We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Struggling to be cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Struggling to be cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well, let's just say it lost its glamour from their debut; still a impressive decor; not the best location but ok; friendly staff, especially concierge and restaurant servers; above the average rooms - kitchen's itens, which is a plus; definitely not a family hotel and, may I say, unexperienced manager. Overall, still a good option in Sobe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're glad you found the service from our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our room product; most find the kitchen equipped rooms to be a big plus when travelling with their familiies. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    687
    251
    107
    76
See reviews for
363
1,149
151
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel and its grounds are beautiful. It is different, with its faces on the wall and huge bell shapes, but its very nice. The pool is amazing, and the staff there are excellent, bringing juice samples and water around every so often. The temperature of the pool could have been a little warmer, however it wasn't that bad. We noticed that they had a hot tub on the grounds, but it was not being used. If they fixed it and provided the hot tub for guests, it would be great. The rooms are huge, but the pull out couch is not comfortable at all. We overheard guests talking to the front desk, and apparently they will bring mattress beds to your room if you find the couch uncomfortable, if you ask. One thing the hotel should do is check the room keys before people enter the pool to prove they are really staying there. They always have staff at the doors, so it would be easy to ask a guest to show their key before entering the pool grounds. We overheard a few people talking (these so happened to be some of the obnoxious people at the pool) and at least four people on separate occasions said to others they were not even staying at the hotel (they were renting a condo somewhere) but used the pool because it was nice. Yes, the pool is nice but should be for paying hotel guests or building residents only.

Room Tip: As for a mattress instead of the couch bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadaboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay, thanks in part to the service you received from our staff. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay but are glad to know these were minor. Yes, we have rollaway beds available upon requests.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was quite skeptical with the location as it is not close to the beach. However, that was not the reason for us coming to Miami. We wanted to relax and do some shopping for a couple days before our cruise.

This was a fantastic location as you will see many strollers around the area, the pool is magnificent and the view of the harbour is at the rear of the hotel. The bars are something you would see at a high end nightclub and the service/hospitality are second to none. I don't remember ever opening a door in the main floor. The staff knows that service is the number one priority.

The rooms are very quiet and well insulated as we have a one year old with us and he can get quite noisy. They have a microwave, fridge and mini freezer!! Very handy when travelling with an infant!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you. We're delighted to have provided you a welcome environment for your young family, thanks in part to our unparalleled service and room product. We hope you enjoy your cruise and trust you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent our last two days in Mondrian, and oh my gosh what a way to end our stay in Miami.
The hotel is amazing, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had an complimentary upgrade to a baby suite (I think it was called), and we just laughed through the first minutes walking in to our room. It is so awesome! The view, the bed, the shower, the kitchen, even the minibar is impressive.
Also, we had great service from all departments, roomservice, housekeeping, hot guys at the pool and the reception. All happy faces, great to see!!
Miss this hotel already, you rock guys! We will definentaly be back, as soon as possible.
Two thumbs up from Norway :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaLangKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much. We hope you will share with your friends in Norway what a good time you had here. It sounds like you had one of our Bay View Suites which afford incredible sunset views of Biscayne Bay and Downtown Miami. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the service offered by our friendly staff. We hope you will join us again the next time you are in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like the artsy design stuff (I found it hard to "get") then this is the place for you. I really don't care about it but do care about the pool being overtaken by a large private party on the Saturday we were there (no beach chairs for paying guests with rooms), a bathrobe with holes in the lining and a stain, holes in the sheets on my bed, no chair at the vanity in the master bedroom of the suite, obviously mismatched cushions on the back of the couch that were clearly seat cushions removed from another couch...the staff were helpful and friendly and once the pool cleared out after the Saturday thing we got chairs and enjoyed our stay. Face images noted by other guests are entirely CREEPY and really---what does that have to do with the other sort of "Alice-in-Wonderland" oversized furniture and Dutch inspired delft tiles and black, red and yellow decor? I also think that like other hotels I've booked through on-line services, we got the lowest end room of the class of room we booked...this confirmed my suspicions from rooms booked on-line in other cities--including ones in Asia.

Room Tip: If you truly want a "bay view" insist on one on that side of the building but you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. While we're glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we regret that you did not enjoy our design.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
416 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully, I didn't have to pay the bill here - the corporate rate for a small suite was $509 + tax, which is grossly over priced. A rather trendy theme of white throughout the hotel makes it a bright and light place and there are great views of the Bay of Biscayne from all rooms. Breakfast was healthy, but limited, and also an extra cost (not included in the room rate). I also didn't like how they automatically added a service charge to all bills for food and drinks - they should really let their customers decide. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The pool scene was quite funny - full of "wannabe's" and people pretending they were "somebody". Totally not cool, despite their best efforts! The location of the hotel is rather poor, with no shopping, restaurants or bars of any quality nearby. It is also a long way from the hip art-deco district of South Beach, which is where you really want to be in the Miami Beach area. I wouldn't pay out of my own pocket to stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We are very happy you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our setting. We're sorry, however, that we are not the hotel for you.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

omg one of the best hotels i've stayed. its really artsy fartsy and the pool parties are amazing. the face images are a little creepy though. good location too. walking distance to south beach =) look forward to trying the next mondrian

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you. The faces are images of our Sirens of the Sea, they are superhero girls who are there to protect you--a bit of whimsy from our designer, Marcel Wanders. We're glad you enjoyed our pool parties, vibe and location and can't wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Standard, Miami
#14 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing