We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #72 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here as part of a ten week tour round the States. I'd never been to Miami beach before and was looking for somewhere close to all the attractions but 'real' as well. Being an Art deco building, as soon as you enter the foyer it has a wonderful feel - not glitzy like some of the other hotels but just honest. The staff were very helpful, which is always a plus and the room comfortable and clean. It manages to have a nice intimate family run feel about it which is very comforting. Its worth dining at the restaurant in the hotel if you stay as the food was first class. The location is away from the main run on Ocean drive but so close to lincoln road and everything else there. Loved staying there and would stay again. Thanks Giulia (Hotel Manager) for a great stay and all your help and suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Jon,

it's great hearing from you and I am glad you enjoyed your trip!

I appreciate your kind review and I thank you again for staying with us during your adventure in the States. It has been a pleasure chatting and meeting you so I hope to host you again next year.

Guest satisfaction is what makes this little gem shine up.

Again thank you for recognizing our hidden talent!

all the best,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    328
    90
    31
    28
See reviews for
81
499
67
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just back from The Cadet Hotel after a very enjoyable six night stay. The hotel is small but the room had everything I needed with a huge shower, safe, iron, fridge etc. Every evening maid service fill your ice bucket and leave bottles of Evian water and a mini box of chocolates on your pillow. Small touches which make your stay extra special! Lovely L'occitane products in the bathroom, slippers and robes in the wardrobe, free newspaper each morning. The whole hotel has free super fast wifi which I always welcome. ( I have no idea how some bigger hotels dare to charge a daily rate for wifi which should come as standard)
The staff at The Cadet are all super helpful and always ready to help. I don't think the word "No" is even in their vocabulary! Coffee brought up to the room? Of course. A glass of wine in the garden? Absolutely. A very late check out at no extra charge? Not a problem! It's extremely refreshing to find this kind of service.
Do go and stay The Cadet! It's reasonably priced, charming, and in a fantastic location. I will definitely be going back next year!

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little extra, choose a cozy King over a cozy Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Helen,

what a wonderful review!!!

I am very impressed of your words.
You literally read the message we want to transmit to our "audience". At the Cadet we put together so many small touches to make great and unforgettable experience for our guests.
Our principles are build on the " Yes Philosophy" followed by good relation quality/price. We only want to make our guests feel like home.
Hope you can return soon and have the chance to enjoy a glass of wine together in our enchanted garden.

Thanks for choosing us!

all the best,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I staid at Cadet for 3 nights and have to say to be very satisfied! Staff here is exceptionally professional and friendly. I felt really relaxed, and this in walking distance from both beach and shopping. The nights were quiet - I had the nice room in the back corner. Don't have any problem giving full score, I didn't miss anything. Beats any grand hotel in my personal taste. And I loved the small personal touches in my room! Really want to thank the staff making my stay so satisfactory and Cadet will be my first choice on my next visit to Miami!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Merca666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Merca,

I don't even know where to start to express all my gratitude for your wonderful review!

Our objective is "wow "guests through small and nice touches, great customer service, good food and positive vibes.
We don't pretend to be a grand hotel but we want give our guests the same "big" experience.
It's all about quality and comforts.

Your Cadet Hotel family is looking forward to see you soon!

best wishes,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Very charming hotel, situated in a quiet street but close to Lincoln Road and the beach. The staff is always very helpful.
The only negative points are the lack of elevator and parking lot, but I guess that is common to the hotels in the region. If i ever come back to Miami beach, I will definetely stay at the Cadet hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Sam,

thanks a lot for staying at the Cadet Hotel and writing your feedback.

We are very focused on guests service and we appreciate you recognizing the efforts and professionalism of our team.

As you said we are "cozy" and as per our size we don't have an elevator. The Cadet, as well as others small art deco hotels of Miami Beach, want to preserve its historical and artistic side and logistically cannot have an elevator.
Regarding the parking we are not starting with a new project of Valet parking service so please do not hesitate to contact us when you return to Miami Beach. We will provide you the best rate with parking valet service.

All the best,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently had the chance of spending a week at the Cadet Hotel in Miami Beach. What a gem this hotel is. The service is superior, I've not experienced service like that in many years. The staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic to be in the heart of South Beach just steps from the beach and Lincoln Road. The breakfast served on the terrace was so romantic and it gives you the feeling of being far removed from the hustle and bustle of South Beach. The food was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel. There is also a fabulous restaurant which is always packed but they can always manage to squeeze in patrons. There is a whiskey room which has whiskeys from all over the world.

Room Tip: The Clark Gable Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Gabriela,

thank you so much for your meticulous and kind review.

It sounds like you really enjoyed every single moment of your stay. Our philosophy is giving our guests a homey experience along with an outstanding service. We really want everybody feel part of our Cadet family.

Hope to see you and your family back soon.

best wishes,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel was very clean and charming with great attention to detail. Very friendly and helpful staff that gave us good recommendations, including El Chalan Restaurant. We walked everywhere (LIncoln Road, beach, restaurants, etc) and loved the small size of this unique boutique hotel. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandygal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review.

We appreciate your recognition towards our staff service. Our "charme" is not only about the location, we are really focused on customer service and giving guest a 5 sense experience.

We are passionate about food that is why we always have great reccomendations. Hope next time you'll have the chance to try our fine dining in house restaurant Pied a Terre. I unsure an unforgattable gastronomical experience.

all the best,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you want a reasonably priced, nice hotel in the heart of Miami Beach then this is the hotel for you. It is two blocks from the beach, right on top of Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue, and a 5 minute walk from Ocean Drive.
Hotel itself is cute and good value for money. However tea and coffee facilities in the rooms should come as standard for rooms of this price. Overall a pleasant stay, we would return to this hotel (but with a kettle).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyduck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for finding the time to share tyour experience at Cadet Hotel a few weeks ago.

Our hotel is definetely a good spot for SoBe lovers with good relation quality/price. On the top of it our customer service makes the difference. Please next time you stay with us do not hesitate to ask us for a kettle so you can enjoy tea and coffee at anytime.

kind regards,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#95 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#81 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Oceanside Hotel
#103 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing