We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #4 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gravina in Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm frequently in Florida for leisure and work, visited so many. This is now outstanding. Great place, great views on the ocean, excellent service, only a little bit expensive eating by the pool. Definitively a must in south beach at the moment. really reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeniamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and that you frequent Florida for business and pleasure! We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    500
    222
    111
    124
See reviews for
534
1,128
127
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at The W for a week in September with my two daughters in a two bedroom suite with a large balcony. Unfortunately people smoking on the balconies of the rooms above us continuously dropped their cigarette butts and ash on to our balcony, which could cause injury or a fire. One day my daughter was sitting on the sofa on the balcony when a used condom was dropped by her foot! I called housekeeping to remove it, but received no apology or follow up from management. When I mentioned this on checkout, I just received a very inane "I'm sorry, have a nice day". Another problem with this hotel is at the swimming pool, the loungers are so close together it is very intimate. One minute you are relaxing on your lounger and the next you have someone smoking a huge cigar and blowing smoke all over you. Not very pleasant!

Having said all that, our room was amazing, the service in the restaurants and the pool was excellent and the pool was always inviting. Don't think I would return. I would look for a hotel with a non smoking in public areas policy.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincerest apologies that you experienced continuous inconveniences with cigarettes and cigarette smoke and items being dropped from upstairs balconies. I have discussed your experience with my Director of Housekeeping to ensure that our team does their best to ensure all balconies are cleaned to perfection.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I won't go into the full details of my recent debacle at the W South Beach. In short, I was staying there for one night on business. Beware, the WiFi doesn't work in certain rooms, the room being the first one I was put in. They changed my room and then there was a loud banging coming from the A/C every thirty minutes. I notified reception on my way out to dinner and they assured me they would have it fixed. At 11:30 as my head hit the pillow, there went the banging. I tried to sleep with it and successfully slept to 4:30. At 5am I called Whenever, Wherever, got the snarkiest manager, Jason who sent up a technician. The tech guy was WELL AWARE of the issue, as it happens all the time and said that the A/C needed to be permanently set to 60, or freezing. Jason barely apologized, gave me a reduced rate. For the one night of sleep I needed before my business meeting, the W didn't come close to cutting it. If you're here on business and want to be treated with respect, do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to deeply apologize for the lack of sleep and service you recieved while staying at our hotel. Please know this is not the way we service our guests, and I have addressed your review with the appropriate departments to ensure that all of our rooms are in perfect condition upon check in and that the service our associates provides is above exceptional.

Once again we apologize for your experience.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have stayed in a lot of W hotels around the world, and a few hotels in Miami.

This place has the expected lovely W rooms, fantastic gym, great beach/pool.

But.....the service/welcome. I've realised by staying in a few Miami hotels that a lot of the staff are too cool to be interested in helping with questions, especially concierge service but it's especially bad here. Recruitment policy seems to be very similar to Abercrombie & Fitch. (Delano has much better service and staff who seem to want to have a career in the industry)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjw_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn that the service you recieved at W South Beach was not up to par with the service that Starwood hotels is known to provide worldwide. I will utilize your experience for quality assurance to ensure that future guests do not have a negative experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we apologize.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here last week for 4 nights and generally had an ok stay.

I will start with the worst bit and the thing I think everyone should not, avoid Mr Chow's at all cost, because if you don’t it will cost you a lot for not much! We made the mistake of eating here one night as the weather than evening was not great and fancied some Chinese food as a change! Anyway to cut a long story short, the service was actually ok, the wine list reasonable but slightly overpriced. The food was maybe the worst Chinese I have ever had, it was bland and tasteless and just hot enough but barely. To make matters worse the seating is so close together at a lot of places you are actually closer to the person at the next table than the person your sat opposite, you could easily rub shoulders, now that might be ok in some places, but when my bill is $ 300+ for a reasonable but not expensive bottle of wine and a meal for 2 I expect a lot more! I pretty much eat in the restaurant of all hotels I stay at during a stay and this was easily the worst, even if the bill had been half or third of what it was I would still have had the same opinion, the cost just rubbed salt into the wound!

Now that rant is over, on to the hotel! We got a nice upgrade to Ocean Oasis, the first thing that was different was the Plat Breakfast, this was served as room service, which worked well for us as it took about 20-30 mins to arrive but meant we could enjoy it on the balcony. Also a first for me was when I offered a tip to the lady bringing it she refused saying it was taken care of as part of the Plat Breakfast, a nice touch I thought! I can see some people might find the room service a bit annoying if you’re in a rush in the morning, but worked well!

We also ate at the Dutch a couple of times for lunch and found the food and service to be good, no complaints there. Also we had drinks at the bar one night and while a little underwhelming for a W bar service was good and drinks were also reasonable!

Housekeeping was a little hit and miss, mainly for turndown, which was more miss than hit, but also didn’t makeup the room one day and had to call after being out for most of the day! When they did do it though they often forgot to replace shower gels etc. On the plus when I mentioned this on checkout the agent took $ 50.00 off the bill without any prompting, again a nice touch which I appreciated.

Overall we enjoyed the W, was pretty much as we expected in many ways, if it had been really busy we probably would not have enjoyed it as much as I can imagine the pool scene being pretty crowded and they certainly pack the beds into the area, but as it was we had no issues with this at all!
The main thing that struck me though was it felt a bit bland and dull compared to some other W's although mainly non North American ones, London which while rooms are small has a W vibe as does Barcelona, even the suite we had at the original W Lexington Av had more of a W feel to it than here, which being South Beach expected them to really push it, but the suite just didn’t seem that W to me, the lobby was better but still not great!

If we were in the area again and not in peak season we would probably go back if the price was right, but would not go out of our way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeReasonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor, as we welcome all guest feedback, positive and negative.

I have shared your comments with the Mr. Chow Management team as they are not affiliated with W South Beach directly as they lease the restaurant space independently.

I thank you for bringing the housekeeping service to our attention, and I apologize that service was spotty. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping team to ensure that future guests do not have the same experience.

We do hope to welcome you back soon, thanks again for your time.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We opted for a quick weekend to refresh our NYC minds and body. This property is one of the most stunning hotels on the beach. We were originally wondering how we would enjoy being a little further north than the Ocean Drive strip, but that added to the amazing nature of the trip -- we were able to "come home" away from it all and enjoy the property and amenities.

Pros & Must Dos:

The pool is a massive work of art and has so many twists and turns in the area, check out the garden off to the north west side and the smaller infinity pool that is almost hidden behind a gate. This was our favorite part of the property. The ability to go poolside and then walk right on to the beach was so great.

Ask for an upgrade prior to arriving. The W is known for its philosophy of whatever, whenever. They will accommodate you if there is a room available and in our case we were treated like royalty when we found we had a Sensational Suite (photos attached) and this made our entire weekend feel like we were completely checked out which was exactly what we wanted.

The Dutch downstairs was a great place to eat.

Cons:

Not many. We didn't have a single issue staying here, absolutely loved it. If something is up, just pick up the phone and ask them -- the staff is amazing.

Room Tip: Request a room facing east or southeast. After booking and a few days before arrival, call the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnlySane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and the Sensational Suite! It's one of my favorites! We strive we wow and delight all of our guests and I am pleased we surpassed your expecations. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We secured an excellent rate through our Westjet Vacations package, and were very pleased with the quality of the rooms as well as the professional service of the hotel staff. Our room was spotless, with nightly turn-down service as well as timely morning cleanings. One morning there was issue with the telephone service, and along with apologies came chocolates and extra water bottles. The spa services at Bliss were delightful, and dinner reservations were made smoothly through the concierge services. We would love to recommend, and look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor with a north view. It was quiet with no street noises. If you prefer suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely visit on Trip Advisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay as well as the service you recieved from our staff and the treatments you had in bliss. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so we can create new lasting memories and impressions with you!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
The Confidante
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#5 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing