We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved it.”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved it.”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Spent a week at the W in early March for a conference. The hotel is trendy, cool, comfortable and fun. The food is excellent and the service is superb. I expected the hotel staff to be a bit stand-offish, but their friendliness actually prompted me to write a letter of praise to the hotel's manager...something that I've never done before. I'll definitely come back to play.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,404
    591
    249
    131
    146
See reviews for
637
1,375
151
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

There are a lot of high and low points to the W South Beach location. When traveling to the only 5 star hotel in the area my expectations are always high. Unfortunately, not all of these expectations were met.

Upon arrival our front desk person Daniel was very kind and helpful and there was no delay checking in at all. When we got to our room overlooking the Days Inn, I was appalled at the street noise level. Thankfully the patio doors seemed to help drown that out considerably. The room seemed clean until you made the mistake of wiping your hand on the counter at the minibar-Yuck. Also, there was a rotten grape under my side of the bed that I managed to step on and squash-double yuck.

The housekeeping problems continued the next day when we were out of shampoo and body gel and none was ever replaced. Ridiculous!

The highest point of our entire stay was Joshua who tends bar at the living room. He was truly an artist! He was pleasant , incredibly knowledgeable and attentive. If the entire hotel was like Josh we would have fallen in love, alas-it was not. Previous comments about the pool chaise lounges are continuing and I think something needs to be done about it if you are charging $700 a night. Either you are luxury hotel or you aren't, but they can't seem to decide here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammysmom2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

W South Beach is a refreshing change from the likes of the Shore Club / Delano etc. I wouldnt say better - just different. Beautifully decorated - it is sleek and cool... and sexy. Service was very good. Rooms are beautiful... Great Views of the beach. My only complaint with 'trendy' hotels is that often staff members have 'attitude problems'. Thankfully at the W only a couple of people fit into that category. Ate at MR. CHOW - Awesome (but expensive - $600 for 4 people) Random comment - The Pool chairs / Cabanas all of which are wooden already are starting to look old and worn.....?? Overall - Go for it. FABULOUS South Beach experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I just returned from a long weekend at the W South Beach with 5 of my girlfriends. What an amazing place! We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was truly unbelievable with 2 huge bathrooms, a media room, 3 terraces and a media room. We were on the 17th floor and had great views with literally no noise from the bar or street below. We are 36 so I was a little nervous about the "Scene" at the W but we had a great time and never felt like people were snooty or pretentious. There were a few families at the hotel but it seemed to be mostly couples or groups of friends.

The pool was so gorgeous and the food, drinks and service were excellent. The burger at the pool was worth every penny as was the Watermelon Aqua Fresca, a sweet drink made with water, sugar and big chunks of watermelon - yumm. As another reviewer mentioned, you definitely need to grab lounges at the pool before 10am or they're gone. They do have another smaller pool where we ended up one day and it was fine for laying out but that pool's not heated. The beach was also nice with comfortable chairs for free and umbrellas for $15, cabanas for $30.

The service in general at the hotel was very accomodating however we were promised a late check out (4pm) but were advised the night before that they could not honor it. My only other complaint was that they do not offer free wireless in the rooms and they charge you $5.95 per 15 minutes to use the computers in their "Wired" room. We paid $1,600 a night for a suite and to not offer free internet is just silly. I stayed at a Holiday Inn a few weeks ago that offered computer service for free! For that reason alone, I gave 4 stars instead of 5!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejh259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The W on South Beach is a reflection of its surroundings - it's beautiful, buzzing with energy, trendy, sheik, and just over the top. It feels like there's always a party happening and if you're in Miami for a wild and crazy night followed by some sun at the pool/beach. This is a great spot. It's not quiet and it's not cheep, but it's an experience.

We enjoyed the (relatively) low key Living Room Bar on the first floor and the excellent set up at the beach and the pool. It was a great way to experience Miami. We’re not really “night club” people so the seemingly constant dance music was a bit much, but we just considered it part of South Beach way of life.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

First of all, I should note that I am a platinum Starwood member. I've stayed at W's and Westins around the world and this is hands down the worst one that I've stayed at. The service was horrible and the staff was indifferent to my issues. When we checked in (at 2AM due to flight delays), the front desk agent ignored us for 20 minutes while he stared at his computer. When we ordered food at the pool it took over one hour to get food. A simple drink at the pool costed $16. We had prostitutes that propositioned us at the hotel bar in the evening. To top it all off, we were paying $750/night/room. The list goes on. If you are looking for a classy hotel with great nightlife stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sampat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our five night stay for leisure. We would go back, since we go every year to watch the Key Biscayne Sony Open (pro tennis). We have five young children (<10) and a nanny and got two rooms. The hotel was sold out so no SPG platinum room upgrades. Didn't rec my 500pt amenity either. I didn't mind my standard room on the 16th floor (even number). Spacious enough and facing the entrance, a south beach view, downtown Miami, two ground parking lots and a Days Inn. Couldn't complain about the noise (nite club scene Thurs-Sat nites), but always travel w/a sound machine. Neighbor blasted bass pounding music all nite. Called staff numerous times to handle it and they did.
Staff was friendly and attentive. While waiting for elevator up after pool, Cameron Diaz checked in and got escorted to her suite. Other than that special attention (rightfully deserved), I felt the service was equally divided betw. its hotel guests. Enjoyed the pool (get up early to reserve lounges 7-8am) and you need to be on your lounges after breakfast by 930 or they'll be given away. Great burgers, kids food, and ham/ch sandwich. Drinks $15. Beach was nice too. Niteclub was amusing w/the scene. Drink price expectedly high there too. Kardashian family at Mr Chows and lots of Ferraris parked in front. Entertaining scene to watch. Nice location in South Beach. Recommend Prime Italian (street level of Hilton Hotel) at 101 Ocean Dr. Nice Italian and same steaks as Prime One Twelve across the street. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,101 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,388 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,065 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,554 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing