We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Southbeach - Wonderful Getaways”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“W Southbeach - Wonderful Getaways”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What can I say? When it comes to some things in life, especially in South Beach, you get what you pay for. Yes this is a pricey selection so it's not for your typical budget minded, no frills traveler. But if you can splurge, even for a short getaway, THIS IS THE PLACE. The pricing of the hotel automatically narrows the clientele--so you won't need to worry about too much riff raff around and too much drama. You'll always have to deal with whiny, condescending, rude people wherever you go in any station in life--money can't buy class (these are the hotel patrons I'm talking about--not the staff).

Expect prompt, courteous, efficient service with privacy and seclusion. Yes there are some more partying places--but you should look elsewhere if that is your desire. But if you like an easier pace, discreetness, and a relaxing weekend with a splash of great social scene (i.e., the W's rather exclusive night club Wall) then this may be our cup of Early Grey.

So why I love this hotel:
1) Location, Location, Location. You're in South Beach, but far enough from the rat pack to not feel like you're in a tourist trap but close enough of a walking distance to join the night life as you please.
2) The rooms. Not a bad room in sight, all with amazing ocean views, tastefully decorated, and HUGE. The suites are Bah-Na-Nas.
3) The onsite restaurants: Dutch and Mr. Chows (you must visit these venerated outposts) from acclaimed chefs. You would have to travel to NYC or LA to visit these establishments elsewhere.
4) The amenites, spa, and pool.
5) Staff--not that they are at the bottom but I have to rank them some where. But this is a list of "reasons to come here". Staff is more often than not spot on with customer service.

Room Tip: Seriously there really isn't a bad room. Any event the most basic rooms, are considered suites b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Colin N,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your stay. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and we will be sharing your response with our team. We hope to welcome you back again very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,401
    591
    249
    131
    146
See reviews for
636
1,374
151
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

So the W has no problem when I eat at The Dutch during the week and spend a lot of money, but I was on my own and wanted to come in for a drink at 1 am on a Friday night and I got escorted away from the front door. I'm a reasonably attractive (and not overweight) woman in my late 30's who was well-dressed - and I was by myself! What harm would it have caused to let me enter?

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MiaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello MiaPepita,

Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate you coming to our hotel and enjoying our restaurants and bars. Our external guests are very important to us like our in-house guests. At night our Living Room Bar becomes very busy and for our guest safety we don’t let as many external guests in to make sure our in-house guests are able to enjoy their hotel. We would love to talk with you more about the service you received if you could email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located on South Beach and our Spectacular room on 4th floor had a beautiful view of the beach. Those were the positives. However we didn't love this hotel mainly because it is ridiculously overpriced and you just leave feeling that you have been ripped off. I think the W could try harder to provide a better guest experience, so that you feel that you are getting the best possible service for the price. A few little things that seem obvious are missing at this hotel e.g. - offering a tour of the hotel, details on nearby restaurants, information on the hotel in your room. We have stayed at the W in Mexico City before and found the same thing - style over substance! Depends on your taste but I would prefer friendly and helpful staff and complimentary water over two plasma screens in your room!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0adstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello R0adstar,

Thank you for giving your feedback from your stay. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. We will be suggesting your idea of a hotel tour to our General Manager to explain all the areas of the hotel. We do have our Concierge Team available to offer you the best customized service for restaurant/reservation based upon your individual needs. We would love to speak with you more about your stay with us if you could please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you wanna be in the center of south beach this is a great location! Love the cool vibe of the W properties and this location delivers. From the oversized sculptures at the entrance art work throughout the hotel - ultra cool. Staff is not extremely friendly or helpful - u are on your own.
It's Miami!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macignal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello macignal,

We appreciate your review from your stay. We do have a perfect location in South Beach and beach front access makes it even easier to relax. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay. Your experience with us is very important and we would love to speak with you in regards to the service you received. Please email us with your contact information and we will be in touch with you right away, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

You have to wait one hour in front of the reception. Nobody cares about you, it is like you are invisible! I would never stay there again. The service at the breakfast was also terrible! The server forgot an order and my wife was left hungry.... I changed my hotel the day after!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Selim A,

Thank you for writing a review from your stay. We would like to apologize to you and let you know that we do value you as our guest. We take great pride in our service and your review will be sent to our General Manager to address our service culture. We would love to speak with you in regards to your stay and would greatly appreciate if you could please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had a room on the 15th floor. It was very quiet. Seats did seem to be limited at the pool. I went out to the pool at 10 am and had no problem getting a chair. At around 1:30 pm, people had trouble finding chairs. The food was excellent. I had lunch at the pool and also ordered room service a few times. It is expensive, but at least you aren't paying for icky food. The service was excellent, from the doorman to the servers at the pool, everyone was polite.

On a side note, we found a Italian restaurant right down the street from the W, Sylvano. Best italian food I have had outside of Italy and inexpensive ($14 an entree). I would highly recommend it, if you are looking for a good meal, at a good price, in a casual atmosphere.

Overall, loved the hotel and would come back again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor, south side of building. Right now there is construction going on next door, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Ibclear,

Thank you for giving your review from your stay. We do have some of the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on every room. We do have a beautiful pool area but don’t forget to check out our beach only steps away. Having The Dutch as our restaurant gives us the opportunity to share Andrew Carmellini’s creations with our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for one week at the end of January. Beautiful, stylish hotel, good first impressions. We had a Spectacular Studio (lovely room!)on the south side of the hotel on 15th floor, great views of South Beach and the city from the large, sunny balcony. The room had every amenity one could wish for, and very well insulated in terms of external noise. The bed and pillows were probably the most comfortable we've ever experienced!. The staff were generally welcoming and friendly.

Now to the "buts".... This is a very expensive hotel, fair enough given its prime position on South Beach and the quality of the rooms. That being so, in-room wi-fi should have been included and not at nearly $15/day extra; we thought that the bottled water provided was complimentary until we noted the small print on the bottle tag stating $5 per bottle; providing a tray of exorbitantly priced bottles of liquor in the room was completely unneccessary, as was the "Munchie" box of similarly overpriced snacks - the latter should have been complimentary.
The pool area, whilst similarly very stylish, was disappointing. At 11am one day, with plenty of empty loungers evident, the pool staff informed us that these were all reserved and a waiting list was in operation. The empty loungers remained so for most of the rest of the day.
We were grateful that at our request, check out was extended by 90 minutes. We had an early evening flight and were thus given an amenity room to use until departure. To our surprise, and those of other guests, this was a communal room, with one shower, with no privacy, no locks on the toilet or shower. In particular, female guests were too embarassed and uncomfortable to use this facility. None of us had been informed beforehand about the communal nature of this room. Whilst we appreciate that there will be more guests requiring amenity rooms than are available, a hotel of this class should have communicated this to the guests, and provided private restroom and secure luggage storage. Finally, a hotel of this class should have at least shared computer/printer access.

Room Tip: South side, upper floors. Use the room efficiency to prepare your breakfast (get provisions from Wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 292Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello 292Peter,

We would like to thank you for providing a review from your stay. We do have some of the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on every room. We try to offer many different types of amenities in our rooms for all traveler styles. We would like to speak with you more about your experience with us. We see that you travel often and hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Please send us an email to wsobesocial@whotels.com with your contact information.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,091 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,386 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,056 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,530 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Reservation Counter, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing