We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #40 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I visited SLS during Art Basel. We were truly impressed with the creativity and delightful cuisine at The Bazaar. Hyde Beach was spectacular and deserves a shout out for their Saturday afternoon party--XIV Basel Sessions! The one thing that separates SLS from the rest of the hotels along Collins Ave is the service. Ayo Akinsete and Yasmin Liang deserve a special mention. Both were genuinely helpful and professional. Bravo!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Tom B thank you for taking the time to review SLS Hotel South Beach, we are very proud to have the Bazzar as one of our restaurants as chef Jose Andres culinary inventions are amazing. I am very happy that you were able to experience his magical dishes and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

My daughter came to visit me and we decided to go for a mum and daughter fun night out . We decided for the hotel because we wanted to have dinner at the Bazaar which is one of the restaurants in the hotel.
The hotel has two pools and the one that had sun all day , the Hyde beach, was closed for a party so we had to choose between a no sun pool or a windy beach.
The day before our arrival I received a letter from the concierge suggesting an extension of the dinner at the Hyde pool bar....
Our room was a big disappointing too!!! Although they upgraded us for a beach view it was so tiny that I hurt my knee many times at the edge of the bed trying to move around. The bathroom could not even accommodate our toiletries.
The dinner at the Bazaar was very good , at little compensation for all the problems.
The next morning another mistake!! We ask for coffee and the waiter said that the buffet was complimentary . While checking out I discovered that it was not... For a over 500 dollars hotel night we really expected much more!!!
One last thing ... The spa and the exercise room are bellow the main level. Dark , small and beside the bathroom that is used for the restaurants

Room Tip: Don't go!! Go to the Delano which we were recommended and just have dinner at the Bazzar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and relay to us your experience at SLS Hotel South Beach. We take guest comments very seriously and though it pains us to hear your experience wasn’t positive, we see every opportunity as a chance to learn and to grow. Though situations like yours are rare, it is something we must always be vigilant about as we continually try to enrich your stay with the best boutique experience in South Beach, Miami. The next time you’re back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our luxury hotel is an all-out success.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and my wife decided to splurge on a hotel in south beach and dont regret it. The hotel was beautiful and located in a perfect spot for south beach. The rooms are small but very nice. An amazing shower but very small bathroom. The staff for the most part were awesome, they were happy and helpful.

The restaurants on the property were great. Even the outdoor bar had the best burger ever. We generally restaurant hop around a city but we loved the restaurants so much we stayed put on our 2 nights here and loved everything.

Now for the down side.

We couldn't get any service at the pool. We were there 2 days we went to the pool and on the first day there was no one there so we asked someone about it and they just said that someone should be there. No one ever came.

Then on the second day there was someone there but when we asked her for service, after seeing her give food and drinks to someone else, she said she couldn't serve us because she was just a hostess. She told us we had to go to the bar. So we did. Then she continued to serve other people. We couldn't figure it out. So that was annoying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viinnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Vinnie T thank you for your review on SLS Hotel South Beach. Firstly please accept my apologies for the issues that you experienced at the pool, rest assured this is not indicative of the hotel and will be addressed with management. I am pleased to hear that the remainder of the stay was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

One of the "S"s in "SLS" must stand for "service." From the moment my girlfriend and I arrived, our every request - recommendations and reservations one night, some WD-40 and an allen wrench the next day - was accommodated by the attentive staff. It felt like traveling with in a royal party when we were greeted nearly everywhere in the hotel by our last names.

The entire staff at The SLS is wonderful. They are an attractive, kind, respectful group. From front desk to the handyman (see above), it's clear that everyone working at the hotel has been well-trained to maximize your enjoyment of your stay in Miami, and that they genuinely hope you do.

Then there is Jimmy. Perhaps the greatest value add of The SLS is Jimmy. We're not sure exactly what his title is, but Jimmy did not miss a single opportunity to greet my girlfriend and I and offer a story, joke or pleasant aside before reminding us that we had his bended ear for the entirety of our stay, his accented voice always starkly intelligible amidst crowded scenarios. He and the sommelier (dress code: impeccably casual) could make anyone feel at home and well attended, as they did for the length of our stay.

There is no lobby, with the entry doors flowing almost immediately in Jose Andres's Bazaar, which bustles with activity both day and night. Our first night featured an outstanding meal served to us by the best waiter either of us can remember. We wish we could remember his name to thank him here - if you eat at Bazaar, we hope your waiter has a beard and terrific smile!!

No foolin' - the rooms, bar & dining are expensive. Like, stay for a week or buy a car expensive. But if money's no issue and you're in the mood to treat yourself to a genuinely fabulous time, the Miami way, The SLS is for you. There's a great bar out back, a lovely sushi restaurant, a terrific pool, beautiful people - it's super hip. But it's the people that make the SLS.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are expensive but fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DekeShipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words on your most recent stay at SLS Hotel South Beach, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am happy that we were able to accommodate all of your requests, our team will always try to go above and beyond for all of our guests. It is always nice to hear positive comments about the staff, I will be sure to share the feedback with them all. It brings me great joy to know that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Amazing. From the Dragon fruit ceviche to the Old School Croquettes, Jose Andres (and his team) knocked it OUT OF THE PARK with this menu. I wish they could take the effort put into this menu back to DC ThinkFood restaurants & catering! Seriously the staff was amazing, the ambiance incredible and such a Miami treat. It's a must do the next time you visit. Just trust your servers for suggestions from wine to appetizers to desserts. Katherine was our server (and another amazing chick we didn't get the name of) but they were an incredible team and they didn't steer us wrongly. The ONLY downside is we couldn't see the outdoor space due to a private party - would love to see the rest of the facility. But overall A for you all! Hard to get from this critic! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Lyn S thank you for taking the time to review SLS Hotel South Beach, we are very proud to have the Bazzar as one of our restaurants. Chef Jose Andres culinary inventions are amazing, I am very happy that you were able to experience his magical dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent the weekend of Art Basel show. Hotel has great nightlife and is in excellent conditions and well located. A room with partial view was really neat and has a nice bar well supplied. Excellent personalized attention from everyone.

Definitively to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind review on SLS Hotel South Beach, the fact that you feel the property is the nicest boutique on the beach is very flattering as there are many options. Personalized attentions is one of our main focuses at the hotel as this is how we try to separate ourselves from the competition. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What an incredible experience. We were only lucky enough to be there for one night but loved every minute of our stay. We spend well over 100 nights a year in high end/boutique hotels and our expectations here were surpassed. Every member of the staff is amazing! Rooms are beautiful and unique. The bed and linens were so comfortable it is obvious that no expense was spared.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICHOLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at SLS Hotel South Beach, I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,511 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,655 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,646 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,967 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $277 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Splitty, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing