We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay on West Ave, overpriced parking and wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay on West Ave, overpriced parking and wifi”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel and rooms are exactly as on website pictures. With the priceline price - can't be better. The only downsides are Wifi for $15 (come on guys, even Motel 7 has it for free) and $37 overnight parking. So, 4 stars for WiFi.

It's about 15 minutes walk to the Ocean Drive, not bad during the day, take a taxi ($7) at night.

Nice restaurant nearby (almost across the street) - Oliver's Bistro
very good place for breakfast/sandwiches nearby - Taste Bakery Cafe

Room Tip: take a look at the hotel website first to see if you like it ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,200
    814
    294
    144
    115
See reviews for
465
1,376
211
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. The hotel is impressive when you drive up and so is the lobby. The staff at the front desk were very nice. They allowed us to check in really early because of the early flight we arrived on. We loved everything about the room except for the beds! The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I hate to say that because we loved everything else about this hotel. I'd recommend this hotel if you aren't picky about beds like we are. Aside from that, everything and everyone else was great! The location is great as well. We had a few planned activities and everything was a very short drive away and valet was more than happy to give directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to Mondrian. We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and our design to be impressive. We apologize that you did not find the bed comfortable. As always, please call our attentive front desk should anything in the room not be to your liking and we will do our best to accommodate your requests and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I consider the Mondrain more of a 4 star hotel, however you are clearly paying 5 star prices across the board. Location is a plus or a minus depending on your preferences. Bay views are gorgeous, as well as the sun setting at the very nice pool unblocked, this was a bonus. The hotel is a bit on the small side, but interior design and architecture are 1st class.We stayed 3 nights.

The disappointments were.
1.Our room wasn't ready upon arrival,mind you they have a 3pm check in as it is. We waited until 345 to check in.
2.We properly requested a late checkout, no problem, mind you its off-season and midweek, plus we stayed at a premium suite. Shortly before 3pm we also called front desk to notify them that we would be downstairs in less than 10 minutes, they noted it and all was fine.( most hotels these days allow you to check out on your tv, not here).
Upon reviewing my bill, which I had asked to be emailed to me, I was charges a late checkout fee of $250, plus taxes! I easily had this removed after making a call to the hotel, the person who took my call also indicated that she sees 2 notes that confirmed my interaction with front desk notifying them.
So my question is this. Why would you insult a paying customers intelligence, isnt repeat business and reviews enough reason for a hotel to go over and above for its customer?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyb1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback. While we are happy you were impressed with our design and location, we apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in other areas. We are glad, however, that your complaint was handled efficiently.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I travel a lot. I recnetly spent one night at the Mondrian and was thrilled by the engaged and friendly staff. Beggining at check-in a wonderful lady set the tone. The manager, Jose Noriega even came out to greet me and others checking in. I had a drink at the bar and spent 30 minutes talking with a very friendly and engaging bar-tender. My room was spotless and I certainly enjoyed the view of downt-town Miami. Experiences are memorable when people are and the staff at the Mondrian certainly was. Great job!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to have provided memorable service for you during your stay and hope you will join us again when you can stay longer and enjoy more of what we have to offer.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Mondrian South Beach is a hidden gem.Located on Biscayne Bay and a 10 minute walk from Lincoln Road and 20 minutes from the beach, I loved the location. This is the perfect hotel for travelers who want to get away from the congestion of Ocean Drive/Collins Ave hotels... The staff are authentic & friendly, the service is genuine & professional... The pool, fitness and spa are especially nice.... Great sunset views! My room overlooked the pool, bay with spectacular views of the downtown Miami skyline.Very attractive crowd, and nestled in an upscale residential area. Whole Foods a few minutes away.... I'll definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and for this review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit, thanks in part to our unique blend of friendly yet attentive service as well as our location here on West Avenue. We're delighted you will be joining us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for seven nights in a two BR residence rented through Jet Luxury. Great space, awesome views over the pool and water, decent service and luxe surroundings with just about all the hotel had to offer. Asia de Cuba menu was a bit limiting for us as vegetarians traveling with two teenagers, but Whole Foods is across the street, as well as a few good restaurants within walking distance. And Lincoln Road is a five minute drive. Pool service is terrific and there is a Hot scene poolside on Sundays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywarhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have lost count of the amount of times we have stayed. What I can tell you is we have been visiting every year since it opened, sometimes more than once a year. We always opt for a bay view balcony suite as the view over downtown Miami is our favorite view. Our stay is always made extra special as being a repeat guest is acknowledged by the hotel and they really do go out of there way for you. The star of the show is David Arth who manages the pool area. Every hotel really does need a David, and whilst I may say this every visit I really really mean it. He is divine and really goes out of his way to ensure everyone has a fantastic experience around the pool. His star service is amazing and we know whenever we are staying at the hotel/round the pool we receive fantastic faultless treatment. Bad customer service can certainly stop you re-visiting a hotel and David does definitely have to take credit for the fact we keep returning year after year. I should add that all other staff are fantastic, David is just in a league of his own :-)

Room Tip: bay view balcony suite or any room overlooking the bay is the way forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellis v, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent and repeated visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad you have found a home with us, thanks in part to the excellent service you receive. David is indeed a rock star, thank you for commending his efforts. He is but one of a team devoted to providing excellent and unique experiences. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
1.6 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
SLS South Beach
SLS South Beach
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing