We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it. Excelent hotel”
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W South Beach
Ranked #11 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ivoti, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it. Excelent hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were there for 4 nights in our honeymoon in may, that is low season, but the there was a lot of people in the hotel.

It's expensive, but all details and service were perfect.

They also serve food and drinks in the beach.

For sure we will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiago E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! Thank you for the honor of allowing us to create special memories during your honeymoon trip. We are delighted to have hosted you and we hope you will start a tradition by visiting us every anniversary!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,345
    582
    245
    128
    142
See reviews for
627
1,332
145
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beauuuuuutiful poolside lounging. Usual South beach crowd which I don't really care for but then again we are in south beach, aren't we? And simply outstanding drinks.
I suggest the moscow mule...
The "cool" night is Thursday, but I've been here as often as possible thought my two-months stay in town with my friend 'cause I just love the place so much. Usually for a drink and little chilling before hitting the clubs.

Go and enjoy!

Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Patron,

Thank you for frequenting our nightlife outlets, we are delighted you enjoy visiting us on Thursday nights and we hope to continue welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmigham, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I just returned from an all girls weekend at the W South Beach where my girlfriends and I enjoyed our stay in a fabulous 2 bedroom 2.5 bath "Sanctuary Suite" for about $875 per night. Having taken the only direct flight into Miami from separate cities, we arrived at the hotel around 9:30 a.m. The hotel is a beautiful property and I was so excited about our stay! We went straight to "Dutch" for breakfast where we ordered one egg white omelet, one bowl of fresh berries and two rounds of mimosas for the three of us. Our bill was $175. By 1:00 we had already spent $250 and we hadn't even been able to check into our room yet. Absolutely no priority was given to getting our room ready. When we finally did get into our room, after 4:00 p.m, I was completely exhauseted and annoyed. All three of us are in our mid to late 40's, we travel a lot, and we are used to staying at very nice hotels. In fact, the whole reason we chose the W was because we all wanted a full service hotel experience similar to what you would get at the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, or Mandarin Oriental. At the W South Beach, you definately pay the same room/food & beverage prices you would pay at another high end, full service hotel chain, but it was our experience that there was little service to be had. The staff at this place was large, but unfortunately they were all always standing around talking amongst themselves. We always felt like we were interrupting a conversation they were having. There was never a smile, a greeting, nothing! But they all seemed to really be enjoying each others company. Every time we went out to catch a taxi, there were three guys standing there talking to each other. We actually had to say, "Excuse me, can we please get a cab?" We had never seen this before with a high end hotel chain. Clearly, the entire staff needs to be gathered into a room to be taught about customer service. They need to take a few service cues from some other high end hotel chains. It was very strange, there was plenty of staff everywhere, but none had any interest in interacting with the guests. I swear, the Managers need to make a new rule that staffers cannot come within 12 feet of each other and they are not allowed to talk to one another! It was the craziest thing we have ever seen. Better yet, thin out your lobby staff and hire more housekeepers so that people can actually check in at 4:00!

The first full day that we had to lie by the pool and sip cocktails, we were never offered a menu. The group to the left of us was getting served, they were all men, and the couples to the right of us were getting served, but we were overlooked - completely ignored.

Other issues; The Wifi did not work, our restaurant confirmations arrived from the concierge desk after we got home from dinner. The prices for food and beverages were astronomical and there is an 18-20% gratuity charge added to every single bill whether the service was good or not. Prostitution in the hotel bar was rampant. I am sure this isn't any easy thing for management to get a handle on, but something needs to be done. Check drivers licenses at the bar door to see if the girls are locals, that would be the first step, and then put plain clothed employees inside the bar whose job it is to mingle with those local girls. Security guards check keys when people enter the elevator bank. If a local girl is headed upstairs with a guest, it could be a red flag, ya think? If the prostitutes know you have security measures in place, they would be less likely to frequent your property.

The final word on this place: The W brands target market seems to be geared toward young hipsters that don't know a thing about service. If you are older and wiser, and you want to be treated warmly and respectfully while on vacation, take your business elsewhere. This was my first experience with the W hotel chain & my last. I will never set foot in a W again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dmhdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My friend and I just came back this past weekend from Miami Beach and we thoroughly enjoyed our entire 3 day/2 night stay at the W South Beach...Got a tremendous deal for a Sensational Suite back in late Feb via Starwood but then upgraded for a mere $140 to the Oasis Suite instead...It was totally worth the upgrade!!! We were impressed with the size, quality, and comfort the Oasis Suite had to offer including an amazing side view of the beach right outside of our giant balcony.

Service was very, very good in all aspects throughout our stay to my surprise, based on the mixed reviews I'd noted to date, so wasn't expecting too much of that at all. The moment I checked in, I was welcomed as a Platinum Starwood member and was offered the usual perks provided which was cool. I even managed to extend our checkout for an extra hour and she was quite accommodating and got free wireless internet access during our entire stay. The doormen and the valet guys were totally cool and quick to help us with getting our car out of valet or assisting us with our bags. We even got to use the Acura MDX on our last day to take us to Puerto Sagua for some good ol authentic Cuban brunch and our driver Roman was mad cool too...

So all in all, I had little expectations going in but after all was said and done, we enjoyed every inch of our Oasis suite, the service provided by the various people, and the quality/value paid for it that we would definitely return to the W in the near future. Did I also mention it's right across the street from a Walgreens? What a lifesaver with stocking up on water and gatorade there than paying for the overpriced stock offered in the suite...

The only glitch we had ended up in checkout where we noticed a munchybar charge for $21 but after confirming that we took nothing out, the guest services lady kindly removed the charge and that was that...

We'll be back W South Beach...Thanks again for the great long weekend trip we experienced!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and upgrade to their bigger suites (i.e., Oasis, Mega) when given the opportunit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superrayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful experience! we are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!!! Puerto Sagua is quite tasty...lots of locals and visitors like to taste their famous chicken soup!! We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice while in town for the Miami boat show. Both times we very much enjoyed our stay. The ocean views were lovely and we spent quite a bit of time enjoying the beach. I’d recommend avoiding the pool area if you don’t like to be too crowded, but the beach was pleasant and the lounge chairs were aplenty. The rooms were comfortable, stylish and meticulously clean. The staff seemed quite friendly and efficient. We ate at The Dutch on our last stay. It was good but overpriced – but that is to be expected I suppose. I’d recommend W to anyone travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It's great to hear that you have visited with us consecutively for the past 2 years during boat show. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again for next year's boat show!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A slight glitch with our room was handled professionally by front desk manager Chris and this hotel delivers on so many levels, that problem was soon forgotten. Vibe is modern, hip, but relaxed and inviting. Pool is lush, never seemed over-crowded and very nicely serviced for towels, drinks, whatever was needed. Same with beach service.

Rooms are nicely designed, great AV equipment, large bathrooms and great mini kitchens.

Only problem was the deck furniture in the Mega Suites and Fabulous Studios. The cushions and the lounge chairs seems to be coated with teflon. You can't use them without the cushion sliding off. Meaning...you can't use them.

And that's a big deal when you book a room BECAUSE of the killer deck and outdoor show. Only other options were hard director's chairs. Deck furniture in the other room categories seemed much more functional.

But despite this, the W South Beach is special hotel and great place to hide out for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Must get floor 4 or higher if staying in choosing the Fabulous Studios. Unless you prefer a tree vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilENewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a detailed account of your visit to W South Beach. It is great to hear that Chris, one of our front desk manager, was able to quickly rectify the glitch you encountered at check in. We hope to welcome you back soon in possbily one of the many 15 room types we have available at your disposal!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

True to their reputation, the 2 bedroom suite was not ready. Because of my wife's dietary requirements we needed the kitchen. Supposedly the owner of the unit did not leave on time. The manager on duty promised to take off some charges for late check in. We did not get the suite until 7 pm. When I checked out there was no discount posted. Felt like, I was begging after having paid hefty some.
I admit that the rooms are great with the ocean view.

Room Tip: high floors to noise from pool party
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKumar427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to learn that you endured a lengthy check in time for your suite. I hope that our team was able to assist in refrigerating your wife's items until your room was ready.

Please let us know if your travels bring you back anytime soon and I will be delighted to assist with your reservations.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Property: W South Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing