We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - if you like the noise of building sites!”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #19 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were really disappointed to find our stay in our luxury suite (and it was lovely, genuinely), was ruined by the noise of building sites either side of us.
A previous reviewer had mentioned this, so I actually contacted the hotel to ask for a quite room. They implied we would have one.
In the end we left early and went down to Key West.
Such a shame, because the staff are excellent and we really liked the hotel.
If we're back in Miami and if the construction work has finished we may give it another go.
For now, though, I'd give it a miss if you want to spend any time sunbathing on the otherwise great balcony of a megasuite.
At $669 per night, it didn't seem great value to us.
The on site purchases are quite pricey, too. If you stay there - there's a Walgreens almost opposite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejerseygourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would like to apologize for the noise levels you experienced as a result of our neighbors' construction. We are keeping a close eye on the progress, and are making every effort to minimize the noise as much as possible for our guests' comfort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property itself, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,181 - 2,187 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I chose the W sight unseen for a romantic get-away while I Florida's east coast.
Wow! Smaller, intimate, attentive with unexpected features and dining. The pool is accessed, from the lobby, THRU THE WATER! Once there; great views and beautiful people.
Our room was meant for couples and romance. The room service was superb. And you can't beat the perfect quieter South Beach location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimVitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed a romantic getaway at our property, and look forward to welcoming you back for many more to come!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The W is the place to stay in South Beach. Most rooms feature amazing ocean views. Guests are generally adult couples, and the pool area and adjacent beach feature full bar and food service. Most importantly, the staff really is wiling to do whatever, whenever to make the most out of your stay. To get the best value for your trip, book a VIP trip. The car service from the airport and your concierge is worth it, not to mention the VIP suites are incredible!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your VIP experience. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Whatever/Whenever service, and look forward to 'wow'ing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The W hotel is an amazing property with even more amazing staff. This is my 4th stay at the W and I can honestly say that the experience improves with each year. The staff is extremely accommodating and a pleasure to work with. Our company has held our corporate event at this location for the past 4 years and each year our expectations have been blown away. We feel like 1 big family ad are treated as such. We have never felt like a bother, and have always been treated with respect.

The banquets team is comparable to non. They have set the bar so high and each year have outdone themselves. Isaac and Aldo have never made me feel like anything other than family and a friend. Luis and Antonio have made all of our guests feel like VIP's, whether it was creating a fun cocktail for them, or simply welcoming them with a whole hearted smile.

Ashley has done tremendous things for our group. We consider her as a friend and honorary member of our team. She always has a smile on her face, even with our crazy requests.

Thank you to all of the staff thy helped make this event, and all past events, a tremendous success!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbarcenes113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for once again returning to W South Beach - you truly are part of the Starwood family. We can't wait to host you and your company next year for a fifth year in a row!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Shared a 2 bedroom suite between 3 friends - an excellent set up for a weekend. The hotel is a bit further north from the main strip which makes it better value and also quieter, but still has beach access. The pool is absolutely excellent and the way they manage the beds democratically means you dont have to get up at the crack of dawn! Lovely bar and good restaurant also. We had a great time. A couple of issues with the service (one day our room wasnt cleaned, we were asked to come back to the bar later to pay a bill as the machine wasnt working), but contrasted with very helpful concierge and pool staff. Overall a lovely hotel and a marvellous time had by all.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the hotel next door which is being renovated - so we had a partial view of beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ar233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing W South Beach as the destination for your weekend getaway! We're so glad you enjoyed our property and the many amenities it has to offer.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect hotel. I went there with my husband as a first destination on our honeymoon and it was literally the time of our life. First of all, we had an upgrade to a high level floor 1720 :) Breathtaking ocean view... wonderful pool... Excellent whenever whatever service.... great beach... good location.... BEST HOTEL IN SOUTH BEACH...We can't wait to go back to this hotel with the same room one day! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantalboulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We couldn't be happier that you chose to spend this special time at our property. Congratulations on your recent nuptials - we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When we went there as a family, there were always many pool parties with loads of drunk people everywhere. This was not a good atmosphere for children. However, the food was excellent ( but way too pricey) and the waiters at The Dutch were all lovely. I would recommend only for young people/couples without children.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,297 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,508 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,422 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $367 - $1,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp, Prestigia, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing