We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,001 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has it all- amazing decor, huge rooms and stunning views.
Loved the 2 nights we spent here and the pool party was amazing! It's close to Lincoln Road and other attractions.
Only disappointment was the queue at check-in and the lack of staff initiative to deal with the waiting customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We indeed have a beautiful setting here on Biscayne Bay with amazing sunset views over downtown Miami. We're glad you enjoyed our Sunday pool party as well. We apologize for the delay at check in.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,227
    817
    298
    147
    117
See reviews for
470
1,386
214
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Gorgeous, all white hotel; beautifully decorated.

Friendly welcome by the reception staff and the concierge was also very helpful booking our trip to the Everglades.

We had a one bedroom suite (room 404). The suite was very spacious and quiet. We loved everything about it except for one thing. The sofa bed is of inferior quality. The mattress is ultra-thin and not comfortable at all. We felt sorry for the person that had to sleep on it. The sofa bed did not match the quality of the rest of the room.

The swimming pool area is very nice. The service is impeccable. One remark: The area could do with some more umbrellas since there is limited to no shadow in the afternoon.

The sunset from the terrace is beautiful.

The hotel is located on 1100 West Avenue which a long walk away from Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue or Lincoln Road. Be prepared to take the car (parking space is limited in South Beach), bicycle or taxi. So the location is not optimal.

And I’m always annoyed by the valet parking rates in South Beach, also this hotel is with $36 per night very expensive.

We liked our stay, but next time I most likely will choose again a hotel closer to the hustle and bustle of Collins Avenue.

Room Tip: 404 is a quiet and nice one-bedroom suite. But it has street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit. We're happy you found our service to be friendly and attentive and that you enjoyed our setting and the vistas from the terrace. We are glad you have found a place in us to "get away from it all" and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My daughter and I were on a long weekend trip to Miami and bought, through Travelzoo, a spa treatment special at the Mondrian Hotel in South Beach, Miami. We paid $105 for a 60 minute massage, and a 30 minute body scrub, plus the use of the spa facilities (steam shower, sauna) and the hotel pool. We had an absolutely wonderful experience. We arrived at the property about two hours in advance of our treatments and enjoyed the hotel pool enormously. It is ultra modern, great pool side service with delicious food and drinks, and has a spectacular view across the bay to the Miami skyline. We used the spa facilities for about 30 minutes before our treatments and then enjoyed our treatments enormously. I had Victoria and it was an absolutely fabulous deep tissue massage, scalp massage and body scrub. I highly recommend her and the package. We then enjoyed fun cocktails and appetizers at the hotel bar, which has beautiful sunset views of the Miami skyline, and which has a special happy hour menu for dramatically reduced prices. South Beach is so expensive that this little break from the high prices was lovely. Highly recommend this outing to anyone considering it. We did not stay at the Mondrian Hotel but it seemed like fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gametotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your spa day and thank you for sharing your experience with us. In addition to the gracious spa treatments you enjoyed, we're pleased you found our poolside service to be attentive as well. Yes, we have a lot of fun here and we're delighted you partook. We hope to welcome you back soon when you can again enjoy all that Mondrian has to offer.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

my very first trip to miami was for a work conference and i was thrilled that it was being held at the mondrian south beach. i've heard many wonderful things about the mondrian hotels but had never stayed in one. from the moment we stepped into the hotel, we had a wonderful conversation with rosa at the reception desk. she upgraded us to a room on the penthouse level! the room was spacious and gorgeous. the bed was so comfortable! i almost wanted to stay in bed the entire time i was there. while i was stuck in meetings, my husband got great advice from the staff about what to do in miami. he spent some time by the pool, rented a car and found some great places with delicious cuban coffee. even though i was in meetings most of the day, the breakfasts and lunches were held on a beautiful terrace overlooking the pool. it was a great escape with delicious food during a day full of meetings. even though i came to miami for work, i left feeling like i just had a mini vacation. would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaCass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you. If you have to work, this is a great environment to do so. We're pleased our staff made your trip enjoyable and successful and hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you like to be surrounded by beautiful & handsome people where money talks ;) This is your place to stay!

Front desk people are super polite/helpful. But, if want to upgrade to better room make sure that you ask the TOTAL price! They told you price for 1 night, not for the total amount.

Choose room in upper floors w/balcony & bayside is a must -amazing view!! Ah and so great bed & linens and spa products in the bathroom!!!

What I didn't like that they let people to go with drinks in the pool and dog's are also allowed to come pool area. Pool wasn't that clean either(sorry to say this). Pool atmosphere & service were excellent!

It´s little bit far away from Ocean dr if you like to hang around there. Ok for walk from hotel to Ocean dr, Lincoln rd mall during the daytime.

There is a great Whole Foods Market just around the corner :)

Overall had a very pleasant stay in the Mondrian.

Room Tip: Choose room in upper floors w/balcony & bayside is a must -amazing view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and are pleased you enjoyed our room product as well as our location. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were upgraded to a bay view 1-bedroom and the hotel room was gorgeous with a great view. Our stay was for 5 nights on a stop-over back home and we were travelling with our two young kids and felt welcomed by the friendly staff even if the hotel was a little trendy for kids. Loved the kitchenette and balcony and room. Great service.

Room Tip: get a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you. We're glad our staff helped to make you and your family feel welcome. We are also pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable, the spaciousness of our rooms and kitchens really do make an excellent extended stay experience. We hope you will join us again the next time you are passing through Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We weren't thrilled with this hotel. It seems like it's a bit past its prime.

Positives: Reasonably priced (compared to hotels on Collins), nice view from the pool area and higher up rooms, good restaurants, Starbucks and Whole Foods within close walking distance. 10-15 minute walk to Lincoln Road and beach.

Negatives: The stark and "trendy" design is overshadowed by poor use of space and lack of comfort. The fact that there was no king sized bed in a studio that could easily fit two is beyond my understanding. The interior and pool area are becoming dingy and showing signs of wear. Housekeeping did not come until after 4 each day. We could hear the elevator very loudly through our walls every morning. The face on the wall of our room was super annoying to look at for four days straight. Just not our style.

If we return to Miami, we will pay the extra bucks to stay at one of the nicer hotels on Collins.

Room Tip: Request a high room with a balcony and King, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectaions.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,423 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,093 reviews
SLS South Beach
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing