We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quiet, comfortable place to stay. Conveniently located for convention center access.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
Ranked #77 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming, quiet, comfortable place to stay. Conveniently located for convention center access.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Could not have been happier. I booked for convention center meeting at last minute for much less $ than hotels on the meeting planner's list. While hotel was not on the beach, it was within 2 blocks of convention center and was wonderful to be able to walk back and forth without additional parking fee or waiting for bus transit. It was also short walk to Lincoln Road shopping.

Room was large-enough, bright, clean and very comfortable. Bath and plumbing were old fashioned but worked well. Staff was very pleasant.

Enjoyed coffee and breakfast or evening drink on adjacent covered porch, which was very nice (but little pricey). Additionally there is a small and charming restaurant. Food was unique with much care and attention to ingredients and presentation. Staff was very nice and helpful. (There is McDonalds and Pizza approximately 1 block away for families with children).

Parking is slightly less than ideal with lot ~ 1/2 block down the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gat0rm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    321
    86
    30
    28
See reviews for
77
485
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly staff, fresh fruit in our room upon our arrival. Room was small, but very clean and comfortable. A/C very cold and unable to adjust ourselves. Was afraid if we said anything, it would be too warm, so just covered up and closed the fabric around the bed to stop the A/C from blowing directly on us. No elevator that I saw. Was not a problem for us, but please check into this if mobility is an issue. Mini fridge,iron,hair dryer in small closet. Nice turn down service. Very convenient to beach and Lincoln St. Parking was at a lot just across the street from the hotel for $25 a day. At checkout, was in a rush and decided to eat breakfast at the hotel, rather than try to find something in the area. DO NOT eat the breakfast offered, VERY overpriced. Walk the two blocks to Ocean Blvd where there are better choices. The whole breakfast scenario was total confusion and is the reason for not rating "excellent." Now that I have the "lay of the land", I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights and this is now our new favorite on south beach! We're huge fans of south beach and have stayed at a half dozen different hotels over the past year or so, and this is definitely the best hotel in the area for the price.

It's a cute little hotel perfectly located: 1 block from Lincoln and 2 blocks from the beach. Lots of personal little touches to the rooms: fruit at check-in, chocolates & bottled water in the fridge at night (yes there was a mini fridge), and personalized notes throughout our stay. The rooms are a bit small by typical American hotel chain standards, but it was plenty of space for my husband & I. We also had a rental car with us which we parked a few blocks up in the Lincoln Street garage. It was $20/day.

Overall, it was a perfect little hotel with a fantastic location and great prices for the area. We were afraid it was too good to be true prior to our arrival. Luckily we were wrong. I will never search for another hotel on south beach again, this is my new go-to hotel. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisyrow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We liked this hotel very much and thought it offered good value for money and an excellent location: one block north of Lincoln (the pedestrian mall) and two blocks west of the public beach. The staff were very pleasant: from reception through to our departure after 2 nights (to get on a cruise ship). They had no problem with us staying around the small but enjoyable pool (with a couple of beers) after check-out time. Our room (a basic one) WAS a tad on the small side - but not very small (by European standards) and nicely furnished and very clean. We peeked into other rooms which were much bigger and some had a good view (ours had a view of a neighbouring building). However, we thought the price we paid was very reasonable indeed. Unlike some other guests, we heard no noise at all from inside or outside the hotel. We did need to have the a/c made a bit colder - and the maid was with us in 2 minutes to adjust it. Around the pool we met the owner - a medical doctor - and her husband - an art dealer and got the impression that they care very much for the quality and reputation of their hotel. We did not dine at the hotel (in fact we didn't know we could until late in our stay), but we did dine twice at 'OLA' just half a block north on James (1745 James) and enjoyed the atmosphere and excellent presentation and quality of food very much. We also liked Van Dyke on Lincoln (876 Lincoln, I think) where we had breakfast, lunch and quite a few drinks. It is a much calmer and 'grown-up' place than the many places on Collins where you are accosted by a someone handing out a menu leaflet every few feet. We think that it is a favorite for many of the 'locals'. We also appreciated the 25 cent round-trip bus serving the South Beach area and stopping at almost every street intersection.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are best - and the best have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Positive: Coming from Miami International Airport with the Airflyer 150 bus it's a piece of cake to find the hotel (once you see 17th Street appearing you get out and it's around the corner) - Nearby Lincoln street with its shops, resto's & sushi bars however you don't suffer from the noice of this busy area

Negative: They put us in the first (very small) room next to the reception n° 101 that has a smell of humidity and it also feels damp. The bedlinnen feels "wet"; after 2 days I was happy to leave this room of which the windows can not be opened; we tried several times. Pity

Room Tip: Avoid n° 101 until the owner solves this humidity problem in this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianTravellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is the hotel we moved to after leaving Hotel 18. Just a block south, but a world away, the Cadet is like a spa in comparison. The room was still small, but well-appointed, clean, and modern. No noisy neighbors! Comfortable bed, lovely little touches, attentive staff...I would highly recommend the Cadet, and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jne3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My first review online was back in 2009. This is my fourth time (2005, 2008, 2009, and 2012) staying at the Cadet Hotel for the Winter Music Conference and the level of hospitality and excellence hasn't changed one bit. That's why I keep coming back. It's like my home away from home...peaceful and comfortable.

Words cannot express how well the entire staff treated us. The day we arrived, I had no idea that I lost a very important item. We checked in, changed clothes, and headed out. When we got back around 10:00 pm, one of the front staff managers presented me with the item I had lost and said that the housekeeping staff found it. I am so grateful because it was a very crucial part of our trip. To top it off, they were honest and that touched my heart more than anything else.

Thank you for such a wonderful hotel and for the staff members...they make a great team and should be highly recognized.

See you next year in 2013.

(P.S. See attached photos of the spa in its early construction days back in 2009 and now in 2012...it is totally awesome.)

Room Tip: The Superior Queen and King rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulfulHouseHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#54 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#66 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Property: Cadet Hotel
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing