We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quieter alternative to livelier Espanola Way restaurants”
Review of A La Folie

A La Folie
Order Online
Ranked #169 of 1,302 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We found this restaurant by chance after passing the main Espanola Way restaurants as they were busy and loud. While most of the tables were occupied here, it was much more tranquil and we were able to sit at a table outside the front.

The menu had a good choice at reasonable prices. We chose Croque Monsieur and quiche. Service was friendly and quick and I checked with the waiter & they were indeed French (and not French-speaking Canadians).

The food arrived quite quickly and was presented nicely, however, I think the quiche was a better choice. Having Croque Monsieur in a baguette is not something we are used to at home and it wasn't as tasty as we had expected; it was a bit bland whereas the quiche was very good. Both were served with a salad garnish.

Inside it was very shabby-chic with old French ornaments, magazine and photos. Not something I had expected to find in South Beach.

We had an enjoyable lunch even if the food wasn't 100% successful and were pleased to have tried it out.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

They have several Parisian bistro dishes and do them well. Service is good and friendly. Serving size is generous. I am fond of charcuterie which is difficult to find in the US. They call their version Plateau Royal. I had the “small” size and it is enough for two or three. It consisted of a large slice of pate, several different thinly sliced cured meats, several thinly sliced cheeses plus some brie, cornichons, all on a bed of salad greens accompanied by a basket of banguette. I managed to finish. The house White was good and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Bluedevil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Excellent place for having fresh and tasty breakfast.lot of options to choose from and friendly staff.strong recomendation if you want something unique

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JohannaM2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

We have eaten here during our winter stays for years. It has always been a nice little spot, albeit a bit shabby inside. We were pleased to see that they have cleaned up the exterior alley dining area - very nice. Slightly new name but the very good food is now - questionable?

Now to the two menu items that have always brought us back. Onion soup and the Croque Madame sandwich. They have made an obvious and terrible change in the onion soup - perhaps a matter of taste. But, if you don't like your onion soup 'extra sweet', don't order it here. Not sure what or how much wine or the type that they added but the flavor was sickening.

Now, to my favorite all over the world - even in the U.S. The classic Croque Monsieur or Madame sandwich. It's almost impossible to make it bad unless you burn it or under cook it. A La Folie has managed to turn out a flavorless mess that they call a Croque. It was one slice of ham - folded over - on a rubbery French or Cuban bread with some cheese drizzled on it. I had to ask for a steak knife to cut it. Microwaved, not grilled, no flavorful dressing coated on properly sliced sandwich bread. It amounted to a chewy very skimpy submarine/hoagie sandwich, heated with some cheese dribbled on it with one slice of ham. I advised the waiter that it should be taken off the menu or NOT referred to as a Croque, anything.

Also not sure what year the Beaujolais was but it wasn't 2018 - it was approaching vinegar.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a relaxing breakfast w a savory crepe and coffee. Beautiful location and hard working staff. If you want fast food - go elsewhere. Good food and atmosphere.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Happy_Flier_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A La Folie also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to A La Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing