We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great view and awesome vibe...but a tad "pricey"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view and awesome vibe...but a tad "pricey"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well I'm not sure what all the complaints are about...This place made me feel like a movie star. and to prove my point, mark wahlberg was staying there with his family and by the pool every day! The dining in The Dutch (hotel restaurant) was always as fantastic as its Soho location. Breakfast was a real treat every morning. The beach was stretching and superb....but you have to shell out for an umbrella, which is kind of a gauge after paying over 600 per night! The pool bar and cocktails were some of the best I ever had..and the lobby service was always exceptional. I would go back, but there may be some cheaper options I would consider before rebooking...location is also great....this hotel was a real treat!!

Room Tip: I believe they're all ocean view! so you can't really go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Jennifer G,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy to welcome you on your special escape. We want each stay to be unique and help you enjoy all the sites of South Beach. The Dutch is an amazing restaurant and Andrew Carmellini’s creations are unmatched. We look forward to welcoming you back again and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,182
    524
    232
    115
    130
See reviews for
563
1,219
137
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great location, clean spacious rooms, absolutely terrible service. My wife and i stayed at the hotel last week and service was progressively worse as the stay continued. The pool service was non-existent; check-in was painful (didnt get room until 6:17PM); missed turn down service; i can go on and on. The main issue is that for the price being paid, the guest should recieve top service not Holiday Inn treatment. My recommendation is to look else where - this will eventually catch up to the management....

Room Tip: Take a look at new SLS; Satai; Fountain Bleu
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello ChrisK51,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service you received during your stay. We will be sending your review to our General Manager to address our Service Culture. We want you to be able to enjoy your stay with us and not have to worry about anything. We hope you will consider us on your next escape and please send us an email to speak with you more in regards to your stay, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

As a W hotel, hip and modern is the vibe here. Yet the lobby and check-in area seemed more like an office building than a luxury hotel with suited, hotel staff posted at key spots to monitor hotel access and activity. While the hallways were dark and edgy, the rooms were bright, sleek, and very comfortable. As with other W hotels, room space was well planned, the bathroom was awesome and stocked with Bliss products! SInce this was South Beach the pool was a focal point and was well appointed with the requisite poolside amenities though the area adjacent to it reminded me a bit of the old Trader Vic's. My advice is to skip the pool and head to the beach where the helpful beach staff will set you up in cushioned chaise lounges with towels. Then order a nice cocktail/refreshment from the beach bar and enjoy the view and the people watching!
Overall nice stay - I booked with points, but had I paid with cash would have been very disappointed in the value - no sense of a true luxury hotel here. Feel certain location drives the room prices here - not attention to detail or decor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the north side of the hotel - as those rooms look down onto a rough looking property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Melissa P,

Thank you for your review. We love our SPG Members and so happy you stayed with us. We would like to apologize for the service you received. We will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address our Service Culture. We do have the perfect location and beach front access to enjoy the waves and sand. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please send us an email to wsobesocial@whotels.com with your contact information.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break
The guy at reception was charming
My luggage was placed with departing guests and had to stop the bellman from bringing it to someone's car!!!
Room was spacious and clean
But had a big problem with the electronic key it didn't work in the lift so I was left to asking other guests if they could press my floor also
Then when I got to my room it didn't work
This happened every time
When I complained they said my key was for the room 2 doors down ' very worrying '
Are at Mr Chows !!!
Service was terrible food was an MSG nightmare
The whole experience was a nightmare
There are many hotels in Miami
Forget this one

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doubleo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello Doubleo03,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service and experience you received at our hotel. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. Your security is very important to us and want you to relax during your stay. We would like to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please send your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com and we will be sure to get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The W hotel is a fabulous property that is trendy and chic. There is a variety of rooms types you can get. We upgraded to a suite that had 2 bedrooms and an awesome view to beach. The suites are modern, large and spotless. Ours also had a little kitchen and bar area. living rooms and 2 masters and the bathrooms were spacious and beautiful. The beach is gorgeous with white sand and bar service is available out there and they are very attentive to you as well. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants. I would recommend staying at this hotel if your standards are high as this hotel will not disappoint. Very popular hotel with the celebrities too. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wunworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello wunworshipper,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do offer 16 different room types to make each experience at our hotel unique. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with private balconies on every room to enjoy your view. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I responded in length to a survey they emailed to me so I will not go into great detail here. Briefly...service was awful!!!! This included the front desk, the pool (if you could get a chair as they were all taken before breakfast), the beach..etc. Worst of all..i was paying $1000/night for a nice room which felt as if it was in the middle of the nightclub. I had to go out and buy special ear plugs to sleep. The club starts up at midnight and cranks until 4 or 5 in the morning. My room was literally shaking. The couple next door informed me they had the same problem. The from t desk was not responsive at all..basically "just suck it up"!! The only redeeming quality of this hotel was my exceptional housekeeper Paulette D...she was an angel and cleaned like a pro!! Her smiles made my stay bearable..thank you Paulette!!!!! : )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello Mark A,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We would like to apologize for the service you received. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address our Service Culture. We do care about your experience and want you to be able to relax and enjoy your escape with us. We would like to thank you for your shout-out to Paulette and will be sharing this with our Hotel Staff. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please send us an email with the best way to contact you, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay last week! I was initially concerned about staying at this hotel with my 10 and 11 year old during a school vacation, but what a great time we had! Suite was roomy and clean, beach was pristine and the service was impeccable. Our only issue was the booming loud nightclub below us, but we spoke to the concierge who immediately arranged for us to move to a higher floor. They sent Matt with us, and he helped us pack up, move suites and unpack in record time! My only suggestion would be to automatically situate families as far from the nightclub as possible, because people are bound to complain when their kids sleep is interrupted! Fabulous time, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello mnacc,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy to welcome you and your children for a special escape. We do have the perfect location with beach front access and walking distance to many of South Beach’s attractions. We would like to apologize for the noise in your room and so happy Matt was able to help you so quickly to not interrupt your vacation too much. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please send us an email with Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing