We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the hotel and we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Betsy - South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Betsy - South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We love the hotel and we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel was very nice, the staff was very kind,efficient, the room had a perfect size for a couple, very clean and confortable.I realy enjoied it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lelempz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    427
    129
    50
    21
See reviews for
406
1,052
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We just completed a 3 night stay at The Betsy and fell in love with Miami Beach and The Betsy Hotel. Everything about The Betsy was exceptional!! It is in a perfect location to enjoy the vibe of South Beach - but just step inside or on the rooftop patio or porches to relax and enjoy the great ambience created with the art deco renovations. The entire staff was ever attentive and friendly- a special nod to Anthony on wait staff, Robert and Jonathan- bell hops who were always friendly and attentive and Ryan our afternoon bartender who greeted us every day when we returned. Can't say enough good things about our stay at The Betsy! We can't wait to return

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LDP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Betsy is a boutique hotel, sporting beautiful wooden floors, white shutters and airy rooms all graced by a friendly, approachable and knowledgeable staff. Stayed here for 4 days in mid-May and am already hoping to go back soon! The BLT Steakhouse is a must-visit for dinner - the steaks are perfectly done (don't be fooled by the charring on the outside - it seals all the flavour in) and their sides are delicious and not your standard-issue steakhouse extras (think jalapeno mashed potatoes, BBQ corn). We got upgraded to a suite (thanks again, Kayla) and the stay only improved from then, with Robert not only bringing up our bags, but giving us a great rundown when he learnt it was our 1st trip to South Beach. Bartenders also lent to the cool vibe with great cocktails (again not standard-issue). Can't say enough as well about the location, on Ocean Drive, less than a minute's walk from the beach, great restaurants, bars, shopping on Lincoln Road, but still affords a relaxing ambiance from the time you hit the pavement outside the hotel. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: It pays to just be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NadzReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights for a girl's wknd.

Lobby area is gorgeous!

Drinks are very pricey... $15 on avg but that's standard for South Beach.

Rooms are small.

Rooftop is cute - wld be even better if there was a pool at the rooftop.

Pool in courtyard gets no use really since there is no sun.

Beach access is fabulous! Beach chairs and an umbrella each day incl per the resort fee.

Location is at the very beginning of Ocean which I loved because it was quiet and away fr all of the noisy action further down ocean.

BLT which is located in the hotel serves great lunch. I highly recommend the lobster Cobb style salad! Pay attention to your checks as the gratuity is often automatically added in.

Overall a great experience...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skybrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at The Betsy. We are a couple in our 40's and we found The Betsy to be almost perfect.....the rooms are beautiful, we had the master suite with a separate living room which we found nice and roomy. The decor was lovely as was the pool and roof top patio. Food at The Betsy is fabulous - Asian salad was to die for. As other's have noted the garbage truck's are a real issue - we had room 314 - and every morning, Saturday and Sunday included, the trucks arrived right under our window at 7:30 am. Yes it woke us up, and the first morning the trucked idled for an hour!!!!!
We are lazy in that we didn't asked to be moved, but the last day I asked the front desk about it ( the noise) and they are very aware of the issue, but there is little they can do about it. The quiet rooms, I'm am told, were the ones facing the pool.
Overall, I loved The Betsy, I wish it was in a quieter area, but it has so much going for it. We almost booked Setai, however we were happy with the location of The Betsy, the food, and the staff. Everyone was so nice. A big shout out to Robert and Joe and the front desk people......very welcoming. I would just warn anyone who needs to sleep on a vacation to be aware of the noise issue ....booked carefully.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBetsyHotel, Manager at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you for recently staying at the Betsy. We sincerely welcome authentic feedback such as yours, especially your comments about your roomy master suite, our popular Asian salad and the attentive service of Robert & Joe. We are committed to the peaceful comfort of our guests and regret the garbage trucks lessened your experience to an almost perfect stay. We are working closely with local delivery companies and others services, in addition to future window enhancements to prevent the type of disturbances you noted. I welcome you to contact me directly for your future bookings or arrangements. Warm Regards, Ed Ponder, Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've only visited Miami once but the Betsy set the bar pretty high for any future visits. The property is beautiful and fully takes advantage of the real estate that it has (as most hotels in Miami Beach, specifically South Beach along Ocean View Drive have relatively smaller spaces compared to mega resorts found elsewhere). Service was incredible, from doormen (including the super gracious and helpful Robert, who is mentioned in other reviews on TA) to front desk (bumped us from tiny pool-side Classic room to corner Royal suite) to management (Ed - very friendly guy who took the time to meet us and offer us breakfast "on the house" on our last day of stay). Room and decor was clean and very well done - you will not be disappointed with the huge marble bathroom, the electronic mirror w/ embedded TV, walk-in closet, dark hardwood floors, ultra-comfortable king-size bed, and more . Rooftop lounge/bar offers a refreshing oasis to relax and have a drink above the noise and bustle that comes with Ocean View Drive each night. Fitness center (really, a room but comfortable to be in with one or two other guests) features modern equipment that I actually haven't found in other more-contemporary properties. BLT Steak is comparatively-priced and while we didn't eat dinner there, I'm sure it's well worth it (and provides great people-watching). If you go, don't forget to take advantage of the partnership with Boucher Brothers on the beach which provides beach chairs and umbrella, which are a must if you're going to spend any time out there! My wife has previously stayed at the Loewe's up the street and was blown away by the Betsy. Definitely would recommend to anyone else, and will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I must admit, we did not STAY here. What I mean is, we were in Miami and YES we were IN The Betsy Hotel and walked the beach there, but we didn't rest our heads in a room. We specifically went in to meet ROBERT the DOORMAN, whom we had read all about on tripadvisor. I swear!

He was ALL that you could imagine. Charming, delightful, informational and more importantly took time out to give us some brief history on the hotel AND gave us a tour... including the roof deck where he snapped our photo even!

I would stay there just to see his smiling face!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank cathuyenoyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Betsy - South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Betsy - South Beach

Property: The Betsy - South Beach
Address: 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Betsy - South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Betsy - South Beach is an elegant, beach-side haven located in the heart of South Beach. Its relaxed tropical interiors create an aura that is passionately low-key, cocooning its guests in timeless luxury and service, while offering exquisite amenities, world-class cuisine by celebrated Chef Laurent Tourondel, and a unique presence for art and culture that invites travelers to relax, refresh and renew. The Betsy's Ocean Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments and sunrise yoga. Other amenities include private beach service, a 24-hour fitness center, and an intimate courtyard pool. Guests can also enjoy live jazz music and signature cocktails in our lobby bar. While located in the heart of the Art Deco District on famed Ocean Drive, The Betsy is within walking distance to shopping and nightlife, yet offers a uniquely serene experience in one of the world's great beach destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Betsy - South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing