We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“It was ok”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A friend booked the W for me for my birthday. It was a great gift until a few of the staff members treated my party as if we were a bother and didn't belong there. The bartenders were great and a ton of fun, the waffles are the best ever. Other than that I had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that the service you experienced was not up to par. I can assure you that we greatly value each and every one of our guests, especially those celebrating a special occasion with us. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly should you decide to visit us again, as it would be my pleasure to personally ensure your stay is fantastic.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,400
    591
    249
    131
    146
See reviews for
635
1,374
151
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Definitely one of the major resorts with the best service, rooms, restaurants and atmosphere on South Beach, it is difficult and rare to get it right at South Beach, but the W Hotel definitely has found the formula to ensure that guests have a memorable experience, I had an amazing stay at all levels, great value for money, I can definitely recommend this fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at the W Hotel last summer and have been meaning to write a review. I had an amazing time. Everything from the suite, the beach, the pool, the restaurants, bars, club and the service and staff was top notch! I would absolutely recommend this hotel and am looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an oceanview room. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! Since your last visit, we've added some incredible new programming. We hope you can join us the first Thursday of every month for W SpeakerBox, our new live music series at Living Room Bar. We'd love to have you!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here after a week at the Fontainebleau and it was like night and day. Much more classy & intimate at the W. Amazing views, beautiful room, great service & I very much preferred the atmosphere around the pool here. Loved it and will definitley return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A fun stylish hotel with super friendly staff (everyone, top to bottom) We felt very welcome right from the get-go. We had great service on the beach and poolside. There was lots of checking in to see if we needed anything. Our room was really comfortable and at least twice the size of other rooms we priced out at other lux hotels on the beach. We had a big balcony where we had our breakfasts and it had an ocean and downtown view. We came for a lazy luxurious weekend and that what we had.

Room Tip: Hard to miss out since the rooms are angled and all have a view of the ocean. But the ones on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Happy to hear you took note of our room size! We're proud to feature some of the largest guest rooms in South Beach, and are so glad you were able to stretch out and enjoy your private balcony. We'll be here next time you need a weekend of lazy luxury.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Centrally located in South Beach, the hotel is actually quite close and easily accesible to Miami International Airport. If you want to stay away from all the heavy traffic but still see the city the location is ideal. The W Private beach is a big bonus. The rooms are in typical W style always WOW-esque. We took the Fabulous Studio and the size+layout is great and has a great balcony, i suggest you take floor 4 or 5 as below that you will have little or no sea-view. The down-side of the Fabulous studio is that they are in a side building and the fact that the AC of the neighbouring hotel is really close meaning that sitting on your big balcony and listening to the waves is impossible, it is far too noisy and actually a nuisance in my opinion. I would suggest you take a room in the main building. The pool and bar is the best 'people-watching' place in Miami. I strongly recommend this hotel and despite some delays with my check-in they duty manager did his best to accomodate our short wait.

Room Tip: Main building, high floor (6 and above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMEG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Our location is certainly ideal - our own little paradise just steps away from the action - and we're so pleased to hear that you made the most of our unique escape. We cannot wait to have you back.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A luxuriously, stylish vacation means attention to detail from the moment you walk through the door, to all amenities, including room stylists (thank you Stella Vezzoso) and beach experience (Aaron Ivy and Jesse Schneider).

Aaron Ivy with Beach Service was absolutely professional, attentive, caring and consistently went over and above to make us feel at home. I've been to over 9 W Hotels and have never experienced that exceptional service. In addition, Jesse Schneider, Beach Manager, topped off the beach experience with extra service and special attention to a request we had. We were so impressed!

The hotel feels like home, having been at least 4 times in the last year or so and with a plan to be back soon, I'm in love with the team, service, cleanliness of W South Beach. I would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The Oasis Suite is my all time favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenwestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We love being your home away from home, and can't wait to share your compliments with our Talent who made your stay with us a special experience. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Until then,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,089 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,384 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,054 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,518 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing