We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Bistro”
Review of A La Folie

A La Folie
Ranked #10 of 56 Dessert in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great French Bistro”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided to play tourist today and walked around South Beach. Walking on Espanola Way we came across this little bistro and decided to have lunch. Best French onion soup we ever had. The salads were excellent as well. Little gem away from the tourist traps. Will definitely return when in the area!




Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiemay4607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    125
    27
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant of the Trip”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This restaurant was excellent. Tucked away at the end of espanola way, it was a great romantic atmosphere. I used to live in Paris and the food and atmosphere were very authentic. I had to talk my fiance out of going there every night for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Value for Breakfast, Lackluster Service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The French breakfast items at a La Folie Cafe are delicious and a good value for South Beach. Crepes were thin and delicate, chocolate croissant was fluffy. But service was very lackluster, we had to get the waitress' attention every time for some small thing. It might as well be self service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I went to in Miami Beach”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just amazing great food!
The food is just delicious with some great french plates. Owner is a real nice person. If you look for a good restaurant at a reasonnable place, go there. Don't miss the ''creme brûlée'' dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
“Favorite Restaurant in South Beach”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is wonderful! Run by French ex-pats with close ties to the French Embassy, the cafe like atmosphere is good for anything from a light (or full) breakfast, coffee and a house pastry - to a house roast beef sandwich (awesome) or crepe. At night the atmosphere is wonderful.

The prices are what they are (honestly not that bad) and the food is always amazing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A La Folie also viewed

 

Been to A La Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing