We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend at Cadet!”
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #72 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Cadet!”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Read the reviews and decided to stay at the Cadet for a weekend visit. The reviews are correct as this is a charming, clean and quaint hotel. Excellent staff makes you feel very welcome from the start.
Location is excellent, 1 block from the beach and a 10 min walk to the heart of Southbeach. Park at the lot 2 minutes north of the hotel for $25 which allows you to park until 12 noon the next day with in and out privileges during the night.
There are affordable spots in the immediate area for lunches and breakfast, just make sure you know prices when you go out for dinner, it can get steep, drinks as well.
Don't hesitate if you choose the Cadet, can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflfootballrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    328
    90
    31
    28
See reviews for
81
499
67
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

After reading so many good reviews i had great expectations about this hotel and overall i wasnt dissapointed.
Location: 3 min from lincoln road an 15 min away from ocean drive. Quiet road although some street work is being done.
Rooms: nice and clean both the room and the bathroom.
Details: an empty fridge to be used by guests( without feeling líke criminals for wanting our sodas cold without paying 3 dollars), amenities for 2-3 people although i was by myself, complimentary Internet, newspaper and chocolates everyday and slippers and a bathrobe. When was the last time u were treated líke this for less than 300 bucks?
Downsides: not enough tv channels (seems lame but after spending most of the day out i would have enjoyed watching a film at night), my room was in the lower level with views to nowhere but with a small corridor used by workers.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axola2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cadet for 2 nights and were very happy that we did. We arrived much earlier than our reservation, yet the lovely lady at reception was very accomodating and had our room prepared right away. I realize hotels can't always do this so we really appreciated it. Our bags were brought up for us and the complimentary welcome note, fresh flowers, water bottles and strawberries were a nice touch in the room. Our room was not huge but was just big enough, nicely furnished and clean. The bed was comfortable, flat screen tv, fridge, bathroom included nice amenities (ie. soap, shampoo, toothpaste...). The housekeeping ladies did a great job, everything was clean and freshened up each day. At night we received a turn-down which included chocolates, water bottles and fresh ice. The staff at the front desk were friendly, polite and always helpful. Some examples: we were provided beach towels free of charge, advice on good places to eat nearby, and they took note of our departure time and had a cab ready for us at 4:30 AM (as we requested, it was already waiting for us when we checked out). The location is great - it is on a relatively quiet street (remember you are in South Beach), is a short walk to the beach and is only 1 block from Lincoln Street which is great for restaurants, shopping, nightlife etc.... If you are looking for a party hotel or a big chain experience this is not it - if you are familiar with a true boutique hotel or B&B then you are closer to the mark. It is comfortable and offers great service and value, all things not always easy to find in a Miami hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed three nights at the Cadet, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet and well equipped, and the bed was massive! My wife and I communicated by semaphore!

Location was great, very close to the beach and the pedestrianised Lincoln Avenue Mall. You are also able to catch the "Circulator" bus, that takes you round South Beach for 25c per trip, so you can dismount where you like.

Breakfast provision seemed very low-key, which they didn't seem to push very hard. However, there are plenty of choices in the Lincoln Mall

Service was very, very good. Impeccable check-in and out, and nice touches in the rooms, including chocolates left each day, which I suppose is nice, but my experience in the UK of this has in the past included luxury, hand-made chocolates, compared to the large Peanut Treats at the Cadet (look out for allergies, Cadet?). But no gripe here.

The guy on reception was especially helpful when I needed to urgently access the Internet - he actually lent me his laptop to do this.

In overall terms, and excellent small hotel, strongly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurbageFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel met all our needs and with the added touches such as friendly polite staff, chocolates and notes in th bedroom and plenty of fresh towels and toiletries we were delighted with our stay and would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and we both thought it was great.
The rooms are clean, newly redecorated, cozy and a good size. I really loved the little messages and boxes of chocolate the staff left in our room each time we went out - maybe this is normal in other hotels as well - but I have never experienced that before!

If you want to stay in this hotel you should remember that it is very close to Washington avenue where all the night clubs are located which means that on Fridays and Saturdays there is a lot of noice from the street - but isn't this a part of the Miami Beach experience?

I really think this hotel is good value and if we ever go back to Sobe we will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler26Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is in a fabulous location. One street from Lincoln with endless dining and entertainment and 2 streets from a wonderful beach. Free towels from the desk. Good cab access to get around. We had an amazing breakfast in the garden. Slight smell in the hallways, but nothing terrible, just moisture in an older buidling. Slept great in the comfy bed, except the AC is not guest controlled. A fan on the side table would have been much appreciated as it got warm in the night, but was freezing when we first got to the room.

Rooms are a bit on the small side, but perfectly fine for a couple. Nice stylish decorating. We are picky travelors and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philskaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Oceanside Hotel
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing