We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice boutique hotel, but talk to the front desk before you choose where to park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #79 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel, but talk to the front desk before you choose where to park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very nice boutique hotel with strong French influence in decors. Standard room is small (like the hotel you see in Europe), but quiet. Very good value for the money.

The only thing you need to be aware is that Cadet has no parking space. Make sure you check with the front desk before choosing where to park. I absolutely hate dishonest people and I had a very bad experience with the place I parked (addmitedly, I did not check with the hotel staff first).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.

We always recommend to our guest to check with us before parking because some parking lots in the area take advantage of the tourist that are not aware of the parking rates and locations.

Our standard room is the smallest room in the hotel. We have rooms that accommodate everyone perfectly ranging from King Size beds to Superior rooms and Junior Suites.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    310
    82
    29
    27
See reviews for
76
465
61
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Cadet hotel is in a very convienient location. Tucked away just enough to have a great night sleep. Walking distance to beach, Lincoln mall, Ocean drive, clubs, restaurants, anything you can think of. Clean comfortable room and a well mannered professional, and extremely hospitable staff. Well worth staying.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JTinNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your stay, and we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our location is very convenient for guest to explore South Beach because everything is walking distance from us, yet as you mentioned our hotel is located in a quiet street which is what sets up apart from all the hotels on South Beach.

You can now consider Cadet Hotel your home during your next visit to Miami Beach.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was in town for a conferrence and all the large hotels were all booked. I did some searching and found The Cadet. It is about a block and a half to the convention center, a block and a half to the beach, about two blocks from Lincoln. The King room was great and roomy for a smaller hotel. The staff was very attentive and I found that they fill the room with things I may have left at home. The funny thing was that you don't control the air conditioning tempature, they do. Once I figured that out and they set my tempature to what I wanted, it was all good. Thank you Cadet for a great stay and will stay there next time I am in South Beach.

Room Tip: Try the king room or larger. Looking it at the twins looked a little small for my tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us!

Our location is ideal for guests who come to Miami for conventions. As you mentioned, we are located only two blocks away from the convention center but also walking distance to all the attractions our city has to offer. Guest who attend conventions also have an opportunity after a long day of work to relax and enjoy everything Miami has to offer.

The attention to every detail in our rooms is incomparable. No two rooms look the same they all have their own personality.

From all the staff at the Cadet Hotel we thank you for your wonderful comments; it is always a pleasure to serve you.

We remain at your service.

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I, along with three other couples stayed at The Cadet for two nights. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and clubs. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms are small, but clean. If you're staying for a week, and plan on staying in your room for a period of time, this may not be the place for you. After two days, the bathroom became a little trying, for there really is not a lot of space to put your toiletries, when getting ready, in the morning. The hotel has a nice hot tub in the back, which is fenced in. They have a table and lounge chairs around this area. On the other side is a gardent area with several seating areas, which we utilized, while there. They do serve breakfast and dinner at the hotel. We ate breakfast, one morning, and it was very good, and inexpensive. The hotel has a lot of history, which can be seen throughout the lobby area, and if the Clark Gable room is unoccupied, the staff will be happy to show it to you. It is definitely worth seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caribbeantraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your stay, and we are very glad to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay!

Our staff was pleased to assist you with all your needs. Our location is excellent as we are located in the heart of South Beach, yet away from all the noise. Our hotel is a calm oasis for our guest after a long walk in the city.

We apologize that we failed to offer you the different types of rooms we have. Our Queen Size bed is the smallest room we have in the whole property. We have rooms that accommodate everyone perfectly ranging from King Size beds to Superior rooms and Junior Suites.

We hope you come back once again and make it a tradition to stay here for many more years to come.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice little place and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were small, but very clean. They have a nice garden area where you can sit and enjoy a beverage. They have a beautiful spa area in the back. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast but did not have dinner there. It is in easy walking distance to the beach and shopping areas. I would definitely stay there again. If you chose to stay there, ask to see the Clark Gable room, it is definitely something to see.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear our enjoyed your stay.

We hope that next time you stay with us you have a chance to dine at Pied a Terre since we are certain you would enjoy it as well.

We are delighted to show our guest the Clark Gable room if it is available of course; as it is truly a historic landmark.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been staying here for years... They've put alot of effort and money into it over the past 5 years - it looks better each time I go, though the prices are rising a bit... Still a great value... Great location, one block from beach and from Lincoln... A block from Delano... Simple rooms and common areas... But really good - quiet and pleasant... Family hotel...

Room Tip: Aoid rooms by the bck / fire stairs as those doors are noisy unless they fixed them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience.

It is always great to have guests return to our hotel. We always welcome them back with a warm regard and hoping they leave even more satisfied than the first time they arrived.

Every day we strive to reach that goal and quite possibly reach your ideal stay.
We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel based on other's experiences at this hotel. I was truly pleased with the room, the staff, and location of the hotel. The hotel is definitely an older hotel. It has a great deal of character and first impressions from the outside may be deceiving. We were two couples travelling together and totally loved our stay at the hotel.
A personally addressed thank-you letter in an envelope greeted us inside our room. I can't recall the bigger chains providing that type of distinction. They provided two bottles of evian water and a bowl of fruit. There were so many little things that set this hotel apart from others. Even the toiletries in the washroom were of excellent quality. This hotel is all about fine attention to detail. Experiencing this gem is the only way to describe an excellent example of customer service. All the staff were excellent. Patrick definitely shined in our minds.
The most important item to note was that I an excellent night's sleep both days. I thank everyone who posted honest reviews and allowed me to also enjoy an amazing weekend, at an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 00happytraveller00_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are very happy you enjoyed the special touches that make up the personality of the hotel.
We hope you come back once again and make it a tradition to stay here for many more years to come.

Warm Regards,
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#51 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#57 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#89 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#21 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing