We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet and Beautiful Hotel with the most beautiful views of the sunset!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and Beautiful Hotel with the most beautiful views of the sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

One of my favorite hotels that I stayed in so far!

The hotel design is very art deco and modern, clean white design with black accents and interesting artworks both through the hotel as well as in the rooms! The service was impeccable from the minute we stepped out of the taxi to the last point when we checked out. The room was beautifully designed, specious and comfortable, with a low bed, cool overlay yellow wall mirrors and cute dining table and kitchenette. The shower had a chandelier as the shower head with an interesting large sink design and full floor to ceiling mirror inside the glass shower. I normally use my own toiletries but have to say that I tried the Mondrian toiletries and loved them! The only one little negative thing about the room was the air conditioner, which was housed in a small closet but was somewhat loud, so we would turn it off during the night.

The breakfast was really good, with a small but diverse menu. There was a-la-carte as well as a buffet option with a patio overlooking the pool and the bay. I had the lemon tart pancakes, which were to die for!

The bar inside serves mean Martinis (passion fruit martini was AMAZING) and also has gorgeous views of the pool and the bay, where you can watch the sunset.

The # 1 thing to do at the Mondrian (the hotel is known for it) is to watch the sunset at around 7pm onwards by the pool ... the view is one of the most beautiful views that I have ever seen! (see pictures). One note to that is the hotel does not have beach access but it is about 10-15 min. walk to the beach.

Finally, on Sundays, the Mondrian pool party is REALLY happening!!! The DJ was really good, the bar has great drinks and the atmosphere is fashionable but laid back, loved it!!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again in heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bay view... most amazing sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Evgenia,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know we rank among your favorite hotels, thanks in part to our setting, design, and service. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    705
    256
    111
    81
See reviews for
374
1,185
157
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3nights on the second leg of our American honeymoon and we wish we hadn't bothered. We seldom give poor reviews of places we've stayed in the states but we can safely say that we will not be returning to the Mondrian. We certainly do not expect any star treatment but considering this was our honeymoon and that the hotel knew this at least 9months prior to arrival, the staff did nothing to make us feel that this trip was a special one. We were situated in a room that didn't have a pool or Biscayne bay view but one of the car park and external sitting area which was regularly used as the communal smoking ground for staff and guests. The website claims luxury but this is far from it, the rooms are clean but are not wow, the staff service is slow and in our experience, non responsive on several occasions. The location is good but we'd certainly stay closer to the beach when we return. This stay was one we looked forward to for sometime and once it arrived, it was a complete let down. Real shame I'm sorry to say

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Danny,

Thank you for your visit. We are sorry to have not met your expectations. Without knowing more details of your visit I can only speculate we were in a sold out situation which is why we weren't able to upgrade your room to a better view as we love to wow our special guests with extras. We are sorry to know you won't be returning. We would love another chance to show you what so many of our reviewers have experienced which is indeed friendly and attentive service in a gracious manner.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I had an amazing experience checking-in to the Mondrian. I had been traveling all day and was exhausted. I assumed I would have to wait in a line to check-in and that the process would not be speedy. I was very wrong! I was greeted by an amazing guest service coordinator named Ariel Jaramillo. She was so nice, efficient and fast at getting my room sorted. She told me about all the hotel amenities and answered all the questions that I had. Thanks to Ariel, my stay was off to a great start.

The decor of the hotel is breathtaking. The design of the pool is very pretty and makes you feel like you are in Europe, not Miami. The rooms are also outstanding. They are spotless, decorated to the nines and VERY big.

I cant recommend this hotel enough!

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Candice,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Ariel is indeed a rock star when it comes to service. We are fortunate to have her on board. She is but one of a team who are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive, and gracious manner. We hope to be your "go to" hotel in Miami and welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I love this hotel, I have stayed here 3 times already, I feel like family now, about 4 workers knows my name, as soon they see me,.. they yell out - Hey Mr..so so.. great feeling, the hotel is little pricey, but very nice

Room Tip: Very nice pool, or walk to the beach/taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 654Edward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you for your recent and repeated visits to Mondrian. We, too, are glad you are part of our family. We always enjoy welcoming guests back and calling them by name. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

When we arrived we were taken aback by the whole look of this place. It looks amazing. The rooms were so quirky and unique but that was all it was! An image! The hotel lacks soul and was pretentious. As a couple; a normal, average couple, we felt completely out of it. Everyone looks pretty (well most... some just think they do!) and the whole stay left us feeling really unwelcome. When looking closely; the rooms are not clean, attention to detail with regards to cleanliness is poor. Service not great; we had towels put in our rooms that were torn and frayed and we had to leave a note as after two days of no toilet roll and surviving on face tissues it didnt look like we were going to get any! The location is not the greatest, although the hotel overlooks the water, the main action of south beach is a 20-25 minute walk away. It is walkable but in temperatures of 34 degrees +, its not ideal. The biggest downer of this place is the cost of certain things. On arrival, you are informed that parking is $38 a night!!! Yes! $38 dollars! The reception then automatically authorise your credit card for $150 dollars a day... for what? The biggest insult is the pile of junk stored in the rooms which is purchasable. Not only an overpriced fridge of items to buy, there is 'stuff' that you might need - at crazy prices. $60 for a set of male grooming lotions! Hmmm! To top if off.... you pay for wifi! $15 a night!
Such a disappointment. We spent the whole time not wanting to touch anything just incase we were charged for it. We didnt even use the shower gel just in case we d get it on the bill at the end of the stay.

This place has the potential to be amazing. But it has spent more time on what it looks like and not enough time on what it feels like to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulEssex1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectaions. While we would like to reassure you that our pricing is in line with other hotels in South Beach, we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced with Housekeeping. As your experience is atypical and not indicative of our high standards, these issues have been addressed vehemently by our Hotel Manager. We do hope you will join us again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night here on a stop over, staff were great and very accommodating looking after my bags while I enjoyed the pool even though I had checked out. Great In room HD tv service plus have me an upgrade on my room. Hopefully the Mondrain London can live up to this. Well I can bet it won't beat the weather!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gregg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Gregg,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your review. We are happy you found our staff to be so accommodating and are glad you were able to fully enjoy our amenities. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We really love this hotel. The pool scene is great, esp. the music, people, service etc. We basically hang out at the pool most of the time. Music was not too loud there. People who stay in this hotel is also not some non-sense college kids. It's a mixed crowd with family, couples and friends. The hotel is really pretty. However, we are not a fan of that icon girl they put up on the wall in every room of the hotel. Also I think the price of the restaurant is a little overpriced. Maybe that's why it's empty most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ighk0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our vibe and service. We hope you will join us again when you are next in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Standard, Miami
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,987 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing