We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern luxury with great energy!”
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SLS South Beach
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern luxury with great energy!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from a quick two day business trip to Miami. Up to this point I had not found a hotel I wanted to stay in again. They all were great hotels, but nothing compelling me to return when there are so many to try on Souhth Beach. Phillippe Starck is truly an artist! The smaller sized rooms feel large with these magical wall tapestries and highly functional furnishings. SLS added the special touches of a mountain high mattress and Italian linens. The shower is spectacluar! In one shower you can pick standard or huge rain shower with water pressure so strong it is a bit scary.... The staff were ultra friendly; always smiling and passing on a greeting. I ate at Jose Andres' Bazaar one night and was not surprised because I always find his restaurants fantastic. I have now found a South Beach hotel that I will return to because it is a luxury hotel with a very artisitc and energizing atmosphere run by friendly genuine people.

Room Tip: Everybody wants a view of the Atlantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Bill D,
I am so thrilled to hear about your recent stay at SLS Hotel South Beach! The rain showers have made many guests raving fans. I am happy that you were able to experience if for yourself. I hope to welcome you back soon so you can see all of the new details we've added at Hyde Beach. Please feel free to contact me if the team can assist in anyway.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    403
    168
    96
    103
See reviews for
146
801
119
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My three girlfriends drove down to Miami at the spur of the moment and ended up staying at this cute and hip little hotel. It is in a perfect location on South Beach and the pool and cabana area are awesome as was the bar downstairs. Pat Riley and 6 other people came to dine here so that just tells you how cool the place is! The room has the best shower and there were little mirrors on the ceilings in the bedrooms and fabric alfrescos on the walls. This hotel has wonderful artisitc creativity everywhere you look!!!! I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Ley69,
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at SLS Hotel South Beach! Please let me know if the team can assist in the planning of the next visit.
My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Being an architect in Mexico, every year I travel to the US to see what's going on in the design and fashion industry. This time I had a great surprise despite of the fact weather was not so good. This new SLS Hotel in South Beach caught my attention for being different from all the others in the same location. As soon as you enter the lobby being welcomed by the door guys (Nicholas was "Sensational" to kept us dry while he got soaked; that is service right there), you face the big area of the restaurant Bazaar with a great decoration, cool environment where you can see the kitchen and food being prepared...by the way excellent food. Next time in Miami this will be my choice to stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Carlos M,
I am so excited to hear that you had the time to visit us at SLS Hotel South Beach!
I appreciate the time you took to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another "sensational" evening.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I have been waiting for this place to finally open. The SLS Hotel in South Beach. Its been years since we could remember seeing work slowly start on this building. Well it was worth the wait. We took a stroll in the other night after finally seeing the doors open and an awful amount of people going in and out. We were pleasantly surprised this evening. Very trendy and hip, but not over the top. We sat down at Bazaar, the restaurant in the hotel to check things out. From the moment we walked into the place we were greeted with a "Sensational" smile and a welcoming feel, to the moment we had our first taste of the outstanding food and drinks. Our waiter was just too wonderful. We felt like we were some sort of celebrities by the way we were treated. My wife was glowing with happiness. We had one of the best evenings we can remember in a very long time. Not a stuffy place like most of the new spots that open up around here. People were friendly and tentative to us. We have invited some of our friends from Lauderdale to join us for drinks next week. We hope our experience will be just as wonderful. Valet was a little tricky, but didn't put a damper on the night at all. Well done SLS.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stopped by the hotel to check out the hotel for a possible week stay/event I am planning in August. I appreciated the hotel but had a negative experience with the person they hired to be Security for the hotel. He needs a crash course in Guest Relations. I did not appreciate being questioned 3x about my 5 min presence in the hotel. If you ask a guest, if they need assistance, it is not necessary to asked the question several times after the initial response was " no". He also needed to adjust his body language to not come across confrontational. I wasn't some wanderer off the street. I was dressed business casual. I had hotel literature in my hand. If he is to be effective in working Security, I hope he realizes that Black people do earn decent wages and can be patrons of even the finest hotels and should not be observed or looked upon as if our presence is not welcomed or that we can't afford life luxuries.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Barry J
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at SLS South Beach. I regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations. Please know that I take the details of your posting very seriously and have shared your experience with our Director of Security & Safety and will implement the necessary changes with our entire Security team to ensure a similiar occurence does not repeat.
I really would like to welcome you back to the hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally if I may ever be of service in the future.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Property: SLS South Beach
Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your luxury hotel in South Beach, where you can call on close friends,Philippe Starck, Chef José Andrés and Lenny Kravitz for a beachfront getaway like no other. Tuck away in our Miami boutique hotel, score the hottest reservations in Miami or play it coy at Hyde Beach, no matter your destination at SLS Hotel South Beach, you can always count on welcoming service, redefined luxury, and undeniable style. At SLS, you don't need to go to South Beach. South Beach has come to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing