. You can have drinks up there, order food, chill out, and there are sunbathing loungers as well.

Pool – Located in a little secluded courtyard with a very zen like feel. A hidden gem.

Beach – When you stay at the Betsy you have a special setup at the beach as well. It’s all included. Beach lounge chairs and towels.

BLT Restaurant - AMAZING. We had the weekend brunch there…delicious. We also had dinner there one night. This place is renowned in Miami for their steaks.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a nice quiet and serene view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ChillPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed for two nights at The Betsy before going on a cruise. I was a little apprehensive about staying on South Beach as I remembered from previous trips that it could be a little too lively for my taste. The Betsy, however, turned out to be a a perfect sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive.

Set at the end of Ocean it turned out to be a perfect place to stay. So tranquil and calm you had to remind yourself that only moments away the SoBe party was in full swing. To be able to dip out of the full on noise of the bars and restaurants and retreat to such a relaxing haven such a short distance away was perfect.

The room was probably not as big as I had hoped for but was tastefully decorated and very clean. BLT is not to be missed, the photography on display throughout the hotel is fabulous and the views from the rooftop garden were spectacular.

Turning to the staff, I really don't recognise the negative comments from other contributors. My experience of them was first rate, particularly the front desk staff who couldn't do enough to help. This was further enhanced when returning from the cruise to pick up something I had left in the room they offered to look after our luggage for the day while we waited for an evening flight.

All in all I would happily recommend the Betsy to anybody wanting to stay in the South Beach area and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, General Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind words in your review. It always means a lot to us when our Guests appreciate the details - the artwork, the serene surroundings...and of course, our staff, of whom I am very proud. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Jeff Lehman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I traveled to South Beach in May 2011 to celebrate her birthday, and had a wonderful stay at The Betsy. The room was small, but wonderfully furnished, and the bed was as comfortable as you could ever hope for. Having a television literally in the mirror in the bathroom was quite a unique touch! We spent 3 nights there, and attended a Miami Heat playoff game, and the concierge (don't remember his name) was wonderful in directing us to places following the game that were more subtle and laid back, as opposed to the loud clubs available along the strip.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the sidewalk outside the hotel, with absolutely beautiful views of the beach and ocean. We even meeting a few celebrities walking down the sidewalk past the hotel which only added to our total experience.

On her birthday we did a couples massage at the rooftop spa, and again enjoyed beautiful views and wonderful service from the staff. Our stay was perfect for what we were looking for, and we are excited about returning again next spring for another getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TSKMKN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,987 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing