We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place, great view and well maintained. The suite was well equipped and one of the best place to relax.

The view from the rooms are awesome and the staff are extremely friendly and cordial. I did not try the food, but heard good comments from my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Ravi S,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and relaxed in your oversized suite. We take great pride in the service we offer our guests and love to offer our signature Whatever/Whenever service. We hope to welcome you back very soon and don’t forget to try the amazing creations from The Dutch on your next stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,400
    591
    249
    131
    146
See reviews for
635
1,374
151
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fun hotel, great location, big suites (stayed in the Oasis suite, great views and space), pool is great, the set up, service, food, lots of areas around the pool for kids to play. Plenty of restaurants in and around the hotel to choose from. One thing to be aware of, it's impossible to get a taxi in the evening, waits up to 30 minutes at times. Better to rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello MBonthebeach,

Thank you for your review from your stay. W’s are known for having a modern feel and cool vibe that give our guests the ultimate experience. We do have a great oceanfront location with a short walk to Lincoln Road and oversized rooms with a private balcony to relax on. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape. Please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need for any future travel plans with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been staying at The W in Miami Beach since it opened. This hotel carries with it a certain heir of coolness, or should I say it did. $80 later at the poolside bar for 4 drinks, that were not good, while I waited for the sold-out rooms to become available, doesn't fly with me. By the time we entered our room, late, and the bathroom sink, which was stuffed up and not cleaned, was repaired and the additional charges for everything but the sand granules on the beach were charged to my room, I felt ripped off. I enjoy boutique hotels, I have no problem with paying premium prices for premium anything. What i despise, is when a hotel, or any product or service, thinks that they are above keeping up their standards. There you have it; The W in Miami Baech was once "Uber Cool". Now its simply Uber stooped Expensive.

Room Tip: The more you're willing to pay the better the room; and be prepared to pay a ton for a nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Sheldon g,

Thank you for your feedback from your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your past stays and we hope to win you back as a frequent guest again. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be sending your feedback to our Executive Office to address these issues. We would love to speak with you more about the service you received. Please send us your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com and let us know if you have any future travel plans.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

How can you say anything other than WOW. From the room to the pool and SPA to the LOCATION...Just a WOW and worth the price. This might be the first time I have ever said this...I did not mind paying retail for a hotel room on a very busy and popular weeekend. I have stayed at high end places before but this hotel is the top and on its game. How does the staff remember all those names of guest...WOW. I have never been to a hotel where staff tries to remember guest names. The POOL is GREAT day or even night time to hang out. If you get hungry ....you have great places to eat at this hotel.

Room Tip: GO TOO THE TOP...stay in a room on a higher floor. 2 reasons. views and peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Jerry E,

Thank you for your review from your say. We love to WOW our guests and show them our Whatever/Whenever service. Your experience and comfort is very important to us. We do have the best location and staff in South Beach to make each escape unique. From The Dutch to Mr. Chow, our guests have the best options to tempt their taste buds. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please let us know when you plan your next trip, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was there in August for a weekend in Miami! Absolutely awesome stay ! Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, amazing rooms, lovely view! This hotel have all the ingredients for the perfect holiday! 5 stars indeed ! I would recommend without hesitations this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Mirela C,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you loved your stay and our beach front location. Please let us know when we can welcome you back, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

first time we have stayed in the W in South Beach.... what an amazing hotel ...we had the Oasis suite as we travelled with out teenage daughter. It was like an massive apartment, fully equipped kitchen and the views were amazing as we were on the 17th floor. There was a problem when we first arrived (which was late evening) we had emailed the hotel to ask them to make up the sofa bed as we knew we would want to sleep very soon after arriving - this wasn't done and they offered us non allergenic pillows but they never arrived either we had to chaise them. They had thought of everything including having washing powder provided in the laundry cupboard housing a washing machine and dryer. We ate breakfast in the Dutch everyday which can work out expensive but the food was of high quality and had the added use of free wifi - excellent for our daughter!! The only drawback is the size of the pool area and the fact that one side is sunny in the morning then the other is sunny in afternoon, we had to get our beds by 7.30am every day otherwise we would have to go to the beach and the other problem was that you had to ask for towels to be replenished and no cotton wool in the bathroom either. The staff were all very helpful and the hotel generally had a great buzz about it, they also provide a town car free of charge within a 5 mile radius every day - which you need to pre book with the concierge, a nice touch and after the initial teething problems we had a great stay and will definately go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello alexcoe,

Thank you for your review from your stay with us. We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and the amenities we offer in each room to make your escape perfect. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with private balconies on every room. We would like to apologize for the problem you encountered when you arrived. Your satisfaction and the service we provide is very important to us. We will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address our Service Culture. Please email us when you plan your next trip, wsobesocial@whotels.com, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have just finished a stay at the W South Beach and want to thank the residential team for doing an amazing job as usual. My visits are always stress free and relaxing.

I would like to say a special thank you to Max Ceriotti for being an extraordinary butler.

You have been kind and efficient and are greatly appreciated by me and my family.

See you all soon, Ray M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello r m,

Thank you for writing your review from your stay with us. We do have the best Residential Team that loves to offer our guests the signature Whatever/Whenever service to make each escape perfect. We will be sharing you shout-out with our General Manager and Hotel staff. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please let us know if you need anything.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,089 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,384 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,056 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,527 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Reservation Counter, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing