We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #75 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good location between the beach and Lincoln Road. Very cosy, comfortable and clean.
The staff was extremely friendly and the service was very good.
Good ratio price quality.

The evening the restaurant was closed, the lady at the reception ordered us a pizza that we could eat in the room (it was raining and we didn't want to go out anymore).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Kaat,

Hope you had a safe trip back to Belgium.
We highly appreciate your words since we strive to be "perfect" and customer service is at the top of the list. Our staff is highly trained in problem solving and we always want our guests feel like home and take care about their requests.
I look forward to welcoming you back hoping you can get more sunshine days!

Best wishes,

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    330
    91
    31
    28
See reviews for
81
502
69
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a wonderful small boutique hotel right off Collins Avenue, a few steps from Lincoln Road and the best is that it's a short stroll to the beach. Rooms are charming (on the small side) and tastefully appointed and the service is second to none. I recommend The Cadet to anyone looking for a unique SOBE experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_A_T683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It looks like you definitely enjoyed your stay with us!

We believe that great values are hidden in small little things. Cadet hotel can be identified with this definition. Some rooms are small but charming and comfortable. A lovely property and superb location are nothing if we can't fulfill guests expectations. Your words confirm that we give our guests a personalized service. That's what makes the difference.
I am sure we'll see you soon at SoBe for a new unforgettable experience in our of one larger room!

best wishes,

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at a hotel right on the beach before our cruise and at The Cadet after our cruise. The Cadet was really cute and was far superior to the beach hotel! The staff was great and very accommodating as our ship came in at 8 am and we were ready to check in early. They got our contact info to get in touch as soon as the room was ready. Turns out it would only be a half hour!
The location is walking distance to the beach and Lincoln Ave. it is a quick bike ride, maybe 5 minutes, to Ocean drive ($4 for 30 min) and many bike locations to drop off the bikes.
Lots of history to the hotel as well, With photos and plaques telling you the story.
We did not find the street noise was a disturbance, we were on the 1st floor and had great nights sleep. The Ocean drive and beach front hotels have more parties and noise.
Great landscaping and warm jacuzzi!
Would highly recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in 107. Looked at a wall, but we just slept there, didn't hang out...too much to do in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Dianne,

Thanks for taking the time of writing this great review and recommending Cadet Hotel.

We really care about our guests needs and we always do our best in providing early and fast check in whenever is possible.

We know that our customers appreciate our hotel because of these small details. That is why our guests returning here. We are different from the other party and noisy SoBe hotels.

Come back and visit us back soon we insure you an amazing new experience made in Cadet Hotel.

Best wishes,

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Cadet Hotel in November 2013 for one night before our cruise. The location is excellent! It is walking distance from the beach, many restaurants, shopping and museums. The service was good. But we were disappointed with the room. We had the "Cozy Queen Bed" room, so as expected it was pretty small. The most disappointing thing was the bathroom - no photos of this bathroom were available on the website, but if you rely on the other bathroom photos, you could say they are misleading. The bathroom was extremely outdated and in dire need of renovations.
The room itself looked more like the photos on the hotel's website but not quite as brand new and shiny as it looks in the photos.
There were only 2 very old electric outlets (that we were able to find) - one of which did not seem to work very well. We ended up having to charge our iPad in the bathroom...
The other somewhat disappointing thing was the level of noise. The hotel is situated on a fairly busy intersection and the room is not very sound proofed - you can hear the cars outside and guests upstairs walking in heals - but the buzzing and humming of the air conditioner and mini-fridge successfully drowned out the outside noise, so we were able to get some sleep.
We liked the personal touches - a little bowl of fresh fruit, a little vase with fresh flowers.
Overall, great location. Not a bad budget choice. The rooms would benefit from some renovations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uliana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Uliana,

I appreciate you took the time to do this review since our guests opinion is very important to us.

Our hotel has different room sizes as per different room types and prices. The Cozy rooms are smaller then others but still have all the comforts (a/c, minibar, turndown service, bathrobe, iron, iron table, hair dryer).

We will renovate the " cozy's" bathrooms in our lower season so that they will look exactly as the website ones.
I do apologize for the inconveniences caused over your staying. We would have definitely given another room for you. Cadet hotel staff is always available to assist guests and give them a plan B.
Please do not hesitate to contact directly with me when you plan your next trip to Miami so I will make sure we will have our best room available for you.

I am sure you won't regret that.

best wishes!

Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Harbour Town, Saint Paul, Antigua
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Cadet is not a big place, and the rooms are a bit small, however it does have plenty of charm and the staff looked after us well. Compared to some of the other boutique hotels in south beach the Cadet is good value and it is in a great location just a block from the beach and from Lincoln.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Richard,

thank you so much for reviewing in a few words Cadet Hotel.

Guest service is our vocation along with attention to small details.

We do have different room types and sizes so I hope you'll be able to come back to Miami Beach and stay with us again in order to assign you a larger room so you can enjoy your stay at the most.
Please do not hesitate to contact us first before making your booking at the Cadet.
We will take care of you!

Wish you Happy NYE!

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broward
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Cadet Hotel for 6 nights. Overall I came away very impressed. The hotel has an excellent location, being very handy to the convention center, the beach and to Lincoln Rd mall.
The Staff the best specially Mathias Thank you very much your professionalism.
The rooms are quaint and sweet and the gardens are a heaven's retreat, but it is all the small touches of European savoir-faire that makes The Cadet so special...berries when you arrive, chocolates on my pillow.
we had breakfast, lunch and quite a few drinks. It is a much calmer and 'grown-up' place than the many places on Collins where you are accosted by a someone handing out a menu .
We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Martin,

I really appreciate your wonderful feedback.
Our daily effort is based on giving a very personilized service to the guests. Bringing each one a special and unforgattable experience. We want to be different from other SoBe hotels and having small touches is how we do it.
Thank you to express all our commitments within this review.
We all look forward to see you back soon at Cadet Hotel in 2014.

Wish you Happy New Year!

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Cadet. I reserved a Cozy Queen Bed and with taxes, paid a bit under $200. For this price, I think the room is worth it. I would not pay much more than that. The Hotel is located approx one block from Lincoln Road - with all the Restaurants and Bars. As a result, there is noise - which I was prepared for and brought along my ear plugs! Bars let out at 5 AM so you will defintely hear some rowdiness!!! Any hotel located in the middle of town, will be noisy/loud. My room was also located on the front /street side so I did hear more noise than if I stayed in the interior side of the hotel. There is some construction nearby but since I was there for a long weekend, I really did not hear the construction noise (which the Hotel should not be blamed for) The Hotel is also abt 2 blocks from the beach - with easy acess between the Ritz Plaza and the Delano. Would I stay here again - yes - assuming I can get approxiately the same rate. The Hotel also offfers free wifi - which is appreciated!

Room Tip: Request a room that is not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbbyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,740 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
796 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
759 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,292 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing