We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our new favorite hotel in south Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our new favorite hotel in south Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We travel to Miami fairly often and have several hotels that we enjoy and routinely stay at, including the Fontainebleau, the Delano, the Ritz Carlton and the Ganzevoort (which I believe has now been acquired by the W Hotel and is being renovated.) We thought that we would give the W a try this time as we have always had great experiences at other W Hotels, including Times Square, Vieques Island and Ft. Lauderdale. I am glad that we did. The W Hotel in south beach has it all!
We were meeting our kids (all adults) so I booked two Fantastic Suites for them and booked a Mega Suite for us, as I was intrigued by the layout. Someone had posted a video of the suite online on You Tube which caught my interest, and I am happy to say that it was even better in person!
When we arrived at the hotel, the young lady who checked us in, Casey Gourly, was warm, friendly and welcoming. As it turned out, we found out during the check in of the other two suites that she knew one of our sons. She went the extra mile and sent a bottle of champagne to each of our suites. What a great ambassador for the W Hotel. She definitely won us over.
The Mega Suite turned out to be the best value in all of our Miami stays. Lots of room to stretch out, a large patio on the first floor and a second floor with a large entertainment area including a grill, more seating, and a personal jacuzzi., and access to tennis courts and a basketball court. As the kids invited a large group of their friends over, we cooked out and had a blast.
Before the group arrived, we made a special request to have the room cleaned on short notice. I didn't catch the maid's name, but she was super nice and made sure to have things in tip top shape before our guests arrived.
The television was working properly on the second floor, so their engineers, Jose and Oliver, ran out and found another TV to install in time for the Miami - UF game.
We rented a cabana at the pool. Great service and great times.
Snacks and drinks at Dutch in the evening... great experience. Breakfast in the morning at the same restaurant. We also had dinner at Mr. Chow (apparently not owned by the W). Great food and great service.
Every aspect of out stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations. From the valet to the bell service to everyone we encountered, everyone had their act together. I would give this hotel a perfect score.
We look forward to returning to the W!

Room Tip: Mega Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRichardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    509
    226
    113
    128
See reviews for
544
1,156
130
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We for a few nights during our honeymoon and this hotel is the best I have been to. Not only modern and beautiful surroundings right on the beach but the staff were so helpful, could not have done enough. Beach and pool beds so so comfortable. Would 100% go back. Think any other hotel will be disappointing compared with this!! Sheer luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: We had view of South Beach was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want a luxurious hotel stay and to feel pampered, this is the hotel for you. Everyone that we met, from the gentlemen opening the doors to the woman at the front desk who helped with check-in, were all so friendly and kind. The bed was beyond comfortable. And the shower had three shower-heads! So fancy! The beach there is one of the nicest beaches I've been to, which is a nice plus if you can ever pull yourself away from the amazing hotel room. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtripsR4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to let you know how much we appreciated the superb customer service we received from Ralph Chaoul during our recent stay at the W South Beach. From the moment we arrived, Ralph made every attempt to meet our requests. Although he was unable to accommodate our request for a room upgrade, he went above & beyond to ensure that our stay was an amazing experience. Ralph's exemplary customer service truly exemplifies the W's "Whatever-Whenever" motto.

Regards,

Mr. Tim Carter

Room Tip: Make sure you are not staying anywhere near they have construction taking place on one of the W Resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The "W" Hotel in Miami Beach was a happy, relaxing and comfortable getaway for a 5-day respite!
We were 2 adults and an 8-year old in an 1150 SQ FT "Wonderful" suite with an additional 200 SqFt balcony, ultra modern kitchen, washer/dryer, wrap around large windows throughout with direct ocean and infinity pool sweeping views.
The lack of closet hanging space was, however, dissapointing considering the room/suite size - they need to bring in an armois!

The breakfast spot by the infinity pool (with another spot inside the hotel , just as good and offering a buffet breakfast daily) was ideal and the food and service excellent.

The entire hotel property staff was cordial and helpful without being sappy-mouthed and eyes all over you.
The beach access is right at foot with terrific amenities both at and on the beach.
Gotta love it ! !

We booked again for October 2013 - a different corner south-facing suite with the same square footage and sweeping views -more closet space.

Security is good.

Submitted by:
David Gold

Room Tip: A corner suite facing south is worth the dough .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgold33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Miami W
This is our 4th trip in 3 years and its always great but this trip was extra special thanks to your entire team from front of the house to housekeeping.

Special thanks to Ashley Tobon for making us feel at home and relaxed once we arrived until we checked out. It's the atmosphere that we enjoy and the customer service is what brings us back.

Rooms are modern clean and inspiring. The gardens are fun to walk through. The main pool is fun but the private pool is better. The music is always on point throughout the hotel. The food is good. The service is quick. People are nice and get what you need when you ask for it. There's some eye candy being Miami so there's good looking people to check out. Always a plus. The ocean is beautiful and right there outside off an amazing beachwalk. Ill shut up now

See you in December

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nenehz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second stay at the W South beach.
Here are my views on the following items in this hotel:
Rooms: fair sized, typically W vibe, some corners starting to show a bit of wear but overall not bad.
Pool: quite crowded on the weekend. There is another smaller more quiet pool.
Food: did not bother since the pool side food and the breakfast were not that good on the previous stay.

While most of the staff were courteous and polite overall, there were a number of issues.

Firstly, the duvets were quite worn out. The material inside had become hard and gritty. It took two different groups of people to come up before they understood and changed my duvet.
I've stayed at a lot of hotels and never had felt anything so bad!

I stayed at a fabulous suite and on the first day I opened up the window but somehow it could not close. Because it was a saturday night, it was quite noisy. I asked for someone to come up and close the window but no one came. After awhile I gave up and called back to tell them not to send anyone tonight because it was getting late. So the first night sleep did not go well and next morning required more coffee to wake up.

On the second day we went out in the morning and afternoon but returned by around 3:30 for some rest. I was quite surprised to find that our room was not cleaned yet. I called whatever/whenever and was told that housekeeping service could be anytime between 9am to 6pm but they would send someone now. After almost an hour still no one came and another call was made to reception.

On the third night something strange happened. At around 1030pm, someone knocked on our door. We were a little concerned since we had not called for any services. Because I was at the other end of the room, by the time I walked to the door, the person from the outside had already started to open the door. Fortunately, I arrived at the door right in time to flip the security latch over. Through the gap there were two people looked like they were from housekeeping. I asked them what did they want and their reply was "just checking if you are good". The only thing I can think of was that at night they were supposed to put bottled water and chocolate on the night table and they did not do that on that particular night. Still, I find it somewhat bizarre to get a knock on my door at 1030 pm.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,164 reviews
The Setai
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing