We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“18 Days around the world follow me/ DAY 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“18 Days around the world follow me/ DAY 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you love the perfect sunset with a nice cocktaíl at the pool or bar than I recommend Mondrian South Beach. The Service, the location, the people, the atmosphäre and much more is just outstanding. The new desgin of Wanders gave a complete new style and looks tre chic! I recommend to book a room seaside with balcony just because of the view. The Employies are very nice and helpfull as professional in service. Will come back.

Room Tip: Seaview with balcony - 10 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Engelbert,

Thank you for your recent visit and this kind review. Enjoying a cocktail from the balcony of your bay view suite: a phenomenal picture! We're delighted, too, that you enjoyed the service we provided to you. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,848
    720
    262
    115
    84
See reviews for
389
1,226
177
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week, just gone, and felt spoilt by our surroundings and also by the treatment by the staff. The staff make this hotel a cut above the rest in South Beach (as lets face it many hotels in SOBE are similarly luxurious) as they are all amazing at their job, and I am not easy to please! I see David, who worked by the pool, is named a lot in these reviews and I am not surprised, this man deserves a medal! He is attentive and super friendly and puts 100% into his role, an amazing asset to the company.
Enrique in Concierge is very helpful as is Ivan (I think that's his name) who works at the bar. That is to mention a few as they are all seriously great.

The inside of the hotel is impressive and we very much appreciated its theme, the little touches like custom made carpets and tiles all add to the care taken in providing a unique environment. The food, was very tasty. The drinks good. Prices consistent with South Beach prices. A good gym.

I would agree it is worth booking a balcony with a bay view as it is a very pretty view, one that we savoured. I was a bit worried about the location prior to visiting(when looking at Google maps it looks further than it seems) but no problems there it is a 5 dollar cab journey away from most places. You can also walk to, in my view, the best road in Miami, Lincoln road with the mall, etc. Its close proximity to a Starbucks and Wholefoods is another plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this stellar review and your recent visit as well. While we are glad you enjoyed our design and location on West Avenue, we are most proud of the "unbeatable" service you received from our staff. You highlighted a few of our family of passionate individuals who are dedicated to providing original guest experiences. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are staying at the Mondrian or in the area, I highly recommend the spa. Especially Roland the masseuse who has Magic hands!! His Swedish massage is amazing and one of the best ever!! The spa is clean and beautiful too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsr877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. Our spa is indeed an oasis and Roland truly is a magician. Like all of our staff, he is dedicated to providing memorable service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Like a small apartment which is fantastic - alot of space!
Good style, comfortable beds although the main bed is a Queen rather than a king
Staff very nice
Good pool environment
Food pricey but you have facilities in your room to do your own breakfast etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. We're glad you and your family found our accomodations to be comfortable and our staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Honestly, I loved the Mondrian from top to bottom. The service was impeccable - everyone was all smiles and very helpful (the pool attendant was terrific btw). The room was very clean and we had a view of the bay with a small balcony (perfect for breakfast and happy hour). Even the food that everyone complained about was more than half decent.

A few things to note: you are on the bay side away from the hustle and bustle of prime South Beach (which was a plus in my opinion, but won't be for everyone). Just a quick walk to the major hotels/restos, etc...

Pool was lovely. Kind of chill...and easy to deal with.

Also, on the plus side, a Whole Foods and Starbucks are within walking distance.

Only really awkward moment (and reason for not giving 5 stars) came at check-in. I booked and paid for a 1 bedroom with balcony. The front desk employee gave me a key and I asked "Is this a one-bedroom?"...she said yes. The room she gave us was not a one-bedroom nor did it have a balcony. I called to fix matters and it was a little awkward, but then we were given the correct room. Not sure if it was a bait and switch, but ah well...it was bliss after that.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalaypokerplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for you recent visit to Mondrian and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation. We are pleased you enjoyed all of our outlets as well as our West Avenue neighborhood. We aplogize for the error you incurred at check in but are happy this was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. We assure you there was no "bait and switch," just a human error which has been addressed accordingly.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Mondrian for one night at the end of our holiday. The hotel is smart, modern and clean and our studio room was well equipped and impressive.

I was surprised to see the bar area pretty deserted in the evening but maybe it is busier earlier/later. Staff were consistently polite and helpful, we departed late the day after we arrived and stored luggage, used the pleasant pool area in the afternoon and showered in the spa. The rate to keep the room even for just a few hours was crazily expensive, but it was great to be able to stay around.

My husband in particular had a gripe about lack of free wi-fi. The only hotel on our 9 hotel trip to the US without it....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you. We are happy you found your room comfortable and are very proud of the fact that you found our staff to be helpful and personable. We are all dedicated to providing you with an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We are delighted you found this to be the case. We do offer complimentary WiFi in our lobby and pool areas and at a nominal charge in our rooms, the rate is on par with other hotels in South Beach.

Thank you again and we hope to welocme you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have arrived to the hotel early after our cruise around 9:30 am and frankly speaking we thought that we have chosen the wrong hotel after seeing the hotel's exterior. We were told by the receptionist who was very kind that the check-in will be at 3:00 pm. Therefore, we have left our luggages and took a walk to Lincoln Road. Upon checking in, we were surprised by the fancy suit and mostly with the view. The entire facilities were highly maintained and could not be better than that. The swimming pool was by the ocean and I can assure you that it has a high level service standards. Generally speaking, if you are looking for a high standard hotel where you can relax and spend the whole day in, then this is the right choice. Mondrian worths every singly penny.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your suite as well as the views from our bay side swimming pool. There really is no better spot in South Beach to enjoy the afternoon sun as well as stunning sunset vistas. We hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Angler's Hotel
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
The Standard, Miami
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing