We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What's not to like about this hotel...we stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon, came via New York and this was a stop off before cruising. excellent service especially David who works at the pool, staff very attentive. The hotel itself is fantastic, we'll decorated to an extremely high standard and rooms massive. views from the pool are best ever, prob the nicest hotel I have stayed in...couldn't fault it :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljfriel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your stay and for this kind review. We are delighted that David and our staff helped to make your honeymoon special and memorable. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,655)
There are newer reviews for Mondrian South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,007 - 2,013 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved our stay at the Mondrian. When we booked we were aware that it was not on the same side as the beach but it was only a 10 minute walk through safe streets.

Our room was amazing, very spacious and the bed was the comfiest bed I've ever slept on, we still talk about it! On arrival we upgraded to a sea view room, after reading many reviews on here. We were told by Ariel at the from desk that she could do that for us for '100 bucks', we were staying for 4 nights and thought '$25 extra night, thats pretty good!'. I don't know if i was being extremely naive thinking this but the way it had been worded led us to believe that we would be charged $100 extra. When we left we were charged...yep, you guessed it, an extra $400!! We were leaving (in a rush) very early in the morning so did not check our bill and the money was taken straight off of the credit card we had left on checking in. We later emailed the hotel explaining what had happened, only to never receive an email back!

The views over the water to downtown Miami are amazing, everything is spotless and staff were always lovely.

Apart from that misunderstanding I have to say we had the best time in Miami, and chilling out at the amazing pool at the Mondrian made it even better. Watch out though, you can't even take your own towel down to the pool, someone has to do that for you...and yes, they do want a tip for it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely but not worth an extra $100 a night. Not a real 'sea' view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Danielle,

Thank you for your recent visit. We are glad you had the best time with us. We apologize for the misunderstanding with your room. We have coached our Front Desk Agents to be clearer about the charge for upgrading rooms. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

THis is a beautiful hotel facing the bay but only a 7 block walk to the beach. The hotel is very modern and trendy and every room has a gorgeous view of either the Bay and downtown Miami or Miami Beach and the ocean. It has a beautiful pool right on the bay that really becomes a scene in the afternoon. Not too crowded but a lot of young people having a good time. I did not find it bothersome as it does in some hotels along the ocean. THe hotel staff is wonderful and can't do enough to help. I know some will hate that it is not on the ocean but I found this a real plus. The ocean area is so congested and noisy all afternoon and evening and this hotel was still beautiful but much calmer. I would not want to be anywhere near the south beach ocean if you want some peace. The ocean is close enough to walk to and the hotel is a nice respite just a little way away. Happy hour is a bargain. The food is expensive and the portions were small but very tasty.

Room Tip: facing the bay is beautiful but probably more expensive. I loved the ocean view from the other side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we are glad you enjoyed our setting and the amazing views our location affords, we are most pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

just like most Miami hotel this is a very trendy hotel. We love the room that it was huge!!!! everything is so clean and cool that you just don't want to ever leaver the hotel. in the morning we went down to the great breakfast, then we went to the pool that has great views as well as cool cabanas. At night we wanted to go out but in the hotel they also had night ;life that cool with DJ and cool drinks. I love this hotel is in my top 2 of Miami. love it!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martikalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for this kind recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed our room product, style and service and are delighted to know we are one of your choice hotels in Miami. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staff was super, especially Samir at the bar and Tony at the front door. Happy hour is quite good. We are an older couple so not a fan of the Saturday and Sunday deejay and very loud music. The suite was large and comfortable. I miss that balcony with the bay and city view. Had a wonderful stay. We really enjoyed the unique style.

Room Tip: Pay for the bay view and a higher floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed our style and location, but are most pleased that you found our staff to be on point. Our General Manager has passed along your kudos. We would love to see you again the next time you are in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Mondrian has great modern style, especially in the rooms and the lobby. The pool area is also very nice, in the evenings you can enjoy great city views and have a coctail. Service on the daytime was good at the pool but we experienced also lack of service at the lobby bar. We tried breakfast once but found it overpriced compared to what we got - some slices of melon, pineapple and apple plus minicroissants, if you want to have something warm you need to order it from the a la carte with quite high prices. So compared to many other hotels with similar rating the breakfast was big disappointment. Otherwise Mondrian succeeded to create nice urban feeling with the dash of luxury. Will propably come back again at some point.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JuhaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed our design and location. We are sorry you did not care for our breakfast offerings. We do look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Mondarian South Beach Hotel between 11 th until 18 th of March. We did rezervation and paid from internet so we couldnt cancel it. As it was paid, we stayed. Expensive hotel, but I couldn get service for the price. The day that I left they told me I had to pay 150 usd more because I stayed room with view last night, but I stayed on same room from the first day, why they tried to take extra charge? Never mind, they didnt get it but it disturbed me.
I didnt feel like I was at home, or at nice hotel. The man in charge in reseption was rude and he doesnt smile at all. Others who work in the reception was friendly and they were smiling. Pool has a poor service for hotel guests, because they get guest from the outside too, so they know them, outside guests has priority. Maybe outside guest has to pay fee, I dont know. Internet is 15 usd, connection is poor.

Dont go this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Hakan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Hakan,

Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry to have fallen short of your expectations, Your experience is atypical as most find our service and room product to be outstanding.

Best regards,

Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
SLS South Beach
#40 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,172 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,176 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $178 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing