We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Modrian hotel south beach Miami

Bathrobes missing for a few days
Coffees for the espresso machine missing
Bedsheets were not changed
Room not as booked with bayview the first day next day corrected
Breakfast included in the booking next day corrected
Garbage drawer not operating
TV in the bedroom not operating with remote control
Missing notice paper and pencil

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Dimitrios,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations initially but hope that our Front Desk Manager was able to turn your experience around as your initial experience fell below our standards. These shortcomings have been addressed vehemently.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    800
    291
    139
    110
See reviews for
455
1,357
205
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staff was very attentive, especially Chantel and Dave at the pool. Chantel would bring us a bloody mary as soon as we got there, and Dave always asked you if everything was ok and helped moving the chairs. Food at the pool was great and so were the drinks. We are older so we had no problem being away from the kids. We took a cab there for dinners and were happy to come back to our large one bedroom. We also rented from a manager. We had a city view but it also had a view of the ocean and a little of the bay and beautiful sunshine every morning which the pool didn't get until around 12. If you are young, there is no action at the hotel bars at night, completely dead. We found Cara Mia and Oliver's restaurant within a block and they were great! Rosa the concierge was also helpful. I didn't find any problem with the décor. We had maid service arranged by the manager. Supplies were provided along with paper towels, sugar, salt and pepper, etc. We had a fabulous time while we were there.

Room Tip: high floor. we had 1101 near end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Judi,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know our staff provided you with attentive service. Dave and Chantel are two of our stars indeed and exemplify the level of service we provide here at Mondrian. We hope you will join us again soon and invite you to check our website for competitive rates and package deals.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the 'managed apartments' of the hotel - these are in the same building, but are managed by a separate company. You get access to all the hotel facilities. The apartments have a kitchenette (well equiped with dishwasher, coffee maker etc etc). The balcony is very nice with great views and plenty of space to have a pre dinner drink. Rooms are spacious. We had a bedroom and a living room with a sofa bed (stayed 3 in one room).
Only downside is the beach is a 15 min walk, and any night time action is a taxi ride away (5-10 mins). Not a dealbreaker though, and I guess you have the benefit of some piece and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We hope next time you will book through the hotel and stay in the hotel unit for a true Mondrian Experience.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
566 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location:  on South Beach but at the opposite of ocean drive. A + or a - ? It depends: it s more a residential area : + quiet, - animation . Useful shops are available around ( drink, food...). The parking is really difficult ( residential lot), a small public parking is located  not too far. The consequence: the rates for the valet. Ocean drive is easy to reach by feet ( 10-20 min walk. You have to go thru the historical art deco area, nice....really nice walk, bring your camera). For Lincoln road say too (10 - 15 min walk). Of course after a " typical party in ocean drive or Washington avenue" it will be maybe difficult to find your way back or to find the physical capacities to do it ....about the safety to walk in the historical art deco area at dark...I don t know...cab exist. 
Hotel: Outside architecture: not nice. Certainly a massive construction mid 70 or 80 and the neighborhood are the same.
Inside: you are definitely in a morgan hotel: impressive, modern. Everything is black or white with a few touches of orange. The emblematic staircase ( cf website) is not really impressive but in the common area, it s maybe the alone restricted point. The swimming pool is large. The view on the channel is wonderful and the sunset view are gorgeous.
The room: we opted for a city view suite. Large.....a nice and tastefully decorated . bath- and bedroom, non obstructed view, nice. For the "kitchen and sitting area", definitely too minimalist: the sofa seems to be lost in a large area.  You have a strange feeling: the furniture are missing, nothing on the large white wall: it s like enter in a new home not totally ready. The wall " blue and white " carrelage ( imitation of something from Nederlands)  is really a fault.
Anyway: you have convenient space. Clean....
The personal is efficient and attentive

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for this kind review and your recent visit. We are most delighted you found our staff to be personal and attentive and hope you will join us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powell
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location isn't perfect, but a quick$5.00 cab ride will get you almost anywhere you need to go on South Beach. If you want to be away from the busy areas on South Beach and just enjoy some quiet pool time with great views of Miami and Biscayne Bay- this place is great.
Everyone working at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. Checkin was quick and easy- although when I asked for a room with a balcony, I was told "no" without any explanation or an offer to buy an upgraded room. Oh well. The lobby is very cool with great views out the back to the great pool area and the bay.
The room was huge, with a kitchenette area and a great bed. The painted face on the walls is a little weird, but didn't bother me. I had a 14th floor room- nice view towards South Beach.
The workout room is pretty nice- great views over looking the pool area.
The pool bar is very expensive, but really nice with great scenery. Bartender was very nice, gave us a recomendation to a fabulous Italian restaurant- Macaluso's. Very expensive for Italian, but worth it!
I did have an issue with the maid service- they were called to clean up after some kids had broken something in the room across from me at 10pm- she wasn't happy and kept slamming the doors while she cleaned.
Also, my shower- which was really cool- needed some repairs to the tiles.

Room Tip: Higher is better, balcony facing the bay is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global5000pilotohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for this review. We are delighted you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and are glad you enjoyed our location on West Avenue. We apologize for the issue with the tile in your shower and have sent an engineer to the room to repair it.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Can't even begin to tell you about our amazing stay here! As soon as we walked in we were greeted and they upgraded us to a suite complimentary! Hotel has a very Alice in Wonderland theme to it. With these big doors, and the table, its very whimsical! Service was great, and the hotel is clean. Only thing I was disappointed was with was the location. Its a little too out of the way for me from ocean drive. Other then that, WOW!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kmbxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and this review. We are happy to know we wow'ed you with our service and design and hope you didn't mind the short cab ride to Ocean Drive too much. Please come join us again soon, we'd love to have you back and wow you some more.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Whether you are a First timer to Miami, couple escaping reality, miami veteran who loves the calm and quiet side of south beach, or flying solo and just need to unwind- this place is it.

this place OOZES sex appeal, from the minute you pull up, thru check in-led up to the room-over to the pool, into the night for dinner at the restaurant, or the bar for drinks; this place feels like a dream.

think old hollywood meets trendy chic boutique property equals thee most quiet, tranquil sexy trip you will ever have.

Rooms are Super clean, tons of space, great views(bayside)
Great layout of pool with cabanas and service-very relaxing, quiet.

The service here is INCREDIBLE! Everyone is very helpful, knowledgable of the area,
this staff is oustanding- i feel terrible i cannot remember their names but
gorgeous young girl at Check in
tall, muscles pool concierge who is the definition of above and beyond(thanks for the area hookups, and sunscreen.-we'll tell sabrina you say hi :) )
2 sweet bell door guys
Rosa at concierge and
Special thanks to nancy and jose for making our trip unbelievable.

Enjoy miami at the mondrian-you'll be glad you booked it

Room Tip: taxi ride away from lincoln road and collins ave far from the beach bayside access for jetskiing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Pamela,

Thank you so much for this kind review and for your recent visit. We are delighted our staff made such a favorable impression. As I've said before, we are all committed to creating a unique guest experience and we are happy you found this to be the case. Your visit exemplifies the Mondrian Experience and we can't wait for you to come back for more of the same.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,871 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,350 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,753 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing