We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superb stay in this fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb stay in this fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stay for vacation in this superb Starwood property. It fits perfectly in the W spirit: Whatever, Whenever. Perfectly located on South Beach, the style modern and trendy, wiht the right luxury touch, make this hotel the ideal place to stay in Miami.
Excellent concierge service. Just a little problem with room service on the phone, and it was minor. For the rest, just one word: Perfect!
Rooms are superb, spacious. Suite provide kitchen and laundry. Ambiance is fantastic. Excellent amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partagas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

So happy to hear that you had such a superb visit! Thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear that you had a minor inconvenience with your phones and room service. I trust that our team quickly rectified the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    527
    232
    115
    130
See reviews for
563
1,223
139
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We walked into this hotel looking for 2 rooms for 6 nights each but we were very hungry and decided to visit The Dutch for breakfast before booking our rooms for after our cruise.

Unfortunately, due to a horrible and very dodgy experience in the hotel restaurant, we had to leave and left never wanting to visit a W Hotel again.

We ordered 3 breakfast tables which is the buffet option which 'includes coffee' as written on the menu. So, when the waiter asked for our drink menu we ordered 3 espressos and then he went to get them. By the time we finished out meal, we had ordered 2 additional coffees and so had consumed 5 in total. To our surprise the coffee was listed as an additional amount on our bill, not included as mentioned on the menu. Furthermore, the coffee was $8 per coffee. I queried the bill. This was the worst part, the waiter smiled as though he was proud of himself that he had scammed us into spending $40 on 5 coffees when he said 'oh haha the espressos are not included'. I felt so ripped off and angry, but I'm not a dodgy person so I paid the bill.

Be very careful when visiting this hotel. We decide not to book there because of this and stayed at Lowes nearby which is actually much nicer and more affordable. By far the better option based on value alone, let alone honesty of their staff.

I travel regularly and stay at many W Hotels however, this will be my final visit. What a slap in the face for the tens of thousands of dollars I have spent with your brand over the years. I'm disgusted.

I was so forced to pay 18% gratuity to that waiter who laughed in my face, that felt very good - not.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydney_lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am mortified to read your review on The Dutch. Please contact me at gm.wsobe@whotels.com and I will ensure that our Director of Food and Beverage gets in touch with you right away.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at the W South Beach during Art Basel Miami Beach 2012 (December 4-9), all I can say is: this is the way a hotel should be run. The rooms (back to back reservations with different rooms), were updated, clean and neat, ready on time, and the move was seamless. Hotel staff is very friendly and eager to help. I had multiple packages shipped to the hotel, all were delivered to my room immediately upon arrival at the hotel; phone requests from my room were responded to within minutes, and they went beyond what was required (helping with packing UPS shipment).

The location is perfect and room views fantastic. This is in addition to the hotel being the "in place to be" in South Beach. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: The Mega Suite, is an unbelievable room with a roof deck, and plunge pool, and superb ocean views, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

You came to visit at the best time...Art Basel!! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and the fair. WE hope to welcome you back next year again, or hopefully sooner!

Happy Holidays!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lugano
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the W during our last trip to the States in May and i have to say that it was a memorable experience. I would suggest everybody whos travelling to Miami to try this hotel.
Amazing view from all the room!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunorlugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you had an amazing stay with us! Thank you for posting your great review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at this great hotel during the last week of August, right around the Hurricane Isaac.

To start, location is unbeatable, a few steps from the beach and a short walk to Lincoln Road. Then there's the swimming pool, where we spent most of the time. The rooms are fantastic, spacious and the cleanliness throughout the hotel is amazing.

The staff is one of the best I've ever experienced in such high quality hotel. They were great from the valets to the reception, swimming pool staff, cleaning staff all great! At one point I forgot the keys inside the room and Ryan from the front desk was very prompt in getting is resolved and was also very nice, so much so that my 7 year old daughter wanted to say hi every time we passed by.

In terms of prices for room service and minibar, well, you're at an expensive hotel, so expensive prices are expected.

We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique_RS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay! How adorable that your 7 year old daughter wanted to stop at the front desk each time to say hello! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I do not know what the few earlier reviewers are complaining about. I have stayed at this property over 7 times. Every time it gets better.

I admit It is pricey. so if you do not have the appetite for a 5 star experience go elsewhere its not for you. there are many hotels in Miami.

by the way you do get treated like a celebrity. i am not one but feel like a star when i am there.

Room Tip: Bring lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodManNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review! It makes me happy to know that you keep returning and that you enjoy our facilities! We look forward to welcoming you back again and we thank you and appreciate your patronage.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were there for three über-hectic days during ArtBasel etc. fairs. Mayhem in the streets and this was one of the top 5 hotels to be at.... That said, the staff stayed calm and professional. We were always treated appropriately. Not super friendly...just properly. I liked that. Compared to the madness outside and at the art fairs, having requests handled and no fuss made was simply perfect. The room was perfectly clean and perfectly designed. The frosted glass shower wall allowed for some modestly compared to some W designs where you perform your shower. We used the microwave, fridge and coffeemaker so it was nice to have the "kitchen" space.
Wish the Wet pool scene allowed for more use of the pool for swimming and sunning rather than just socializing and holding lounges for people who never seem to appear. Beach service was nice. Art was great. Door security late night was great.

Room Tip: We loved high and on the north (quieter I think) but you could not sun on your balcony because...wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Art Basel is one of the busiest times on Miami Beach as people come visit from all over the world, and I am glad that you enjoyed the fair as well as the hotel. We hope to see you back next Art Basel, hopefully before then!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#16 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing