We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stylish, bay-side, happening hotel with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, bay-side, happening hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located on bay side of SOBE which I really liked but you need to know it's not on the ocean side if you're after the beach. But less noisy and crowded because of that and I really like the bay views. You can get a cab to the beach or there is a "Deco-bike" rental station just across the road where you can rent a bike very cheaply. Great to have a Starbucks on the corner and even better an amazing Wholefoods across the block with prepared foods etc. Foyer is amazing, very stylish. The rooms have a very useful small kitchen with minimal but adequate equipment so you can easily eat-in. Even a little dining table. Also a few restaurants within easy walking distance. Very, very sexy, romantic vibe in the pool area (piped music does get a bit irritating by the end of the day). Busy, full of beautiful people. Not sure if this is unique to this hotel, or its a SOBE thing. Saw the occasional child but very few. This is NOT a family hotel. Nothing for kids and really not suitable. David the pool concierge very gracious and helpful. May have to wait for a lounger. Much of pool area taken up with cabanas, sofas, kissing corners etc. Room is modern, stylish, minimalist. Very small closet; no drawers for clothes. It is not sumptuous. Bed not particularly comfortable but not awful. Loved the sink in the bathroom (a big trough); shower was OK but leaked terribly. Shower had full-length mirror which was very damaged by water. Luckily it steams up quickly!! Lighting in bathroom was poor. Lighting in corridors is like a night-club - so dark you couldn't see to put your key card into your door - had to feel your way!! Gym was well-equipped, clean and looked out over pool and bay. Bay views from rooms are lovely. Ask for higher level because night noise is significant when parties are held outside. Overnight parking was extortionate ($37) as was internet fee ($15) - internet should really be free in a hip, trendy place like this. Ate pool-side and room service and found quality was good. Pricey as with all similar hotels. Overall - not at all a cosy, friendly place - more a stylish, unique, trendy sort of fashion statement, well-located with great views. Perfect for romance.

Room Tip: Must have a bay-view. Balconies are nice to have. Higher level may help with late-night noise from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msumeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed our bayside location with the amazing views offered as well as our neighborhood. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower--this issue has already been addressed by our Engineers. It seems as if you enjoyed your pool experience; we feel that we offer the best Sunset specials on the beach. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    720
    262
    116
    84
See reviews for
390
1,227
178
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jmcd31
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by the travel agent and it was a good recommendation. The hotel itself is great - very unique in it's decor and atmosphere. We had a standard room but it was more than big enough - a nice touch was the mexican tiling in the kitchen. The pool area is great too - very funky with great views out to Miami downtown.

The only slight faults were the lifts - they were a bit busy at times, with some not working, or taking a while to arrive. And the doors leading into the rooms were not the best at keeping noise out of the room. However, it was only noisy a couple of times and did not impact our overall stay at all.

If you are looking for a different hotel than the bog standard chains, go here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and kind review. We're delighted that your expectations were exceeded, thanks to our spacious rooms and iconic design. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our elevators but are happy to report all are functioning properly now. We hope you will join us again soon for another unique experience.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

First resort I've stayed in and many more to come. It was truly enchanting and very modern! so be warned! You drive up and see the beautiful amazing chandlers! You walk in and you see a black modern stair case and modern art and white. a LOT of white. Which worked for it! The rooms were awesome, more of a party room. Not really for a relaxing comfort as my husband put it. The beds were okay, but its not really meant to relax in I guess? The pool was spectacular!!! the Bar was awesome too, we both got drinks. And our two drinks cost 40 dollars!! It was just a strawberry dacery and moijto. Which my drink was the best I've ever had, but even for a resort.... that's really spendy!!! Over all the experience was really cool and I'll have it in my memories forever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you, Beth. We loved having you and hope you will join us again soon more more fun.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip in Florida, which by the way was way above our expectations.
The rooms are large and very original, the whole hotel is actually an experience, quite unusual compared to the other hiltons / mariotts out there. Very refreshing.
The view was grandiose, perfect to watch the sunset (make sure you get a mojito to enjoy that to the fullest). Ask for a higher floor as well.
Gym is perfect, clean with a beautiful view over the bay.
Pool is not really a place to swim, but more a place to have drinks, see and be seen. Gotta be sure to wear a decent bathing suite though ... competition is tough out there. service at the pool is great (towels, umbrella, food, etc)
Finally breakfast was excellent, highly recommend the waffles with whipped cream and berries.
conclusion, if you can afford it, definitely go there.

Regarding the comments about the location, we actually found it better than being on the ocean side, as it was quieter at night, yet you can walk to the beach (15mins to cross) or if you're really lazy, take a cab for probably less than 10$ which you should be able to afford if you're staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, sea view is worth the ask / extra. Waffles for breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank av_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed our service, design and location. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you love the perfect sunset with a nice cocktaíl at the pool or bar than I recommend Mondrian South Beach. The Service, the location, the people, the atmosphäre and much more is just outstanding. The new desgin of Wanders gave a complete new style and looks tre chic! I recommend to book a room seaside with balcony just because of the view. The Employies are very nice and helpfull as professional in service. Will come back.

Room Tip: Seaview with balcony - 10 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Engelbert,

Thank you for your recent visit and this kind review. Enjoying a cocktail from the balcony of your bay view suite: a phenomenal picture! We're delighted, too, that you enjoyed the service we provided to you. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week, just gone, and felt spoilt by our surroundings and also by the treatment by the staff. The staff make this hotel a cut above the rest in South Beach (as lets face it many hotels in SOBE are similarly luxurious) as they are all amazing at their job, and I am not easy to please! I see David, who worked by the pool, is named a lot in these reviews and I am not surprised, this man deserves a medal! He is attentive and super friendly and puts 100% into his role, an amazing asset to the company.
Enrique in Concierge is very helpful as is Ivan (I think that's his name) who works at the bar. That is to mention a few as they are all seriously great.

The inside of the hotel is impressive and we very much appreciated its theme, the little touches like custom made carpets and tiles all add to the care taken in providing a unique environment. The food, was very tasty. The drinks good. Prices consistent with South Beach prices. A good gym.

I would agree it is worth booking a balcony with a bay view as it is a very pretty view, one that we savoured. I was a bit worried about the location prior to visiting(when looking at Google maps it looks further than it seems) but no problems there it is a 5 dollar cab journey away from most places. You can also walk to, in my view, the best road in Miami, Lincoln road with the mall, etc. Its close proximity to a Starbucks and Wholefoods is another plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this stellar review and your recent visit as well. While we are glad you enjoyed our design and location on West Avenue, we are most proud of the "unbeatable" service you received from our staff. You highlighted a few of our family of passionate individuals who are dedicated to providing original guest experiences. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are staying at the Mondrian or in the area, I highly recommend the spa. Especially Roland the masseuse who has Magic hands!! His Swedish massage is amazing and one of the best ever!! The spa is clean and beautiful too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsr877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. Our spa is indeed an oasis and Roland truly is a magician. Like all of our staff, he is dedicated to providing memorable service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#10 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
The Angler's Hotel
#13 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
The Standard, Miami
#16 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing